We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rainforest retreat in Belgrave ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belgrave Bed & Breakfast

Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Belgrave Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Belgrave Bed & Breakfast
11 Monbulk Road, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Belgrave B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A rainforest retreat in Belgrave ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I revisited the B&B we stayed in last year and were equally happy with our unit this time. Unfortunately the weather was very wet, which made my visit to the nearby Puffing Billy a new experience, but pleasurable nonetheless. The bed in the unit was very comfortable and (thankfully) the gas-fired potbelly heater was more than adequate to keep the cold at bay. The breakfast is a cook-it-yourself job, which suited us. The hamper of brekky materials was generous and all the equipment needed to cook it was in good working order. We ate at the India Gate restaurant in the main street, which was excellent and the price very reasonable. If you want a rainforest retreat in Melbourne's Dandenong Ranges, then we thoroughly recommend Belgrave B&B.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here April 5th. Loved this place. Perfect for our trip to Puffing Billy, as it is only about a 2 min walk to station. Dianne was a helpful, friendly host, who arranged the puffing billy tickets for us.
From things like excellent breakfast provisions included, to the finer details, like Dianne leaving out a birthday candle, ballerina cake decoration and little cupcakes as she knew it was our daughters 4th b'day. Great attention to detail and care from hosts make all the difference !
Lovely clean suite, great spa, comfy bed and they even have a Nespresso machine !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you are making a day (or night) of going on Puffing Billy or exploring Belgrave, then this spot is perfect. Within easy walking distance of everything, this B&B is a Bungalow with a verandah with two seperate suites inside. I was able to book both rooms for my party of four people. The insides are clean and thoughtfully furnished (hair dryers and complimentary chocolates for example) with a generous supply of food left in the fridge for snacks and breakfast. We enjoyed the bacon, eggs and mushrooms immensely! I really appreciated Dianne calling me the night before arrival to give me directions and key-codes to get in the rooms. This made check-in very easy. My friends loved the canopy beds and the antique-style furniture. Thanks Dianne, we are all looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The accommodation was very neat and mostly clean (the fan in the bathroom was covered in dust). The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. We were given supplies for a cooked or continental breakfast and this was included in the price and all items were good quality. The kitchenette was great however the frying pan was not great quality and everything kept sticking. There was a Nespresso coffee machine if we wanted to use it. The heating was great and the little chairs in the window were a great touch. It was nice to sit by the heater and look out the window. Bathroom was great with a double shower and a separate spa bath and the hairdryer was a handy addition. Location is within a minutes walking distance to the town however it is very close to the main roundabout which means if you are a light sleeper you might be woken by traffic noise. The one big downfall for me was that there are lights outside that are supposed to light the path however they are large coach lights that just light up everything. They come on when it goes dark and when we turned the inside light off ready for bed the coach light shone straight through the blinds. It was as light all through the night as it would have been at dawn. I like a room to be a little bit dark so I can sleep. Light sleepers may find this to be an issue. We had no one staying in the other rooms whilst we were there which meant it was very quiet however I suspect the wooden floors in both downstairs rooms and the upstairs one could be quite noisy. Parking was ample and the grounds and decor are lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belgrave Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Bed & Breakfast

Address: 11 Monbulk Road, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Belgrave
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Belgrave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belgrave Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgrave Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.