We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milch Cafe and Bar

Milch Cafe and Bar
4 schuss st, Falls Creek, Victoria, Australia (Formerly Cafe milch)
03 5758 3407
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Falls Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Tapas, Family Fare, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Milch Cafe and Bar, Located in the heart of Falls Creek Village providing breakfast, lunch and dinner. Coffees and home baked treats are available all day or let us tempt you with one of our gorgeous desserts. Our bar is open with daily specials and cocktail hours.Breakfast 7:30- 11amLunch 12-3Dinner 5:30 lateChildrens menu available,vegans and gluten free catered for.We love bookings as it helps us to plan the best possible evening for you. Milch is also available for private functions and parties!
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Expensive for average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The prices are relatively high when you consider the food and coffee is average at best. The service can also be pretty poor, especially when they're busy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serialskier, Manager at Milch Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you felt our food and coffee didn't come up to your standards. WE LOVE our coffee, so I hoped you let someone know and we would have made you another.
Yep we got slammed at Christmas time, It was our first summer as new owners and definitely a learning experience. We hope to have it under better control next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    40
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stumbled upon Cafe Milch on our first night at Falls Creek and found ourselves returning regularly during our week on the mountain.

Everything on the mountain in winter is expensive - there's no escaping it. So when you come across a restaurant/cafe where the staff are very bubbly and helpful, the food excellent and varied - you ignore some of the more pretentious establishments and gravitate back to it!

Cafe Milch was able to offer our mixed vegetarian/omnivore group delicious and well preapared options at all meals times from breakfast to late night supper, even during the extremely busy nights during the mid winter school holidays. Such was the list of temptations, that we sometimes went there for a pre dinner drink and tasty morsels before trying other nearby restaurants.

But from a vegetarians point of view, Cafe Milch was an oasis at Falls Creek where we could get consistently good food and a smile from the staff. It ain't cheap - but when comparing food quality and consistency compared to others - Cafe Milch came up trumps for us!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serialskier, Manager at Milch Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Our staff were very pleased to read that and they do pride themselves on their cheery, can-do attitudes. We are very proud of them. Milch is trying to get even more vegetarian orientated, so feel free to shoot through some of your favourite things to eat on our facebook page. We are always open for new ideas. We hope you will come back and see the new look this ski season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had dinner there on 08/01/13 & 10/01/13 - the food was worthy of a second visit - the local lamb cutlets were cooked to perfection on a simple bed of Greek salad. The staff were very friendly and very relaxed with the chef serving & cooking.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serialskier, Owner at Milch Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for coming in! We love the lamb cutlets too and are very lucky to be able to have them from our local farm in Wangaratta, we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great bacon and egg rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lovely little place to eat, friendly prompt service. There was just one staff member on her own, cooking, takin orders and serving, but she did a great job!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serialskier, Owner at Milch Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for coming in, glad you liked the bacon and egg rolls, they are a crowd pleaser. We are happy to be able to have bacon from our local farms and our eggs are free range which I think makes them much tastier. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Awesome scones and pancakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had the pleasure of having breakfast at Cafe Milch when I was in the area for a car club meet.

I don't know her name but the girl who served me was excellent (gorgeous too) she'd actually reopened the cafe just for us and was lovely to chat with.

As per the title had some excellent Scones and Pancakes with cream and jam.

Whenever I get back down there I will be sure to swing by again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milch Cafe and Bar also viewed

Falls Creek, Victoria
Falls Creek, Victoria
 

Been to Milch Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milch Cafe and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.