We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1101 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3128, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Box Hill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great wee friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst attending a course in Bayswater from 8-13 April. The room while being a bit sparse was clean and neat with adequate space to work. The water pressure was fantastic and bathroom had a great spa bath to relax in.
The service and food served in the restaurant would put some so called 5 star hots to shame! Try it out when you stay there..I promise you will be in for a treat! Best lamb cutlets I have ever tasted!!
Nice wee bar and patio attached to enjoy a beer.. Great service from the serving staff. Would recommend hotel to anyone!
Keep up the good service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    54
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
32
28
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in apartment as it was $20 dearer than a room (but its unserviced if staying a few days). What they don't say is that it is in a seperate complex 400 metres away and has no mini bar. Room is large with full kitchen and quiet. Bed was great. Bathroom was large with a "walk - in" shower - pity it had a flow resrictor and water saver head but you had plenty of room to run around and get wet!. For food, I found that the cafe across from reception was fantastic and much cheaper than the hotel offerings. Also for Dinner, de Fazios Italian 3km down the road in Blackburn was sensational. I'd stay again for sure.

Room Tip: I think any apartment would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at - we had a two room apartment that was clean spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the secure undercover car parking was excellent.

However, when I first tried to book here I used the Best Western website - it crashed twice when I tried to book and the third time it managed to change the booking date, back to the default date between my confirming the booking and final payment. I tried to sort this out with Best Western, but unfortunately it was MY FAULT, because it is impossible for them to make a mistake (if only I was as perfect as these arrogant, unfriendly and inflexible people).

Fortunately Mark and his team at the hotel were understanding and quickly got this sorted for me. Full marks to them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked in for 2 nights for a work trip, the hotel was easy to find.

The rooms inside are very tired, I dont understand the idea of building a Tudor inspired hotel out in Box HIll, where it is a drive through hotel? The road outside is very busy, and I had a terrible nights sleep from this as well as with all the noise from people coming and going through the night.

There was a young South African guy on reception who was very helpful and was able to point out local places to eat, which was appreciated as being Gluten Free things to eat on the spur of the moment can be difficult.

The internet is $20 which is one of my major grips as I believe internet should always be free in hotels/motels. There is no wireless available, internet is only available through a network cable.

A tip would be to call for prices, they were able to do $30 per night cheaper than expedia.

Room Tip: Nando's up the road is good for quick eats, ask for a room not at the front of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate your review. Thank you for your praise of our team in providing you with our usual standard of great service. The Tudor Box Hill exhibits a traditional Tudor façade; however, the only period elements within the rooms are some pieces of solid wood furniture. The rooms have been renovated to create a light and airy feel. A queen size bed with pillow top mattress is provided to ensure a restful sleep. There is also a comfortable sofa with coffee table, an executive desk, high speed internet and functional bathroom. The room and bathroom pictured is our only room with full disabled facilities and therefore is designed differently to all other rooms in the property. The Tudor provides free wireless internet in all public areas.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in a loft style room.

The aircon was left on all day to try and cool the loft down....No Luck. The ceiling fan that had dust falling off it did not help to ease the temp.
Upon check out I was going to discuss this with the staff however the receptionist did not ask how I was or how my stay was. She took my credit card and then handed me the receipt without saying anything.........not even a good bye or a thank you.
As I was walking out I turned back to ask her if she was going to ask me anything? She looked at me as if I was speaking a different language.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate your review. Your comments in relation to the accommodation and service are important to us, although they do not describe a usual stay at The Tudor. We will be using the feedback provided to implement improvements. We always aim to provide a high standard of product and service and will continue to do so in the future.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Had a room on ground floor (22) which was convenient and had no stairs to haul luggage up, so that was lucky. The room was a good size reasonably quiet in spite of being on a main road and air conditioning was a welcome relief on a very hot humid day. TV had a large variety of paid, plus all the normal free to air channels, so no complaints there.

I didn't find the reception staff particularly friendly or welcoming, a smile wouldn't have gone astray. I considered eating in the restaurant but was put off by the price - however there are plenty of options nearby. The room was surprisingly tired and grubby looking. There were large stains on the carpet and walls. In the bathroom the grouting was mouldy in parts and all the corners of the white marble vanity were deeply ingrained with black dirt. The shower is an over the bath affair and they supply a non-stick rubber mat for safety There were a number of long black hairs on the bathroom floor and the chrome sink fittings were filthy with what looked like dried toothpaste and spit marks. All very surprising for a 4 star motel.
Breakfast ordered the next morning was delivered to my room and consisted of one piece of very soggy mushy white supermarket bread (untoasted) with two poached eggs on top of it and a side order of bacon which was all barley warm. It would have been so much nicer (and wouldn't cost them much more) to have a piece of toast per egg and served separately and hot.The housekeeping staffed knocked on my door to ask if I would like my room serviced which I declined as I was checking out not long after - and the cleaner was like a ray of sunshine compared to the reception staff with a lovely bright smile and a "good morning". Maybe they should look to her for lessons in hospitality.The Best Western Tudor is kidding itself if it thinks that it compares favourably with other motels in this price bracket. It needs to lift it's game considerably

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate your review. Your comments in relation to the accommodation and breakfast have been internally reviewed as they are not indicative of the quality and service provided at The Tudor. We always aim to provide a high standard of product and service and will continue to do so in the future.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment as I was going to be there for a few nights. What the website doesn't tell you is that the apartments are over a very busy highway and down the road a bit which might not have mattered except that I had 2 suitcases 7 it was VERY HOT. However having got myself there, the apartment was spacious & well appointed. I could have hosted a large party! A comfortable bed (thankful sigh) and a pretty good shower so the basics were covered. But although it says it is a serviced apartment, it only gets serviced every 7 days so for my 4 days I had no bed making, no changes of towels etc. That's OK if you know beforehand but it wasn't clear in anything I read so was annoying. When you're working hard every day, you need those things taken care of :-(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill

Address: 1101 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3128, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Box Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Box Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary interior of Best Western The Tudor Box Hill creates a light and airy atmosphere. Our friendly staff will ensure an enjoyable and hassle free stay. It is ideally located in the heart of Melbourne’s leafy eastern suburbs. Close to Melbourne CBD via Eastern Freeway. Gateway to Yarra Valley Vineyards and Healesville Sanctuary. Stroll to public transport, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Tudor
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.