We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hare Inn at Scawton

The Hare Inn at Scawton
Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
+44 1845 597769
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Scawton
Price range: $26 - $69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tucked away in the very south of the Moors is The Hare Inn at Scawton. Award winning Head Chef, Paul Jackson creates and prepares beautiful food from seasonally available local produce, to give you an exceptional fine dining experience in a relaxed and intimate setting.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New owners, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On 6th November 2012 we were the first customers of The Hare Inn at Scawton under its new ownership. We had the two-course lunch at £20. Our party had a mussels starter with a delicious fish stock underneath, lamb served pink with seasonal sauces based on blackberries or oxcheek, which I was told was wonderfully tender and tasty, and desserts of pannacotta or an unusual chocolate creme brûlée served on a wide plate with chocolate foams and ice cream. Everybody enjoyed their meal. Other choices available were a lunch special such as sausage and mash at £10 or the a la carte menu which was very strong on local game with mains at about £18 each. The Hare has been repainted and brightened. It looks to be an exciting place to go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    101
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What an amazing find (in the middle of nowhere)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Apologies to the fine residents of Scawton for describing their town as nowhere but the pub is on a quiet road and not so obviously good from the outside.

We stumbled across it by accident driving off Sutton Bank towards Rievaulx in the Dales. From the outside it looks like many other pubs in the area but inside, once you've navigated the low doorway it is a different story. The have a good bar and a large restaurant with a reasonable range of good wines on tap. The beer range is more limited but they have a couple of the best brews in the land on tap (inc. Timothy Taylor's Landlord).

The food is where the differences are. At first it looks over-priced with starters between £4.50 and £8 (or was it £9) and the mains range up to £20 but the quality of the cooking and presentation really makes up for the high price as it is really excellent and something I wish a few high end London gastropubs could manage. Examples include the best cheese souffle I have tasted, perfectly cooked rib-eye (with just the right amount of heat to char the outside but leave the middle superbly cooked) and an incredible rack or lamb. Even a simple salad which went with the souffle was very tasty). Cheese and biscuits weren't bad either!

Definitely worth a try, if you can afford it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have been past this place a number of times but have never stopped for food. Our loss it seems! We finally decided to go and were blown away by how good the food was.
Its defiantly a food pub and its deceptively large. Sadly when we visited there was only another couple dining so it was a bit of an odd atmosphere it could have done with a little backing music.
Anyway I can’t speak highly enough of the food. We were served some bread that was fantastic two different types that looked and tasted home made.
Prawns in batter looked fresh and they were large unlike some places that advertises king prawns and serve little plastic things.
My duck main course was beautifully cooked as was the other main course of Belly Pork which was served with a mustard mash. The mash had a bit too much mustard in for me but I was eating so no problem!
The desserts were fab – large and tasty a chocolate mousse was served In a large mug that looked like a water cooler cup and the butterscotch sauce on the sticky toffee pudding was to die for.
Only slight quibble was the starters and desserts were a bit steep most coming in over £6.
Service was fine – there was only 4 customers so it should have been but the food really top notch defiantly recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lousy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We reserved a table for 1.15 and arrived at 1pm. We ordered drinks at the bar, and were told to sit there. Nobody gave us a menu (we took one from the stack at the bar) or asked about our order.
At 1.15 we asked to go to our table, which we discovered was ready, waiting and empty all the time. We ordered,and the starters arrived at 1.45. At 2.20 we were still waiting for the main course. Only when we asked were we given an apology and an explanation (only 1 chef in the kitchen.)
The food arrived sporadically, 2 meat dishes here, a veg there, potatoes and gravy later, then 2 more meat dishes. We felt as if we were eating in relays. One main course was wrong - the well done roast beef ordered was dripping blood, completely rare, and was sent back immediately. We felt as if we were eating in relays.
The food when it did arrive was good but quite expensive - £6.00 for starters, £16 - 20 for the main course and £6.50 for dessert.
The restaurant was by no means full and I can understand why. We have eaten here before and experienced similar delays, but decided to give The hare another try. We shall not do so again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This dining pub is out of the way in the village of Scawton. Food is excellent if a little expensive and service was very professional. We were a little surprised to be told where to sit in a half empty bar and disappointed that a voluble party of 5 was seated within touching distance. Mr Smith is clearly a talented chef and we enjoyed our visit but a little more informality would not have gone amiss.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare Inn at Scawton also viewed

Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hare Inn at Scawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hare Inn at Scawton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.