We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely serene comfortable place away from the noise of Oktoberfest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast

Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
24 Dingle Road, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely serene comfortable place away from the noise of Oktoberfest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here this weekend and were pleased with it. We'd read awful reports on it on tripadvisor but it was the only accommodation available as beechworth was busy due to Oktoberfest. We were pleasantly pleased with what we got. The bed was so comfy, the electric blankets were a god send! The coffee facilities were great and the brekkie was adequate. We slept so well as it was lovely and quiet and really liked the fact that the cottage had its own front door. All in all a lovely nights stay and would recommend it to others. Shame we can't afford to buy it!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kurrajong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Three days in historic Beechworth ... where to stay? Beechworth House looked perfact. In lots of ways, it was. About 5 minutes drive from the centre of town (I was careful how much I drank at dinner the first night!).

Lovely cottage behind the main house. Walk from the car to the cottage seems fine ... until you try to do it after dark (and beware the loose floorboards outside the cottage)! Bed, heating, electric blankets ... all facilities good (TV maybe a bit small for what we might expect these days). VERY comfortable and picturesque accommodation. No tissues (although a box appeared on the second day). Continental breakfast provided. GREAT coffee. Packet cereal. Terrible bread/crackers (would a toaster be THAT too much to ask?). First morning ... fresh strawberries cut up in a bowl with grapes. Second morning ... packaged stewed fruit ... uugggh! When we stay a second night, don't we matter any more?

Great accommodation spoiled by some small but significant things.

Room Tip: The property is for sale, so the owners are on the way out. Maybe they don't really care at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

King Spa Room - Dust, cobwebs and pubic hairs in the spa bath, all topped off with a fire alarm going off in our room at midnight for no reason. Not a word of apology from the owner, just an off the cuff comment that ' it happens sometimes'. A total waste of $200 plus for a room with a TV the size of a laptop and a king size bed with a mattress join down the middle making it uncomfortable. There wasn't even an armchair to sit on - just a couple of hard backed dining chairs jammed into a tiny alcove. The photos are terrific - but the reality is a shabby rundown establishment with weed riddled gardens and a for sale sign out the front. The rooms are tiny modern buildings out the back - accessed by an unlit grassy path with no protection from the elements.

Room Tip: Beware of 'self rated' premises. Always check with reliable travel resources for current con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchs Forest NSW Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The facilities at this property are excellent but it could hardly be called a Bed & Breakfast. We were attracted to the property because of the supposed excellent breakfast and the hot toast which apparently was to die for. The in-room breakfast consisted of a couple of Sanitarium cereal boxes and stewed long-life fruit. The hot toast never eventuated until we asked for it on the second morning and it was not worth the request. Yoghurt, which was on the menu, also was only supplied on the second morning but was out of date.
The owners perhaps have been there too long. We were greeted in the car park on arrival and were ignored until asking for the toast on the second morning when we were told to leave the key in the door on departure. Hardly the friendly B & B hosts one gets used to.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a clean and comfortable bed and breakfast, but if you want to be close to the historic buildings on the main street, this is further than walking distance from the main sights. Also, the B&B is at the back of the owner's home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 24 Dingle Road, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechworth House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.