We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelse Lodge

Nelse Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falls Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelse Lodge
Save
You added Nelse Lodge to your Saves list
17 Slalom Street, Falls Creek, Victoria 3699, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Highly recommend the nelse lodge, looked after us very well for the third year now, terrific food, great falls creek location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Graham, Ros and cheeky, but has to be said quite brilliant chef Glen will provide you, your partner and family with a home away from home. In fact, without being on top of each other, you could well become part of the 'family' !

The sign in the driveway on a cold damp January day said 'Pool, Bar, Spa', I was so lucky to stop by chance, thought the sign 'sold it'!

From a great welcome, to the beautiful clean room, drying room, to the indoor pool and the freshest and hottest spa on earth, this was how my stay started...

Dinner with their friends in the wonderfully European open plan living / dining bar area, complete with massive wood fire ready for the winter season, you could easily find space to be alone, or chat with the locals who also just drop in as their favourite spot for a drink and dinner, I was introduced to many that typical evening.

Enough said - I do not have shares, but the folk at Nelse are worth bragging about. They have after all been in the area for more years than most, and whilst it is a business, you are never left feeling any more, than a welcomed guest.

Look no further, do not pass go, trust me.

Thank you Nelse - hope to drop in again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed with Graeme and Ros at Nelse Lodge and, as always, had a fantastic time. Graeme and Ros, together with chef Glen, are the ultimate hosts. They go out of their way to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. Rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The lounge, with an open fire, is a wonderful area for relaxing with friends. Meals are generous and beautifully cooked and presented. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here during the MG Car Club's Pre War MG Rally in November 2011. There was a complete muck up with the accommodation because of some bad weather and the rally organisers thought the roads were blocked. We together with a few others continued to FC regardless and were rewarded with an excellent experience. The Lodge was terrific and the meal we had that night. Our host were first class and were particularly gracious considering that they must have been considerably out of pocket given that only a handful of the expect number of guest actually arrived. Will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

Pleasant hosts, providing clean & tidy accommodation. Always a fire going in the lounge area.

My first time staying at Nelse & happy to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I have stayed with Graham & Ros a couple of times now (always out of the ski season as this is one of the few year round lodges in FC). Hosts are very welcoming and highly involved in the FC community (they know what is going on, what to do and also organise events such as hiking to nearby Mt Hotham on the scenic Bogong High Plains).

Food - can't get enough of it. Absolutely wonderful.

I have stayed in both small and medium rooms - they are comfortable, especially when travelling on my own.

Other guests - Ros and Graham will make you as comfortable as possible during your stay and make some introductions. I have met several people in my stays and have enjoyed their company each time.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We've just come back from the snow and had a great time at Nelse Lodge.
Although the first greeting by one of the staff was not very helpful, things improved when we met the owner, Graeme, who was very welcoming. The lodge downstairs is lovely with a bar area, cosy lounges in front of an open fire and a dining area. Guests can eat dinner there at $45 for three courses and the food was excellent. Information from other guests considered it to be one of the best places to eat on the mountain. Make sure that you book at breakfast preferably as non-guests can also eat there. Nice touches to the lodge include Roxy the resident long haired dachshund, pool, spa and sauna, drying room and the bar opening at 4pm with a nibbles platter being passed round. This is a very kid friendly place, as they serve dinner early for them while parents can enjoy a wine in the same area, but is equally good for couples. You do have to sit with others at dinner, but we met some lovely people. Only downer is that our room was stifling hot but we would still stay there again.

  • Liked — Lovely lounge area and very good meals
  • Disliked — The heat in the bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nelse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelse Lodge

Address: 17 Slalom Street, Falls Creek, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Falls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Falls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.