We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Collina Pizzeria

La Collina Pizzeria
1640 Burwood Highway, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia
61 3 9752 5470
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Belgrave
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

rolled up on valentines day, had to see a movie in 20 minutes, got the pizza and some corona's in time, really good pizza

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Off night?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

On a night out to see a show in Belgrave we wanted something quick and easy. I often go by the busy rule; if I don't know what's good in town, look for the busiest restaurant. This place was full inside with a constant stream of pick up orders too.
We were able to be seated out the front and still get table service and drinks, which was great. All the staff were friendly and very efficient.
We ordered a couple of pizzas and a bottle of red to wash it down. The pizza itself was pretty good, the base fairly thin and nice sauce, which made the Margerita delicious, but the HUGE letdown was the prawns on the La Collina Special were rank. Even if I get served crappy frozen prawns I can normally stomach them, but these were so bad that even picking them off the pizza left a dirty tasting pizza behind.
I am sure these guys are well capable of making a great pizza, but they really let themselves down with the produce. If fresh juicy prawns cost more, charge more for the pizza, don't serve sub standard food.
I would have liked to score more because the service was great, but unedible food can only rate poor. Sorry, not sure if I'll go back to see if it was just an off night (excuse the pun).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Simply Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

La Collina is a simply small restaurant in Belgrave offering traditional talian food. Very reasonably priced with helpful friendly staff. A simple menu giving the restaurant a chance to focus on flavour rather than a huge array of food. Great option before or after the movies at the Cameo cinema which is a stones throw away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food for the price - very Italian family feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

For the price, La Collina's is a nice little place to eat. Wait staff, owner and chefs are all very fun and energetic - giving the place a very Italian family feel.

Nice place to go with a boyfriend or friend. The restaurant itself isn't the best looking place, but it's definitely good value and a nice meal out.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monbulk, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Something for the whole family. Good pizzas, good lamb shanks, some of the other dishes average. Take pencils and textas for the kids to draw on the table cloths. Very family friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Collina Pizzeria also viewed

 
Belgrave, Yarra Valley
 

Been to La Collina Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Collina Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.