We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cottage

Thai Cottage
20 South Gippsland Highway, Cranbourne, Victoria 3977, Australia
(03) 59950556
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Cranbourne
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cranbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Thai Cottage and will not be the last. It is small and the decor is basic but the food is great and the waiter was helpful and had a sense of humour, which always adds value. It was a bit noisy, and a bit cramped because it was packed, which is a good sign, but the food made up for any of the small negatives. Pricing was good, about $6 for entrees and $12 for mains, and being BYO was also a saving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

we arrived and shown to our table and the menus where handed to us we ordered our courses after almost 2 hours i had to go and where was our starters
about 15 minuets latter 4 of the main arrived and 1 entrée then after that the prawn fried rice arrive what a disappointment I had had enough and did not bother with sweets 3 of the guest order banana fritters and the other coconut custard with Ice cream We sent 2 lots of the banaa fritters back because the batter was still not cooked so more waiting
What a terrible evening we where all looking forward to a nice evening but we where all eating at different times
THE WORST DINNER I HAVE HAD IN MANY YEARS
There are so many good places to eat at and half the plate will not be filled with greated carrot and assorted leaves

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a night early in the week and it was crowded so before ordering thought instantly that this must be a good restaurant, the food is wonderful and the prices are extremely good, the only thing I don't like that as it is a small restaurant it feels very crammed, something I hate. However if you can put up with being a little squished is a truly great Thai restaurant that won't kill your bank account.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is just perfect in every way, The staff are absolutely gorgeous and the main waitress even remembers what we like to drink and eat each time we go. The food is beautiful and the price's are very reasonable. It is beautifully furnished and although only a small restaurant seems to hold a lot of people without being jammed in. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of our family favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have been going here for years. The staff are lovely and will remember your name and favourite order. Affordable and great food. The vegie curry puffs and masaman curry are the best

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cottage also viewed

Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
 
Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Thai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.