We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stillwater at Crittenden

Stillwater at Crittenden
25 Harrisons Road, Dromana, Victoria 3936, Australia
03 59819555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Dromana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $31
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

we celebrated christmas in july as we give our children a gift voucher at christmas the food was 1st rate i had beef it was near perfect the cream broulee was excellent service was 1st rate a little bit noisey but there were 3 big groups service was excellent in autumm when the vines are turning it will be specular

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    4
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best on the Mornington Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have dined at Stillwater on a number of occasions, we also had our wedding here. Firstly the wedding and the efforts from all the staff on our special days was nothing short of superb. The staff handled our guests and the whole day to a 5 star standard. The reason we chose stillwater was the food we had prior to making the decision to have our wedding there, the staff and of course the setting. For the restaurant, I have only eaten the freshest of ingredients, locally sourced produce and the most expertly cooked food. After some of the commens that have been put on this website, if you go to such a great restaurant with great food, dont expect to see 20 entree's 20 mains and 20 desserts...maybe if this is what you are after you may want to dine at La Porchetta!! For the people who enjoy great food, great service and great wine there is only one place to go...TEN OUT OF TEN!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relax Eat and Enjoy The View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Celebrated a Birthday with Friends, MENU CHOICE OF EITHER 2 OR 3 COURSES offered a good selection Our table covered from Meats and Fish The meats were tender and presented as ordered the Fish all had succulent crispy skins and well received. The service and presentation was of a high standard
On this occasion we sipped a House Sparking white and were not disappointed.Looking out over the dam and the vines gives a relaxing way of spending an afternoon.
Fortunately we live in Dromana so never far to travel to enjoy Great Food and Wines

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for a Sunday lunch, the menu was very limited (I think 4-5 options) and I ordered a vegetarian food (mix of mushroom and pumpkin) and my wife ordered a duck breast. It took 30-35 minutes for the orders to get ready.

The amount of the food wasn't sufficient enough for an adult (may be good for kids) the taste was good but we both got stomach ache 1 hour later.

We ordered bread with our mains but after 15 min we had to ask from another lady, the first one ha forgotten, the bread came 5 min later and just one, they ran out of the bread.

The environment was beautiful and there was a nice place for kids playing, stuff was some how friendly.

The dessert menu was also very limited just had 4 options, one of them took at least 20 minutes (was written in the menu), one with egg, one with rice and the other one was just custard which we ordered, it was like a joke when arrived.

Price wise, you must at least order two courses (choose from entree,main and dessert) and the minimum charge will be $58 so I don't know who said $40 in this site.

All in all we won't come back to this place again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui P, Owner at Stillwater at Crittenden, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you have taken the time to do so. Firsty, let me appologise that your experience on the long weekend Sunday was not to your expectation.
As we cook everything from scratch here, on very busy days sometimes mains can take a little longer, usually most people order an entree and this gives the kitchen time to prepare the main course.

Our high standards of service for which we are renowned, on this occasion let you down and we sincerely appologise
With the desserts, which I have listed below, the custard to which you refer is our signature Creme Brulee dish, a rich French Custard with a caramel crust.


Vanilla Crème Brulée made with free-range eggs, poached rhubarb & a hazelnut tuille

Tarte Tatin of roasted quince with vanilla bean ice-cream – please allow 20 minutes

Hot chocolate fondant with popping chocolate & orange soil, chocolate ice cream

Baked rice pudding with spiced apple compote & a toasted walnut crumble with mulled wine
A selection of housemade ice creams

Frangelico Affogato

We have a selection of local hand made & imported artisan cheeses. Available in a single 50g serve accompanied with muscatels, fruits, crackers & lavosh.
Please ask your waiter for today's’ selection.

We do offer a mid week dining special for $45 or $55 2/3 course a la carte option.
On Sundays and public holidays, we offer our $58/$70 menu.
Yours Sincerely
Jacqui Poulier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A definite 'dining must' if you're visiting the Melbourne area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is absolutely one of our favourite places to eat when we come to Melbourne! It's become a bit of a ritual whenever we visit from Canada. It's that good! The food and presentation is always a fabulous treat, the servers are warm and professional, and the setting is just lovely.

It makes a really nice day trip, if you're coming from the city. And as elegant and lovely as it is, we always have kids with us (from little ones to teens) and they have always made us feel completely welcome. :-)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwater at Crittenden also viewed

Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
Merricks, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Stillwater at Crittenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stillwater at Crittenden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.