We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Forest Resort Creswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Forest Resort Creswick to your Saves list
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Midland Highway, Creswick, Victoria 3363, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Creswick
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

place was really nice accept for balcony
this had spider webs on the balcony rails and the floor had a lot of ants on the ground
I put this down to house keeping not attending to this part of our room before we came

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss-NFRC, General Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here.

All balconies are cleaned everytime a room is cleaned but obviously being in the middle of the Creswick State Forest appears to be challenging to keep up with our active wildlife, i.e. spiders. I have personally shared your feedback with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure we minimise impact.

Again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    454
    189
    58
    34
See reviews for
270
587
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here twice and enjoyed both times. Agree with other reviewers parking is an issue and with a wedding on the weekend we stayed had to manouvre around the limos as well. The shower is not my favourite, directly overhead and cannot adjust, hand basin tap too close to basin and nowhere for soap. We attended the races and is located ideally for this, not a lot to do in Creswick and Ballarat around 10 mins drive. The focus is definately on the golfing fraternity with packages offered such as a round of golf for a dollar, and a nice course on site. We are not golfers so didn't try out the course. Rooms were clean and quiet, with a couch and king bed, we had a balcony view over the pool. Found pricing better on line than via the Accor Advantage which was disappointing as prices are above average for the area. Buffet breakfast was good, dinner is expensive when you have to order vegies etc. as add ons. Staff on the front desk need to be a bit friendlier and welcoming. Sound a lot of gripes but in general a nice place to stay and would stay again as no major issues.

Room Tip: Can get varying views, pool carpark, colf course etc. We had a second floor overlooking the pool. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss-NFRC, General Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you have been a valued return guest to the property. Your feedback has been heard and shared with all departments involved.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the property in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very nice, clean and modern hotel.
We stayed in a room with 2 king beds that can be split into 4 x double beds. Very spacious room looking over the golf course with a balcony.
We stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend, which was long enough.

Facilities are good, and it is in a good location for the general area. About halfway between Dalesford and Ballarat.
It was very handy being about 20 minutes between both towns, but there is not much to do in Creswick (the cafe's were all terrible in town).

Positives:
Rooms and building very modern and clean.
Facilities good: Golf course, small swimming pool and jacuzzi etc.
Location very handy
Ideal for corp. conference
Very reasonable price for that type of accommodation.
Good day spa in the hotel.

Negatives:
Seemed to be very understaffed. Took until 4pm for them to make up our room (not ideal with little kids after a long day)
Staff at front desk were pleasant but very unhelpful and didn't give us any overview of the hotel when we arrived. Just give us the key and pointed to the general direction of the room (job done).
Restaurant menu and prices not provided in the room for perusal.
List of hotel facilities not provided in room (I didn't realize there was a tennis court until the last day).
Room service menu was terribly limited and not great.
Parking was terrible, and was a long steep walk to the lobby from the bottom of the hill with bags.
Bathrooms had nowhere to put the soap once it was used so it just lay on the bench top in a pool of soapy water.
No glasses in the bathrooms.
Not enough milk in the minibar fridge (4 tiny uht tubs)
No light on the balcony. Pitch black outside (kids asleep in the room so we had the room light off)

Overall, I would stay there again. The building and rooms are great, but a lot of the little things were missing. Definitely tones of potential if the management team got their act together!

Room Tip: Get the room with with 2 king beds "executive king" on the golf course side as high up as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss-NFRC, General Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Novotel Forest Resort. I am really happy you enjoyed our hotel.

Our team work endlessly to ensure to give great customer service across all departments. I have definitely taken your comments on board and will review them with our Front office team to give better communication to all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irymple
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Parking was a problem. Twin share room only had one face washer and was booked for two people. For the amount paid for the room per night, really disappointed. There should be better car parking for guests staying at the resort and visitor like daily golfers should have their own area for parking.
When the room was booked for two people, all towels and other condiments should be for two people not 1 person like it was set up for.
Paying around $200 per night and being a member of the Accor Vacation Club, I was considering staying in the units at this site but I will review that as I was disappointed and this is the second time I have stayed and have been disappointed both times.
Time to lift your game if you want my future business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss-NFRC, General Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your time with us at the Forest Resort. The disappointment you experienced with your stay at Novotel Forest Resort is regrettable and even I am disappointed.

We are working on improving our parking with new stairs from the bottom of the car park, however this will require some time to complete.

Again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back to Novotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this Hotel and have certainly found both stays comfortable. Stays have just been overnight when passing through the area so I have not had the opportunity to enjoy many of the resort features.

