We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food, worse treatment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tanswell's Commercial Hotel

Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
50 Ford Street, Beechworth, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 28 Restaurants in Beechworth
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Telephone + 61 3 5728 1480
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad food, worse treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Starving for lunch in Beechworth at 2pm, our group of four headed to the Commercial expecting reliable pub food and a relaxed atmosphere. We waited more than half an hour for drinks which never arrived. When our food finally arrived after over 40 minutes, one dish was burnt and another was inedible. We'd had enough at this point and just wanted to leave quietly, without too much fuss. The chef/owner was unbelievably aggressive when we asked for our money back, taking our concerns extremely personally, pointing in my face and refusing to acknowledge any problems with the food.
He kept walking away from us as though hoping we would leave without our money, and when we asked other staff if they could find out where he was, they washed their hands of the situation and walked away too. We turned away over half a dozen other potential patrons during this unpleasant scene, when all we wanted to do was leave and finally get some lunch.

We eventually got our money back, but I will never, ever be going there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    59
    19
    10
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service was terrible and chef was extremely rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Went there for lunch and the place was empty. We waited 40 mins for a Parma, lasagna and marinated olives. We also ordered and paid for drinks that never came out. When we received the food there was a hair in the olives and the Parma was burnt and we still had no drinks. When we requested our money back the chef was rude and argued with us and then just walked off. There was no apology for the wait, lack of drinks or food quality. Would NEVER go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had lunch waited nearly 1hour and the food was cold and of very poor quality wish I had never gone there I will never again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service was awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had dinner for 4 at the hotel and the meal was fine, but the service was extremely slow - we waited 40 mins, and there was no apology at all - just a comment to indicate that it was quite normal to wait for that long. We've been there twice now - never again though.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Duck in a Pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Another great meal in Tanswells and excellent value. Roast duck with (confit I think) The best Waldorf salad I have had in my life.. Fabulous and the price is excellent. We have trouble going anywhere else!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanswell's Commercial Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Tanswell's Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanswell's Commercial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.