We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a nice weekend away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Forest Resort Creswick

Save Saved
You added Novotel Forest Resort Creswick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Midland Highway, Creswick, Victoria 3363, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Creswick
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT a nice weekend away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the Novotel Creswick 2 weeks ago for the weekend and did not enjoy my stay at all.
The room was not prepared for the 2 adults and child we booked for, we had to REQUEST on 3 separate visits to the front desk a TV remote, bedding for our daughter and then a towel for our daughter.
We were not advised when booking or checking in that it was necessary to make a booking to eat in the resort. Given the remote location of this resort I would have thought that house guests would have been catered for in the restaurant. No attempt was made by the restaurant staff to offer any alternative, other than "no we are fully booked"
Thr oom itself was fine until I went to have a drink on the balcony only to find the area had not been cleaned for a considereable amount of time. There was a birds nest and several months worth of bird droppings over the walls, floor and outdoor furniture. This was such a shame given the lovely view across the golf course.
We planned the weekend away to celebrate my partners birthday, unfortunately the overall poor standard of amenities and service resulted in a disappointing.
I would not stay at this resort again nor recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without bird droppings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Rebekah N,

I am truly disheartened to read your review about your experience that you have had with us at the Novotel Forest Resort, as you can see by other guest reviews we take a great deal of pride in our service, care, and attention to detail.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to talk to you about the issues that you have highlighted, if you could contact me via my direct email address: thomass@forestresort.com.au, or alternatively contact me at the hotel on (03) 5345 9600 I would be very greatful.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,
Kind regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    420
    168
    53
    29
See reviews for
247
542
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in September '12 for 1 night as part of a Scoopon deal (1 night accommodation with $50 dinner voucher, buffet breakfast & bottle of sparking wine on arrival).

Although we arrived by 1pm, the room was not ready so we decided to have a few drinks in their bar. The bar overlooks their golf course & is a good area to sit down & unwind.
The front desk / reception was short staffed given that it was a Saturday afternoon. I would have thought they would have had more people manning the front desk (given that it was the first weekend of the Scoopon deal). Although we had indicated to the lady at the front desk that we would be at the bar (waiting for our room to be ready) which is right next to the reception, no one came to tell us that our room was ready. Eventually we went back to the reception & it took close to 15 mins for us to be checked in (given the no. of people manning the reception, incoming phone calls & people in the queue).

The room was decent sized with a small balcony overlooking the car park area. The bed was very comfortable & there were plenty of TV channels to surf through if you wanted to relax in the room. Our room had a connecting door to the adjoining room & we could hear what was happening in the next room! We finally put a cpl of towels under the room & this stopped the noise from filtering through. The bathroom was a good size & very clean.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant & although we really liked the food in all 3 courses, it was overpriced (unless you have a voucher!) by most standards. The restaurant was fairly full but had enough staff to wait on the tables.

We had buffet breakfast in the same restaurant the next morning. There were plenty of hot & cold food options with coffee, tea & juices and enough staff to clear your plates.

Checking out was a bit quicker than checking in (but again, the same issues with lack of staff as checking in).

This is a decent hotel for a short stay, as it is close to Daylesford, but only if you get a good deal on the accommodation, dinner & breakfast package.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear cela_trams,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and well-rounded review regarding your stay with us at the Novotel Forest Resort. We appreciate all guest feedback and I will share your review with the rest of the team at the resort in an attempt to improve our customer service and efficiency.

I'm glad that you have enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon. If you were looking for another good deal, we are currently advertising a Christmas package: "12 Reasons to Stay at the Forest", which includes a coupon book that you can use throughout the hotel as well as with a few of the surrounding local destinations, such as the Creswick Woollen Mills, Tuki Trout Farm and Sovereign Hill.

I trust that we will see more of you and your partner in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was good value for money for a weekend out for the family. Especially if you enjoy a game of Golf. Cleaning (rooms) was not up to usual Novotel standards. New “weekend Buffet” was fantastic. Overall a good place to visit and enjoy a weekend with above average food and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and also to apologise that the level of cleanliness that you experienced was not up to our famous Novotel standard; as you can see from other reviews our Housekeeping team take a great deal of care when servicing all rooms.

I have passed your comments onto the rest of our team and will endeavour to make sure that the next time you stay with us you will witness firsthand the level of attentiveness and attention to detail that we pride ourselves in.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Forest again soon.

Kind regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend as we had a wedding at the resort. It is a lovely resort, very new and the rooms are well equipped and clean. The staff are great and gave us late checkout on the Sunday without any extra charges. Buffet breakfast which was included with our room has a good range. There are lots of facilities to use including pool, gym and the 18 hole golf course, which we didn't get time to try out. The restaurants are a bit pricey, we ate at the sports bar for lunch one day and it wasn't cheap ($20 for a club sandwich) but the food was great. Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear mzriia,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor, and again, many congratulations to you on your wedding celebrations!

I'm thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for posting some pictures that highlight our beautiful golf course, I hope that the next time you come back with to join us you try to play a few holes - I recommend hiring a cart as the course can be quite steep for the first few holes.

I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the Forest again very soon!

Best wishes,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved.... the Hotel, it's out of town (not that there is anything at Creswick) but only 10 minutes to Ballarat and about 15 minutes to Daylesford. We stayed in an Executive King room which had a beautiful view looking over the golf course. Amazing large room with spa bath. Beautifully appointed, the whole hotel is 'wow'. The only thing we were really happy with was the dinner wasn't great. We went to Daylesford for breakfast. Would love to stay there again if we are up that way, would definitely drive the little extra bit out to stay here if wanting to visit Ballarat or Daylesford.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear MischaVictoria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, and also for sharing some pictures that you've captured throughout your family getaway.

Our Executive King rooms are perfect for a family looking to explore the Forest and our surrounding areas, as you have experienced. If you are ever looking for some new ideas or hidden local attractions, please don't hesitate to ask any of our friendly staff for some most-see destinations; I recently went to the Tuki Trout Farm just down the road from the hotel and have had so much fun fishing and dining in their beautiful restaurant, it's a definite must for next time you stay with us!

I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the Forest again soon.

Kind regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Easy check in, great facilities, nice food. Room was terrific. Staff provided a buffet for our group which was to take part in a soccer tournament. Everything was organised and check in was easy. Staff were pleasant and helpful. My son and I enjoyed the fantastic resort facilities and had a spa with our group after dinner. A most enjoyable stay and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I had no problems with the room provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Bronwn S,

At Novotel Forest Resort we welcome and appreciate all feedback, and I could not be happier to read that you and your family have enjoyed your time with us! I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Forest again soon, if not for another soccer tournament, then at the very least just a relaxing weekend away!

Warmest regards,
Thomas Schleehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Forest Resort Creswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Forest Resort Creswick

Address: 1500 Midland Highway, Creswick, Victoria 3363, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Creswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Creswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Forest Resort Creswick 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 150 acres of state forest in the Victorian Spa Country, the Novotel Forest Resort Creswick is a 4.5 star hotel perfect for a holiday or weekend getaway, with a conference centre for up to 600 people making it ideal for meetings and events. Located 11 km from Ballarat, near Daylesford and Hepburn Springs, the resort features a boutique day spa, gym, outdoor heated swimming pool, an a la carte restaurant, bar, and a Tony Cashmore designed championship 18 hole golf course. All 143 rooms and suites feature balconies, king beds and spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Forest Resort Creswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick Hotel Creswick
Novotel Forest Hotel Creswick
Accor Forest Hotel Creswick
Creswick Novotel
Novotel Forest Resort Creswick Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Forest Resort Creswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.