We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechworth Ghost Tours

Beechworth Ghost Tours
Mayday Hills, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
0447 432 816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Activities in Beechworth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a ghost tour conducted at Mayday Hills Lunatic Asylum, Beechworth.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent an evening in January 2013 on the 9.30pm to 11.30pm night tour with my husband and teen daughter.The two hours went really quickly. Make sure you take a camera and get lots of photos as you never know what will come up on them. Some of our photos have interesting things on them and I had some interesting experiences.
The tour guide was great with lots of interesting stories to hear.Lanterns are provided for people to carry.
The were lots of noisy wildlife in the trees while we there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Boring would be an understatement...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We did not have high expectations for this tour, but I am disappointed to say that even our very low expectations were not met.

Our tour started with a bunch of screaming teenagers at every dark corner. Whoopie!

The tour consists primarily of cheap scares, dramatic theatrics and accounts of the thrilling things that happened to past-tour attendees (which most likely did not exist).

Overall, the tour was not worthwhile and there are better ways to spend a night in Beechworth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“History lesson with the added bonus of ghosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

we really liked the history of the asylum and its patients that the guide shared with us. the building and grounds are very beautiful and are also well worth having a look around during the day. the guide had many gruesome and interesting tales to tell, it really is a fascinating part of Australia's history. We saw a beautiful blue ghost orb float across the music hall, I'm glad my partner saw it too as he didn't believe in ghosts. After reviewing our photos i noticed other orbs that we hadn't seen at the time of taking the photos. Take your camera!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Ghost Tour that has a sad past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I really enjoyed the tour our Tour guide was a lovely lady in an old Maitron Costume, I kept following her and sqeauling for her to PLEASE not jump out and scare me!

It was a lot of fun, very informative, as usual with these tour's it has a very sad, barbarick history up until it's closure.

Also beware the Possums they scare you too!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A unique and fun way to hear and feel history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great tour taking in the asylum and some of the buildings. the tour is in the evening so it is darkish but that just adds to the experience and you find yourself imagining yourself in the inmates position. overall fantastic tour, we had Bronwyn as our guide, and great value for money. congratulations to beechworth ghost tours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beechworth Ghost Tours also viewed

 

Been to Beechworth Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechworth Ghost Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.