We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Widow Twankey's Cafe

Widow Twankey's Cafe
50 Fraser Street, Clunes, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Clunes
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Email: info@widowtwankeys.com.au Telephone + 61 3 5345 3426. Please note that for the first Clunes, Victoria restaurant listing that I recently requested (O'Hara's@Clunes), TA staff incorrectly located it in the Australian state of New South Wales (NSW) when in fact both O'Hara's and the cafe above are in then historic first Victorian town where gold was discovered in about 1854. Many thanks for your ongoing commitment to accuracy.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I loved the decor and all the trinkets for sale plus the attached old world lolly shop was very tempting. I found some of the staff lacked the friendly smiles that welcomed me in other parts of Clunes. The food and coffee were good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Widow Twankey's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Everything was ok but nothing was great. Still nice and cute setup - didn't have a meal just coffee and cake and coffee was average and cake dry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clunes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Funky and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great food and cakes, great service. Lots of options for seating. Next door to the lollie shop with loads of interesting chocolates which are different from your every day confectionary... luv it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our children loved this shop and we had to return after our first visit just to take a photo of them in the shop (they insisted). Willy Wonka had been on tv in the week before we found this shop so it was a fantastic surprise for us. My husband found some Nipits which he has been looking everywhere for so he loaded up on those. The shop keeper was very friendly and chatted nicley to my children with their excited chatter and millions of questions about every lolly or chocolate in the shop. He must be used to it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Streetscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Quick stopover for a coffee and light snack. Both were reasonably good and it was good to sit under the verandah, in the sun, looking at the “olde worlde” streetscape.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Widow Twankey's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Widow Twankey's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Widow Twankey's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.