We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous Meal again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Restaurant

The Boathouse Restaurant
366 Nepean Hwy, Frankston, Victoria 3199, Australia
03 9770 5330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 126 Restaurants in Frankston
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The newly refurbished Boathouse Restaurant is acclaimed as Frankston’s Premiere Dining Destination. Focusing on fresh, unpretentious local food, great Peninsula wine and beer on tap. The Boathouse is an ideal for casual dining and special occasions, with lovely views of the gardens to the jetty this is the perfect venue to while away your afternoon or evening.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A fabulous Meal again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The warm weather arrived and we went back for another leisurely lunch! The temperature was 35 degrees Celsius but we opted to sit outside under the beautiful shady trees in the garden setting. This was a wonderful decision and was so nice that we ended up staying almost till dinnertime! The staff were happy for us to sit peacefully in the garden even though we had long since finished eating, in fact we were made to feel completely welcome. Like our last visit the meals were superb!! This truly is the best restaurant in Frankston

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food in suburbia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

On your way to the Peninsula and want to enjoy a delightful meal? Then "The Boathouse" (Nepean Highway frankston) is worth a try. There is both inside and outside dining areas and on a hot summer's day sitting on green lawn under the shade of the trees, is the way to go. There is a range of dishes to share, the one we had was named "Summer" which included warm spiced olives, cheese fondue, spiced vegetables, to name a few and it was more than adequate. There was a large choice of entrees and mains, to suit all tastes and a good choice of desserts. The wine list included local and overseas wines, and beers. The servings are large, the food is excellent and the wait staff are efficient. The cost is within the mid-to up market range. There is also a gallery attached to the business and also worth a look.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

A friend and I dined here for lunch. This was the first time we had been for many years and we had been told that it was well worth a visit. This indeed proved to be the case! The meals were superb, the service faultless and the surroundings were spotlessly clean. The outdoor deck and seating area was very picturesque and on a warm/hot day would be the ideal place to while away a few hours! We have vowed to return again as soon as we have some warmer weather! We shared a desert which was a chocolate fondant to die for :) It was cooked from scratch when we ordered it and the waitress advised us of this in case we didn't want to wait 25 minutes. We were happy to wait and were VERY glad we did. Prices are $15-$20 for entrees, $30 to $36 for mains and $10-$15 for dessert. This would really have to be the pick of the restaurants in Frankston without a doubt!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Food & Lovely Outdoor Garden Setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have been to The Boathouse approx 10 times over the past 4-5 years years. The food & service is always of a high standard...it was no different on our most recent visit last month. The atmosphere is great and in warmer months the rear verandah with views over the lovely garden set the night of a treat. The fact that we keep going back is the biggest & best compliment we can give about The Boathouse!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant with wonderful Australian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Whilst the price tag may look a little more than other Frankston restaurants, it's worth the extra for good seasonal food, great service and a good atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to The Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.