We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a really fun day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puffing Billy Railway

Puffing Billy Railway
1 Old Monbulk Road, Belgrave, Victoria 3160, Australia
(03)9757 0700
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$128*
and up
Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and...
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Belgrave
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Puffing Billy is a genuine relic of our more leisurely days. An historic steam train still running regularly in the mountain district it was built to serve at the turn of the century. The Railway is the major survivor of four experimental lines used to develop rural areas in the early 1900s. Puffing Billy is now a major tourist attraction, its operation depending on hundreds of dedicated volunteers.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a really fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went there with our two teenagers and my mom who is in her 60s. We all love it. We had an enjoyable time admiring the scenery and taking photographs with the train and the friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    184
    37
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Hill, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great family day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the highlights of our family holiday.
Genuine old steam train ride up into the mountains to Lakeside and return. Found the trip very scenic with very helpful volunteer staff. Well done to them and keep up the good work.
Only stayed in Lakeside for and hour, recommend you take at least 2 hours before return trip. Give yourself time to stretch the legs and look around, more to do there than we had time for.
We had a wheelchair bound family member with us and nothing was too much trouble, most helpful and polite. Thank you.

Recommend a full day and use the café or take a picnic lunch if you desire. (Check for dry weather)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Who Dun It?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great Venue for group outings.

We recently attended a murder mystery aboard the puffing billy in the Dandenongs. A great night was had by all. On boarding the train we were served with drinks and entrees and while the train was travelling to its destination actors roamed the carriages setting the scene for the murder mystery.

On arrival at the Packing Sheds dinner and deserts were served while the actors played out the drama in front of us. An entertaining show which encouraged audience participation, with an excellent meal and a good choice of wines. At the conclusion of the evening we all boarded the train for the return trip and enjoyed a port and coffee before reaching our destination.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Train Ride in the Dandenongs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The train ride on Puffing Billy is a great experience for the entire family. We arrived with a metro train from Melbourne Flinders Station. Puffing Billy starts directly at the station.
The original equipment, especially the old steam locomotives, is great. Come a bit earlier and you can take some extra shots on how the locomotive is prepared etc. My wife could even enter the cabin on the platform after we asked the very nice staff. But check that the steam locomotives and not the diesels are running. Don't forget some glasses, because of the steam.
You are sitting on wooden seats and you can put your legs out of the windows! That's great fun for the kids and also the adults and is absolutely non-dangerous - Puffing Billy runs slow.
The train track is very interesting and has also a very nice higher wooden bridge. During our train ride we waited in one station for the train in the other direction and I could take additional nice pictures.
At the final stop of Puffing Billy you can do walks, picnics etc. I would not recommend to visit the model train exhibition. I did not like it at all, although I am myself a model train enthusiast as well, but that's a matter of taste I reckon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took our 2 Granddaughters on the Puffing Billy up to Emerald Lake and return. Being only 4 and 6 they weren't sure about the train but soon got into the swing of things. Watching the smoke rise above the trees, waving to everyone they could along the way. The volunteer staff are wonderful, even down to taking a photo of us all in the carriage before we left at Belgrave. We all had a great day out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puffing Billy Railway also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Puffing Billy Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puffing Billy Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.