We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tavelling through west gippsland we chose to stay at the Best Western Motor Inn in Droiun.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Drouin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Drouin to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Drouin
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   275 Princes Way, Drouin, Victoria 3818, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Drouin Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drouin
Wonthaggi, Australia
1 review
“tavelling through west gippsland we chose to stay at the Best Western Motor Inn in Droiun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

For quality service this is the place to choose, the rooms were extremely clean and well presented. The owners that have recentely taken over went out of their way with their excellent hospitality. The showers were brilliant and the beds were extemely comfotable. On future visits to west gippsland we will be staying at the Best Western Drouin Motor Inn and we recommend it to others wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Drouin Motor Inn and sharing your review.
We are pleased and delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our motel, and hope that you will visit us again soon on your next visit to Gippsland.
Regards
Best Western Drouin Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
15
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keilor, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Thanks to Andrew and Michelle for such a great retreat, coming form other side of the city, i really enjoyed the hosptality and do anytthing for you attitude to make your stay the most enjhoyable possible...Not knowing the area and wanting to see the sites and places of intrest Andrew and Michelle pointed me in the right direction and made my whole time enjoyable, the motel was well equipped and very relaxing and pleasant to drift off to sleep after a full day of activities, Thank you agsain and i will be back .....

Room Tip: to wind the day off there is a room with a spa in it... cant beaet hot spa and warm bed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Our goal is to provide you with a comfortable stay and an enjoyable experience backed up with good old fashioned country hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

To be honest I wasn't expecting much from a Best Western in a small country town but was quite amazed when I saw the room; turns out the motel is 4 star. Michelle and Andrew are very welcoming, and they're only 5 minutes from town.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very roomy and the bathroom was super modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback it is appreciated to know that we have provided you with an enjoyable stay and you enjoyed our spa room.

Our goal is to provide every customer with a comfortable stay and an enjoyable experience backed up with good old fashioned country hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Best Western Drouin Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here one night to attend a function held in honour of a friend. The motel had new owners and had been refurbished. Unfortunately there is no other competition within Drouin so the price is higher than I would have ordinarily paid. It is also some distance out of the centre of Drouin.
Clean and comfortable, but pricey!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback and we are sorry you felt that the price for your accommodation in our refurbished 4 star motel was pricey.
We are committed to reviewing our price structure on a regular basis to ensure we remain competitive in the market however without knowing what you normally pay and what is expensive for one person may not be for another all we can do is to ensure we are competitive in the local market.
Our goal is to provide good quality accommodation and service for a competitive price. With rates available from $89 per night compared to the other motels in the area we can say we are competitive and we believe we provide value for money.
We are located 2 kilometres from the centre of Drouin approximately a 4 minute drive and we provide ample off street free car parking
Stay tuned for our new packages coming soon
Regards
Best Western Drouin Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This motel is a couple of kilometres west of Drouin. It is set above the main road at a little distance, but the units are subject to some traffic noise. The motel had apparently been recently modernized. Externally this had involved placing some colored glass panels in front of the units! Our unit was very nice - bright and cheerful with light walls, large windows, and mirror doors on the wardrobe. There was good lighting, and the bathroom was a smash hit with its large snow white vanity reflected in the large mirror. Instant hot water, and an unusual overhead shower. There was a toaster (and a working smoke alarm, we discovered!) and a kettle, but no microwave. There was a comfortable very wide Queen sized bed (two singles made together?), and a wall mounted flat screen TV. On the down side the unit was quite small, and the accumulation of salable items in the fridge and on the counter may have appeal to some (other) guests but for us, cluttered up the useable space. There was a lounge chair, and a small table, but insufficient space for a meal setting. The unit was clean and fresh, and Andrew, on the desk, was friendly. But what was this: no tea towel?! Let's hope this is not a new money saving idea! A very nice, well-equipped unit, but small.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank-you for the comments regarding our motel which has been architecturally designed and refurbished both inside and out which involved removing the old arches from the outside, changing the structure and rooms and adding additional extensions to our executive rooms.

The mini bar was recently introduced due to feedback from guests and has received positive comments however we take your comments on board and will review how the mini bar is displayed however the items can be taken out the fridge if not required by guests. The room has a table and two chairs which we feel is sufficient for meals again we will look at the placement of these.

Based on your feedback tea towels, plates and cutlery are now available in all rooms

We value your feedback and look forward to you staying again with us

Regards
Best Western Drouin Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

On arrival we were told we were lucky to find a room due to an event that was on nearby. As it was getting on we felt pressured into saying yes to the $180 price tag, and the promise of a luxurious King room was enticing. The room was tiny, the King bed was two singles pushed together with a very uncomfortable and obvious lump in the middle. Water had been left next to the bed with a huge $3.50 tag on it. The mini bar and snacks took up most of the small desk/kitchen surface.
The room smelt of urine and there were cobwebs on the toilet roll.
The tv channels were cracklier than usual.
Even the sheets weren't that great.
Woken up by the neighbours snoring as well.
Overall, not a single good word to say about the place. Luckily things got better after leaving as we had a nice day in Noojee. For the price of the Best Western we should have stayed at one of the romantic B&Bs out that way.

