We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heytesbury House

Save Saved
You added Heytesbury House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heytesbury House
33 Parrott Street, Cobden, Victoria 3266, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Cobden B&B and Inns
Croydon, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I visited Heytesbury House to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We found the home to be lovely and charming. The beds were extremely comfortable and all the amenities in very good working order. The house has a fantastic reading room and also a great spa bath in the ensuite. Complete with great service and a beautiful home cooked breakfast we would reccommend Heytesbury house to anyone looking for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Happy Anniversary! I'm sorry we didn't realise that you were celebrating. We hope that you enjoyed your first annual celebration, and that you have an amazing second year ahead.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your Heytesbury House experience with others.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Heytesbury House B & B Cobden is a lovely weather board home in between Warnambool and Camperdown in country Victoria. An ideal location to base your self to see the sights of the Great Ocean Road and the Ship Wreak Coast or just a place to sit and chill out for a day or two.

The accommodation offered is just superb the house offers of touch of class with a history of the Cobdon area and the home. The bedroom we had was just wonderful - comfortable, very clean and just the best bed ever. The luxury bathroom with lovely white fluffy towels was just the place to relax after a long day driving around the Victorian country side.

The wooden verandahs around the house where shadey with lovely cane chairs to relax in and have a glass of wine as was the palor with the lovely chesterfild sofas to have a late night coffee and a glass of port the host Kathryn and Andrew offered.

The feel of the house was wecloming, relaxing, quiet and private but very friendly.
Certainly worth the drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you SusieV. We're glad you took advantage of the house in such an extensive way. It's our pleasure to see guests sitting on the verandah, sipping a glass of wine, watching the local birds & butterflies flitting around our little piece of paradise. Hope to see you again soon.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Can highly recommend this B&B we stayed 2 nights and could comfortably see Great Ocean Road plus other attractions in the area. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Excellent cooked breakfast try the omelette its a hit! Our hosts Katherine and Andrew could not do enough to make our stay the very best, they are very knowledgeable of all local attractions. Well worth it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Heytesbury House experience on TripAdvisor. We hope that your time here relaxed you, and sent you on your way with a spring in your step! This is a great part of the world to explore!



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Heytesbury House is the perfect place to "Chill Out" ------ or "Recharge Your Batteries" !!!
The house is tastefully fitted out with period furniture whilst subtely combined with elements of current day luxuries that make your stay comfortable & memorable. The history associated with the house paints some wonderful pictures of years gone by.
Kathryn & Andrew are wonderful hosts, who are more than willing to make your stay 'one to remember' !!

Overall, we rate Heytesbury House "10/10"

Mark & Christine McAleer

Room Tip: Suite 1 - includes spa bath & spiral staicase to small loft retreat ----- Wonderful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
"10/10" WOW that's high praise, indeed! Thank you so much. It was a delight to have you both here, enjoying the house & gardens. We hope to see you both again sooner, rather than later!




Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Highlands, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is one beautiful B&B. From the moment we made contact via phone to the morning we left to come home at 6am all was excellent. Kathryn and her husband Andrew made us feel relaxed and spoilt. Heytesbury House was just divine for those of us who love Australian History. Kathryn and Andrew have delved into the history of the house and its owners. We stayed in Suite 1. Superb! The spiral staircase leading to a reading/coffee/TV room added a very special dimension to the room. The ensuite was very spacious. We loved the four poster bed! Breakfast was beautiful with plenty of it. Coffee was free flowing with Kathryn offering us another cappuccino every time she saw us. The house is quiet so rest at any time is uninterrupted. The garden is beautiful with Andrew continuing his work in it. There is a tall hedge surrounding the house across the front and down the eastern side of the house providing complete privacy from the street. We will be there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We aim for our guests to leave here feeling more relaxed than when they arrived. The garden is a constant work in progress, so I'm sure it will be different the next time you visit. Looking forward to seeing you both again!



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One word describes staying at Heytesbury House - great; great bed, room, spa bath, breakfast and owner Kathryn... so welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Shakespeare Suite - bliss, lovely olde world furnishings with modern comfort where it matters - the bed and the spa bathroom. Cobden is only a short drive from the historical town of Camperdown (super old buildings and yummy cafes) and it's not far away from the Great Ocean Road attractions so Heytesbury House is a good base for both coast and country visiting. We loved our stay and the tariff was really reasonable; definitely go back for another visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are attractive and comfortable and best of all - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks Bookbuzz! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here.

You're absolutely right - we are lucky enough to not only have this beautiful house, gardens and surrounds, but we have the best of all worlds - coast, craters, gourmet food trail, fabulous little towns with character, and country living at it's finest.

Looking forward to seeing you back.



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Kathryn and Andrew were delightful and patient in helping us book our weekend stay at Heytesbury House. After a disastrous week we arrived late on Friday night to a state of opulence!

Room 1, the Shakespeare, was elegant, deep and mysterious, we were greeted with sparkling wine, crystal glassware and four poster bed.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious, a choice of hot and or cold, followed by Devonshire tea in the afternoon was exquisite. The country air lends itself to friendliness and the breakfast room was a buzz with chatter.

The surrounding garden is enclosed, magical, secret... Very ideal for a special moment, wedding or private occasion.

Location is Cobden, a town 30min drive inland from the great ocean road above Port Campbell. It is small and there is not much in the town, but it is central enough to thoroughly explore the surrounding region.

Would love to experience Heytesbury's luxuriousness again... Recommend in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heytesbury, Owner at Heytesbury House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for spending the time to write us a review. We absolutely love it when guests feel the magic of this place, and take advantage of the garden surrounds as well as the beautiful house. We hope to see you again soon!



Kathryn & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heytesbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heytesbury House

Address: 33 Parrott Street, Cobden, Victoria 3266, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Cobden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cobden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heytesbury House in Cobden Victoria is a beautifully maintained original Hospital Residence circa 1904. The original Bush Nursing hospital encompassed this house that was the Doctors residence. With a wide rambling verandah surrounding the house and well maintained gardens, the picturesque setting is both unique and perfect for that special time away.Our aim is to make your stay with us one to remember. Are you celebrating an anniversary, a birthday, or something more? Let us know, and we’ll do our best to make your celebration all that you wish it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heytesbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heytesbury House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.