We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to finish the great ocean road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mail Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mail Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Mail Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Parker Street, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a way to finish the great ocean road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is quite possibly one of the best restaurants in the world, we stayed for one night on 24th April and found the whole experience wonderful. A friendly greeting, comfortable room with one hell of a view and some truly memorable food. The layout is interesting as there is a bar at one end of the building serving bar food and beer to locals and tourists alike, this moves into the open plan bistro / fine dining area which might come as a surprise to some as you are not really separated like other restaurants.

The food is beautiful with cutting edge dishes using the best locally sourced ingredients and techniques which really do them justice. Service is friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Filtered rain water was a first for me and there is a tap in your room pumping the stuff to. Anthony Bourdain came here and loved it and I can see why, the Royal Mail Hotel is doing something truly unique and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who loves food.

Room Tip: My wife did the booking and our room faced the moutain so no complaints here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear HungryG

Thank you very much for dining and staying with us and for taking the time to post a review.

It appears that you have summed us up quite well. All of our Food and Beverage offerings are quite special and we have something to cater for a broad range of tastes and budgets from a great country Public Bar through to a very special Bistro and then a 3 Hat dining experience that rates among Australia's best and is world class.

We also have a very special and comfortable range of accommodation which is currently in the process of undergoing a million dollar refurbishment programme.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    84
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
33
172
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a long drive and the expectation of a lovely lunch at the Royal Mail (having dined previously)
our table of 4 enjoyed wonderful entrees and held high hopes for our main course. My three companions received beautifully presented and appetising dishes however my order of the scotch fillet steak with hand cut chips and leaves was not worthy of a roadhouse. Completely,bewilderingly bad. I sampled the grissely grey offering and asked the waitress to take it away. She handled the situation very well and offered alternative meals and complimentary dessert. I'm afraid the damage has been done when you can't trust a good restaurant with a $45 steak. Good coffee though

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear peterv

Thank you very much for dinig with us and posting a review.

It appears by reading your review that you have enjoyed 4 great entrees and 3 great mains and great coffee along with being a return guest.

Please accept my apolgies for the steak and we use some of the best product in the country including Rangers Valley and Hopkins River and the steak is a best seller.

I hope you let the positve outweigh the negative and we would look forward to welcoming you back again and don't be afraid to reach out to me on 03 5577 2241 in regards to the steak.

All the best.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Mail Hotel for two nights. The room was comfortable but dated. The blinds were very fiddly and dusty, and the bathroom was adequate. The outside deck was good but had a couple of chairs only. We ate at the bistro one night and the restaurant the other night. Both were wonderful. The ambience in both was relaxing, the service was attentive and friendly. The menus were imaginative and the food was simply delicious. Breakfast on both days was good, but the variety could have been better, and there was a shortage of tables as everyone arrived at the same time. Would return again to have dinner at the restaurant or the bistro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Isobella D N

Thank you very much for choosing to stay and dine with us and for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Bistro and Restaurant. Please accept my apologies in regards to the room. The cleaning matter will be raised with our Head Housekeeper and you will be pleased to hear that 17 of our rooms have undergone or are about to undergo a 1 million dollar refurbishment programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The main attraction here of course is the food, but fortunately it's backed up by comfortable, clean rooms with good amenities. Both times I have stayed in a garden room. Love the T2 tea in the room - always a winner with me - but this last time the plunger coffee was missing. Breakfast is a delight. Home-made rillettes, locally smoked salmon, italian donuts, house made ricotta, delicious yoghurt - I could go on. But you must must must go for dinner. Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear CJH65

Thank you very much for your review.

We love it as much as you do and you have summed us up well. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just had a significant anniversary , so my husband thought it would be a lovely idea to lunch at the Royal Mail , so we booked and arranged a holiday around this . We needed to drive many hours as we live in SA , so had to plan a journey based on lunching there . We had expected that a special menu would be available , as we believed this was what they were famous for ., and was not advised differently on booking . When we arrived a loud drunken party was in full swing , The next guests seated to us , were annoyed , as were others who were unable to share an intimate time without the intrusion and difficulty in hearing . The food was average in presentation . The fish we chose came with little . I had asked if we needed veg , or salad , The experience was disappointing and not up to the media hype that we had read .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear DiColton

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing to lunch with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

The bisto is open for lunch and dinner 7 days per week and serves very special, a la catre dishes. If you are refering to the special menu for which we are renowned this is a 10 course tasting menu and is only served at night from Wednesday through Sunday as it is served over a period of some 3.5 to 4 hours and therefor not a lunch option.

We do not host loud, drunken parties and our Food and Beverage Manager and his team (who are fully trained in the responsible service of alcohol) has informed me that he was aware of the table your are refering to and noise levels were constantly monitored.

Please feel free to reach out to me on 03 5577 2241 if I can further assist or you would like to discuss.

We would look forward to having you join us again and having the opportunity to exceed all of your expectations. Once again, happy anniversary.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife surprised me with a dinner at Royal Mail for my birthday. And to add to the fun, we caught a light plane from Essendon, got collected at Hamilton Airport and driven to the hotel, arriving around 1pm.

We checked in, and Paully talked us through some of the local walks. What a good idea to work up an appetite! We ate a light lunch in one of the nearby cafes - our thinking was that it would be good to try and spread our tourist $s across the town if possible - and headed off towards Mt Sturgeon on a warm autumn afternoon...

We came across our first mob of kangaroos 10 minutes into the walk and thereafter saw upwards of 100 kangaroos - mostly inquisitive - and several emus, along the way. We managed to get temporarily lost, but the signs were excellent and we were soon back in our beautifully appointed room, getting ready for dinner.

What can one say!

We went for omnivore - but could have easliy had the vegetaian option as it looked wondeful. The wines were a treat - special mention for the champagne and chablis, both from France. However, there was also a NZ pinot noir and delicious Mornington chardonnay.

The highlights from the food were: the scampi, blue eye, egg yolk and potato and a superb parsnip(!)-based dessert.

However, the real highlight was the journey that the wait staff and sommelier took us on, describing the food preparation in meticulous detail, along with the origins of some very interesting wines.

The sleep was excellent and we awoke to the sounds of birds starting their day - one of the joys of being in the country.

Breakfast was also sensational (scrambled egg and smoked salmon as well as a buffet of pastries and fruit) and we wandered around town for half an hour to digest the food and reflect on the weekend.

Overall, the experience was unforgettable and a wonderful birthday surprise.

Room Tip: The rooms down the hill, closest to Mt Sturgeon offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear gdpo

Many happy returns for your birthday. A sincere thank you for choosing us for your special day. I was delighted to read your review and you have very accurately summed up all of the wonderful delights you might see, touch, taste and enjoy at Royal Mail Hotel.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Sturgeon Cottages. It was perfect!!!! The old stone cottages are very cozy and you feel like being back in time. The scenery and location is unbeatable, especially in the morning when all the kangaroos are active. The beds are very comfortable, bathroom very clean, and living room was very cozy. The view to the mountains was wonderful, I could sit there for hours watching. It is very quiet and relaxing. An unforgettable experience.

When we booked the cottage we had to make dinner reservations at the Royal Mail hotel. The food is good, but not as outstanding as the chefs might think. Is a good place to eat and we did not regret it.

Room Tip: Get up early and watch the wild life around the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear relssog

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing a review on trip advisor.

I was delighted to read your comments on our beautifully restored bluestone shearers cottages that were originally built in the 1850's. They are a "one of a kind" offering with a water tank bathroom, fireplace, amazing views and provide some great opportunities to interact with unique Australian wildlife.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Scott Horn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Address: 98 Parker Street, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mail Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mail Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.