We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuts not to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Kerferd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added George Kerferd Hotel to your Saves list
George Kerferd Hotel
Oak Avenue | Mayday Hills Village, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia (Formerly La Trobe at Beechworth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nuts not to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed one night and was suitably impressed to return a few days later for a two night stay.
George Kerferd lived up to our collective expectations.
Our second stay was a walk-in during the holiday season. We were lucky to obtain two rooms and I know subsequent walk-ins were turned away.
The small rooms are a little small but perfectly fine. The larger rooms are quite good and comfortable. The hotel is modern, clean, situated in great gardens covering numerous acres, and above all, the staff are great. The owner is frequently seen about the hotel, even serving guests. Sound proofing between rooms seems to be a bit of an issue if your neighbours are noisy - ours were not.
Breakfast, I think, is only offered on the weekends and is an extra charge. While the price for breakfast may seem a little steep, we can heartily recommend it. You'll drive a long way to find a better breakfast.
Have dinner there too: the young chef is superb and cooks up a culinary storm every night, using many locally sourced ingredients. The wine list is carefully selected by the owner and will be sure to attract the eye of those with a wine interest.
The hotel is a pleasant 12 minute walk down the hill to Beechworth main street.
"Nuts not to stay" is a reference to, if you didn't already know, a former function of the buildings in the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room (at more cost)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Generally ok but rooms are small and have little sound proofing. We were disturbed the first night by noisy guests in the next room. Grounds are very nice and staff were helpful. The hotel is located up a hill about 1.5 ks to 2ks from the town centre, so I would suggest you need to have your own transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We were met at reception by a pleasant young guy and some dude in overalls. Sadly they told us that the kitchen was closed, but a bowl of muesli could be rustled up for breakfast. The room was fine as long as you didn't breath in. The pool was out of action, which was no great issue as there was only one other guest at the hotel. Not the high point of our Victorian trip ......is hotel the right classification for this place?

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stopped off in Beechworth to break up the trip from Sydney to Melbourne and was really able to revive and recharge, staying in the Linaker building, part of the George estate. The building was once home to the old loony bin and so looks a bit weird as you enter but the room was great, really comfortable, with everything I needed, a 10 minute stroll from the centre of Beechworth. The welcome I got was great and everyone I met working at the George was really friendly and willing to take the time to shoot the breeze. The restaurant was also excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Easy access to Beechworth, lovely grounds and a small but enjoyable pool. Really friendly staff and refurbished rooms. We were given an instant upgrade upon arrival to a lovely room with possibly the best shower in the southern hemisphere!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautifully situated and fantastic service. The man at the front desk was absolutely lovely and very helpful. For the price we paid I could not be happier with the experience. I look forward to returning and staying in either the King or Spa rooms. I should also mention that the gardens and surrounding buildings are stunning.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are perfectly nice, however for not much extra it might be worth upgrading to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked the hotel from TripAdvisor reviews, and found that the hotel was lovely, clean, modern and lovely staff. The grounds are wonderful just right for a quiet get away and only a short walk to town. Thanks heaps we will come again

Room Tip: Our room was a double which was small but we only stayed for a night, if you are staying longer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Kerferd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Kerferd Hotel

Address: Oak Avenue | Mayday Hills Village, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia (Formerly La Trobe at Beechworth)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heritage gardens of Mayday Hills we are a stone’s throw from the Beechworth center.This is the perfect place to stay and relax in contemporary accommodation. Enjoy our pool, sauna, tennis court and fine dining in our restaurant Step back in time to the glamour of the art deco period. Built in the 1930’s, Linaker offers a variety of accommodation of options, suitable for singles, families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your George Kerferd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Kerferd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.