We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel, a little aged, but very clean and comfortable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Foster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Foster to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Foster
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3800 South Gippsland Highway, Foster, Victoria 3960, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foster
Melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good motel, a little aged, but very clean and comfortable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

A lot bigger than it looks from the road, we were given a room at the back of the property, very quiet and a lovely bush setting. Although not new, this motel is well cared for, clean and comfortable,

Room Tip: Not sure, we were at the back, and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
32
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Great place to stay, hosts were very helpful with directions and the restaurant and meal were great. The room was very clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed for one night following a day trip to Mt Oberon in Wilsons Prom.
Room was fine and functional - when we ran a bath the pipes seemed to dump an accumulation of rust so we had to run another one.
Hotel is conviniently situated just off the main road at the small town of Foster.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Nice big studio style rooms. An older motel but very well maintained. Cleanliness excellent. Not good value considering can get a room in melbourne's CBD for similar price, although we did stay on Saturday night of a long weekend. But, despite this the restaurant, spa and sauna were all closed. If staying in the area again, I would consider the alternatives first.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at the Comfort Motel for 1 night having previously stayed there 3 years ago. We paid $140 for the 1 night. and were satisfied with the quality and comfort of the accommodation with respect to the cost which we thought was fair. (you wouldn't want to pay too much more) Our room was large and had three beds: a queen, double and single. One of the other rooms had a Queen and three singles.

The rooms and motel itself are a bit dated and hardly contemporary but the rooms are clean, spacious and generously kitted out with biscuits, coffee, tea, milk, toiletries (including very good shampoo and conditioner) etc. There is a toaster, kettle and bar fridge. We did not use the restaurant or room service but you can order breakfast in your room. Many of the rooms have a pleasant outlook over the ferns and trees.

The hotel is located on the main highway a 5 minute walk or 30 second drive into town and looks far more appealing than the aesthetically challenged architecture of the rival Wilson's Promontory Hotel in town. They were happy for us to only stay only one night, over a long weekend, (unlike the local agents looking after Sandy point accommodation). Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool. This motel won't knock your socks off but it is comfortable, cozy and caters for a family with 3 -4 kids. with some aesthetic insight the grounds of this motel could be significantly enhanced.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I absolutely loved this motel. I've been here a few times and I must
say it always has served me well. The customer service is Excellent.
They even take the time to have a chat with you on arrival and departure
without trying to sell needless products or additional services as other
hotel "smirks" do. This motel is so quiet, you can't even hear a pin drop.
It's surrounded by pristine bushland, and you wake up to the heavenly
scent of the bush. Best thing is its close the the highway, yet set back
at a respectful distance. It has a nice swimming pool and games room
for the kids and the motel is designed in a "chinese mosaic" style typical
of 80's motels, which ensures MAXIMUM PRIVACY. I am only too pleased
to thank the staff at this hotel who made me feel right at home.
The rooms are spacious, come equipt with all sorts of appliances,radios,
tvs, bar friges, toasters, cofee machines (?) and even jaffal makers.
What more can I say? This place literally wins hands down. If only more
hotels could take up the example that this motel has set. Would highly
recommend this hotel if you are going to Wilsons Promontory or any other
attraction in South Gippsland. 10/10

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed for business in and was very surprised at the age of the rooms, considering the amount of traffic to Wilson's Prom.
The decor can best be described as a brown mishmash of bad, cheap, and nasty.
It was clean, and thankfully free of critters, but looked like the kind of place where you would leave with a whole bunch of hitchhikers.
A colleague had an old hospital bed in her room, and another who had stayed here previously found that the key to her door opened the door to the one with the hospital bed.
Brown tiles in the bathroom, and one of those shower curtains that clings to you when it gets wet.
Look, it was allright for a night, but at $110 it's not a bargain. Best to try and find a B&B or house to rent in the area for a similar price. Better value for money.

  • Liked — Nothing really stood out
  • Disliked — Creepy man at front desk.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Foster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Foster

Address: 3800 South Gippsland Highway, Foster, Victoria 3960, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Foster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Foster 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Foster is a 29 room 3-star motel located in a beautiful bushland setting, just minutes from Foster, the gateway to Gippsland's natural wonders. From the untamed wilderness of Wilsons Prom to the lush rainforest of Tarra-Bulga, our guests are perfectly placed to roam some of Victoria's most celebrated national parks and attractions. Whether you're looking for an action-packed family adventure or a quiet weekend away, you can enjoy a slice of country life at our scenic bush-front property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Foster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Foster Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Foster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.