Room Tip: room 7 was awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank-you for writing your review on the 22 April as we were not offered any face to face comments apart from reading this on trip advisor we would like to invite you back to stay with us as we are sure we could have solved your issues had we been aware of it. As owners we tend to find the unhappy people that write these reviews are the ones which never voice their opinions other than by open one way forums. We are aware of how you feel and would like the opportunity if you are ever here again to offer you a alternative stay that you will be happy with.

We appreciate your feedback and have taken note of your comments. Upon check-in where you had no prior booking you asked why the area was so busy and what was on which we discussed with you at no point where you pressured into staying at the motel you were simply presented with our rate which was competitive with the other motels in the area, in fact some B&B were more expensive than what you paid. We aim to provide good quality accommodation and service at a responsible price both in the cost of our rooms along with all meals and mini bar.

We are committed to reviewing our price structure on a regular basis to ensure you we remain competitive in the market. We charge the recommended retail price for our items in the mini bar which we obtain from our supply chain and whilst the water is slightly higher than the $3.00 I paid recently at a cafe in Drouin it was certainly less than the $5.00 I paid for the water at the last motel I stayed at.

Room 7 does not have a kitchen located in the room and we struggle to see that the mini bar consisting of a breakfast pack, bottle of water, chips, nuts and chocolate bar takes up all of our desk.

We are also very confused how the room smelt or how the toilet holder had cobwebs on it when the room was thoroughly cleaned after we had the handy man replace the toilet holder in your room on the same day just prior to you checking in and why if this was the case you chose to stay in the room and say nothing to us after you checked in so we could resolve the issue or even when you departed when we had a chat and asked about your stay and the room.

The bed you slept on was a king bed made up of two king single beds with a 1.5 inch mattress topper on the top of the bed with new linen which was delivered in the last week of March 2012. Since reading your review I have asked guests who has stayed in room 7 about the room and the bed with all comments being received being positive and the overwhelming feedback that the bed is very comfortable with no other guests saying they could hear the guests in the next room sleeping.

We have had a technician in to check the TV signal which has tested fine and we can only put this down to the weather at the time of your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the Gippsland area with plenty to do and see and we would like the opportunity to welcome you back into the area and the motel for a more enjoyable stay with us and let us show you some good old fashioned country hospitality.

Regards
Best Western Drouin Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I cant help coming back to this Best Western in Drouin... Each and every one of my stays is characterized by genuinely warm hospitality - nothing is ever difficult; the rooms are immaculate - extremely clean, modern and very comfortable.
The pricing is really quite straightforward and reasonable.

I will continue to use the Best Western in Drouin each time I'm in need reasonably priced and comfortable accommodation near Warragul... And I'd recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the Drouin/Warragul area too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western D, Owner at Comfort Inn Drouin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Having you as our guest is our pleasure. Our goal is to provide you with a comfortable stay and an enjoyable experience backed up with good old fashioned country hospitality.
We try to make the motel a home away from home for our traveling customers and we are glad we have been able to achieve this for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Best Western Drouin Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Drouin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Drouin

Address: 275 Princes Way, Drouin, Victoria 3818, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Drouin Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Drouin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drouin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Drouin 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated nearby a vast array of local attractions and activities, Comfort Inn Drouin, offers premium accommodation with warm hospitality, an hour from Victoria's capital city, Melbourne. Comfort Inn Drouin offers 15 luxurious rooms, comprising Drouin's exclusive four-star accommodation option. Renovated and featuring appealing modern furnishings, plush triple sheet linen, brand new bathrooms, and the highest standard of cleanliness. All rooms are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions with 80+ Foxtel channels, mini bar and split system air-conditioning. Additional amenities at Comfort Inn Drouin include conference and meeting facilities capable of accommodating up to 50 guests, with corporate guests being able to appreciate our business services. Comfort Inn Drouin is conveniently located a short walk from local shops, restaurants and bars. We are also situated near the scenery of Lardner Park, skiing options at Mount Baw Baw or families of penguins at Phillip Island, as well as a variety of local attractions and activities such as, hiking, cycling, fishing and golf. Comfort Inn Drouin is only an eight minute drive away from Warragul. Situated on the edge of West Gippsland, this region is famous for its rolling hills, rich in wineries and local markets where local produce can be sampled and purchased. Our reception also features an information centre and our staff will be happy to assist you in navigating the local area and planning your day out. Comfort In Drouin prides ourselves on friendly and superior customer service at a convenient and beautiful location. Make a reservation at Comfort Inn Drouin today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Drouin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Drouin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.