We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenview Retreat

Save Saved
You added Glenview Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenview Retreat
48 Fernglade Drive, Emerald, Victoria 3782, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Emerald B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Visited August, 2012. Was perfect for two couples great breakfast, very cosy. The new owners had just taken over.
Returned last week July, 2013. Booked on-line. Received confirmation which stated we would have a fully cooked breakfast, then discovered they don't do breakfast anymore, well, they had already taken my deposit. For breakfast we were given 4 slices of bread, some spreads, cheap fruit salad, milk and juice.
I had enquired as to whether the BBQ was undercover, it was, so decided to have a BBQ dinner. No chance, the BBQ was filthy - cockroaches running around - and the fat in the base was mouldy. We tried to clean with the BBQ wipes supplied, but it was mission impossible, disgusting. Ended up cooking our steak in a frying pan on inside gas ring.
As far as the complimentary bottle of wine, well that just did not happen. The owner's have taken on outside work, because the B&B was not doing too well. There was no body there.
I had a moan, via email, their response was to upgrade their webpage and now, after my visit 7 days ago, offer Gourmet Self Catering breakfast with everything we expected. I will not be going back and suggest you confirm verbally whatever they give you in writing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenviewRetreat, Owner at Glenview Retreat, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Disappointed
Thank you for your recent feedback. We sincerely apologize that your stay at Glenview Retreat this time was disappointing however we feel that we need to make the following response to your concerns.
In the booking confirmation email that I sent it was clearly indicated that Midweek bookings included a Hamper Breakfast Cereal, Yoghurt, Fruit, Juice, Bread and a selection of spreads. (Online booking form incorrectly stated Full Cooked Breakfast.) You had a query about the Hamper breakfast and after I gave an explanation your response was “That’s fair enough Brett”. The ”Gourmet Breakfast Hamper” you refer to is for bookings that are a 2 Night Minimum this includes, Milk, Cereal, Juice, Eggs, Bacon, Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Bread and a selection of spreads. The email also details our cancellation policy and we would have provided a Full refund if you decided not to proceed with the booking.
The same email also asks for guests to confirm with us which Complimentary Wine they would like from the selection we offer, we didn’t received a reply.
The BBQ was checked the evening prior to your arrival to ensure the gas bottle was turned on and that it ignited correctly, it was running for about a minute then I turned it all off and I did give the grill plate a quick wipe, taking you comments on board we in the past have asked guests who use it to make sure they clean it with the BBQ wipes provided but I will be more diligent in checking and cleaning the BBQ. On the day of your check in I called and sent a text to the mobile number we were given reminding you that we were at work and providing the check in instructions, as you had been to Glenview Retreat previously and were familiar with the Cottages I didn’t follow this up with a call or text as I stated I would call in when I arrived home.
When I arrived at Glenview Retreat I came down to the cottages with 2 Golf Umbrellas as it was raining heavily and I thought you might need them if you were going out. We had a discussion for about 10 minutes before I went up to our house, at no stage were any of your concerns raised, for the rest of that evening and the following morning until you checked out we had no communication.
Claire and I have both had outside work since we took over Glenview Retreat and I don’t believe this is relevant to the concerns raised, we take great pride in the Cottages and the service we provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were looking for a weekend away, not too far from home. Being two couples we found Glenview Retreat the perfect get-a-way, we each had our own cottage, and it was only 1hr from home. Being winter, it was cold but the gas heater was something to look forward to when we came back after our walks. The breakfast was yummie, the added bonus we were given wild bird seed and had breakfast with the beautiful wild parrots. Also, many B & B cottages we have stayed at don't cook your breakfast, but just give you the provisions to cook yourself. We took advantage of the BBQ facilities, which our Hosts Brett and Claire kindly moved undercover in case is rained. The chocolates, bottle of wine and the amazing coffee machine was an added bonus. Look forward to returning in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were looking for a nice three day getaway just before my partner had back surgery and when I was between jobs.

Jenny did everything to make us feel relaxed and at home, including providing us with two AMAZING breakfasts and organising massages and body treatments which came to us at the cottage. Yes, we need not have left the cottage at all if we didn't want to! Every effort was made to ensure that we were very comfortable and relaxed.

The area is beautiful and quiet and there is a great little courtyard out the back which attracts beautiful birdlife, particularly in the early morning. There are no views from the cottage which was a little disappointing as photos on another travel site give the impression that the cottage is right on a lake. Despite this, Emerald Lake is within about a 1km walking distance and there is bread scraps in the freezer ready to give to the ducks!

We will definitely be back again and would recommend it to others for a sneaky two to three day getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on two occasions while working in the area together. The cottages are absolutely delightful - you are welcomed with wine, a large array of chocolates and cookies and some bubble bath for the spa. The cottage has a lovely garden where you can listen to the birds and there is also a kitchen if you wish to stay in. The cottage offers a large selection of teas and DVDs as well. The breakfast menu is superb! One morning we had a cooked breakfast which was just delicious and even though we had to leave early for work our generous hostess still delivered it to our door. The second stay we opted for her gourmet breakfast hamper which was so generous and scrumptious with fruits, yoghurts, juices and muffins etc - we were still nibbling at lunch!

We would really love to come back for a weekend getaway. A very quiet and relaxing place with wonderful and generous hosts.

Room Tip: Relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We chose this place because we were looking for somewhere to relax for a couple of days and the choice was a good one! The cottage is split into two self contained units which were spotlessly clean and supplied with all the usual supplies, plus a whole host of extras such as chocolates, fresh coffee, wine, a huge selection of teas etc,etc.

The location is in recently developed bushland, it was amazingly quiet, with just the noise of wildlife for company. Native birds at the door at breakfast time were amazing. A great cooked breakfast was provided by the hosts and included in the package.

The accomodation was great, with a gas fire which made the place incredibly cozy on a night. All round we couldn't complain or want for anything. Loads of information on parks and places to visit in the area too.

We were looking for an escape from the world and found exactly what we were looking for here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenview Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Retreat

Address: 48 Fernglade Drive, Emerald, Victoria 3782, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Emerald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Emerald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the majestic gum trees of Emerald in the Dandenong Ranges, Glenview Retreat is a perfect escape for couples from the hustle of everyday life. Whether you slip away for a few days mid-week or escape for a romantic weekend you will appreciate the quiet surrounds and fresh smell of the eucalypts as soon as you step from the car. While away your days on the lounge, soak amongst the bubbles in your spa or stroll the walking tracks of the Emerald Lake Park or Wrights Forest. Wake in the morning to the bird chorus whilst enjoying breakfast and a Coffee from the MAP Coffee Machine in your cottage (Self Cater - Gourmet Breakfast Hampers are included in your rate). Visit the many cafes, restaurants and wineries of the Dandenongs and Yarra Valley.This spectacular country setting is home to many native birds including King Parrots, Rosellas and Galahs that are fed daily in your courtyard garden. We aim to make your stay at Glenview Retreat a comfortable and relaxing indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Glenview Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Retreat Emerald, Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenview Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.