We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch time venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tien Dat Restaurant

Tien Dat Restaurant
3 Carrington Road, Box Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3128, Australia
(03) 9890 9699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 73 restaurants in Box Hill
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch time venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I wanted a nice quick and tasty place for lunch- and got it at Tien Dat. Have been here at night time and I always felt rushed, completely different at lunch time. I love the Vietnamese Spring Rolls and I really rate their salt and pepper squid

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    6
    21
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese food in the heart of Box Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked the second sitting @ 8pm for 8 persons. Still had to wait outside for about 25 minutes. Luckily it wss not cold. Good Vietnamese food and very popular restaurant. Recommend the Vietnamese prawn and pork crepe and crispy chicken ribs. Good value so worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love it here, never disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Food is always fresh & delicious, every item I have ever had on the menu has been enjoyed! Food comes out fast, & is always fresh & tasty. Restaurant is small & crowded & is always packed, but it is part of the experience of dining in Box Hill. Items are well priced & service is good, I am always happy to go back here :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This little gem is always very busy and bookings are essential. Has to be one of the best vietnamese restaurants around. Food is consistent and the service is quick. Highly recommended .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No flavor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went to Tien Dat for our usual Tom Yum with chicken.( we live just down the road, so are frequent customers)...... after waiting for an unusually long time for this restaurantIwas served chicken with noodle... told chef made wrong one. Said I would rather Tom Yum as ordered...soup whipped away to be returned 10 minutes later.... must have waved the lemon grass and chilli oil over the broth as it was insipid and tasteless, with exactly 4 pieces of overcooked chicken.... what the????? Not only do they cram you in for multiple sittings, but they no longer serve decent fare!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tien Dat Restaurant also viewed

 
Box Hill, Whitehorse
 

Been to Tien Dat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tien Dat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.