Rooms are good .... work table plus a 3 seater lounge/coffee table. Shower is difficult to have without getting water on floor as it has a partial screen.

Hallways are very dark ... has sensor lighting but you have often worked a little way along in near darkness before the lights come on! (not sure it would be good for an older person or someone with poor eyesight.

Restaurant meal was good without being exceptional - had a steak ..... really should have ordered a side as well as it only came with potato (a little expensive when you add the side)

Breakfast was of a good standard - consistent with what would be expected at a Novotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ian994,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor, I'm glad that your second time with us has been as enjoyable as the first time you stayed at the Novotel Forest Resort.

I do understand your concerns in regards to the darkness of our corridors, with all of our rooms having balconies and large windows to allow as much natural light as possible into the accommodation rooms, the corridors can miss out on some of the optimum lighting. Fortunately we do have smaller lights that are consistently lit throughout the corridors to allow for this, and the sensor lights are used to ensure that our greenhouse emissions are kept as low as possible.

I'm also glad to read that you have enjoyed your time in our restaurants, both for dinner and for breakfast, and I have passed your comments onto our Executive Chef to ensure we are delivering quality produce at its finest.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Forest again soon.

Kind regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked a room here at the last minute on labor day weekend and was pleasantly surprised when we rocked up. The staff were friendly and a call to reception for assistance was quickly dealt with. The room was a good size and the bathroom OK. The shower was an overhead one so the one down on this booking was no shower caps being supplied and for me that meant I had to dodge around the water stream to keep my hair dry.

The meal was great. Fresh food at its best and there were no left overs!

This hotel is well worth considering when travelling to Ballarat even though it is a little way out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback about your time with us here at the Novotel Forest Resort - I'm delighted to read that we have "pleasantly surprised" you and that you have enjoyed your time at the Forest.

I'm glad that you have dined in our signature restaurant, Harvest 383, and have experienced firsthand the fantastic meals that our chefs produce. Our Executive Chef strives to ensure that every ingredient our kitchen uses is not only of the best quality, but also of a local supplier, to ensure that only the freshest meals our served at our hotel.

I hope that we will see more of you and your partner in the future, as I look forward to welcoming you back to the Forest again soon.

Kind regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Initial greeting on checkin needs improving. The young man who checked us in wasn't very informative as he didnt explain the facilities very well. Although he was very polite and well mannered. The room was clean and a tad on the small side, however housecleaning had left us a dirty coffee cup (not Impressed). The bed was way too soft and the pillows were near invisible. Only 3 very skinny and soft pillows in the room, is this normal as i thought most hotels supply 2 pillows for each person. The food was excellent and the staff really need to be congratulated on their excellent service. We were also disappointed that the spa was a single person bath. Overall our stay was comfortable but could have been better given that i had also notified them that this was a celebration for us to remember (This was not acknowledged or maybe not passed onto staff at the resort via our booking). Unsure whether we would return as their doesn't seem to be great value for money at this location.


NB: We did forget to notify reception of the dirty cup on checkout,.
Yours Sincerely

Neil

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Novotel Forest Resort.

I appreciate the time and attentiveness of your feedback and have ensured that your comments have been passed onto our Front Office and Housekeeping team. I apologise that your experience with us has not lived up to the high expectations that we pride ourselves in achieving. As you can see by other guest reviews we consistently deliver warm, friendly, and overall professional service in all departments of the hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining with us and your praise has been passed onto not only our kitchen but wait staff also. I would be delighted to personally discuss with you several of our hotel accommodation specials to ensure we are tailoring our packages to better meet your desires next time you wish to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Forest Resort Creswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Forest Resort Creswick

Address: 1500 Midland Highway, Creswick, Victoria 3363, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Creswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Creswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Forest Resort Creswick 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 150 acres of state forest in the Victorian Spa Country, the Novotel Forest Resort Creswick is a 4.5 star hotel perfect for a holiday or weekend getaway, with a conference centre for up to 600 people making it ideal for meetings and events. Located 11 km from Ballarat, near Daylesford and Hepburn Springs, the resort features a boutique day spa, gym, outdoor heated swimming pool, an a la carte restaurant, bar, and a Tony Cashmore designed championship 18 hole golf course. All 143 rooms and suites feature balconies, king beds and spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Forest Resort Creswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick Hotel Creswick
Novotel Forest Hotel Creswick
Accor Forest Hotel Creswick
Creswick Novotel
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.