We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Armour Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Armour Motor Inn to your Saves list
Armour Motor Inn
1 Camp Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our group of 11 arrived en masse in the late afternoon after a long bike ride; the owners moved their cars from the carport to house our bikes safely and had already turned on the heaters in our rooms to ensure a cosy welcome—fantastic service. Nothing was too much trouble, with extra in-room biscuits provided for the hungry crew, messages taken and good recommendations for nearby pubs and restaurants given. The location is fabulous, central and not too noisy, and the motor inn and rooms had the air of an '80s ski chalet, with exposed brick walls, slate stairs and great retro pink shower tiles. Rooms are small but not stifling—ours had a balcony—and were spotless and terrific value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the noise of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
30
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant owners , helpful and advice on local restaurants was spot on for us - room comfortable and only a few doors from the main street - shops , hotels and restaurants - enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location is superb - within relaxed strolling distance of all the historic sights, restaurants, pubs shops & supermarket. Well maintained & "hidden" off-street parking at my room door was a bonus. Room was tastefully & well presented & very comfortable; more than adequately "equipped" (toiletries; ironing board; heater; airconditioner; complimentary beverage stocks - not UDL's!!) and very clean. Warren went out of his way to make allowances in accommodating my aged mother (e.g. no steps) & was most knowlegeable (& accurate / up-to-date) in advising me on nearby sights & attractions. Altogether - a highly recommendable establishment especially considering the very reasonable cost. The experience was so good that we stayed another night!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the carpark are quiet although well illuminated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohuna, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Despite arriving and not being in the booking book they remembered my emails and put us on a room. Rooms are cosy but well presented. Beds a but hard for my liking but that's just personal preference. There was a bit of road noise on the front rooms but not unbearable. Arrived back late on the first night and couldn't park out the back which was annoying so had to park on the street near the pub which was worrying. Thank fully car ok the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Clean. Tidy. Staff nice. Bit close to road so a but of noise at night. Rooms are small but great if you're out all day and just need a place to sleep and shower. Parking can be limited but that's also dependent on how other guests park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Central location on the main street of Beechworth means you can park the car and walk to shops, cafes, restaurants and take a hike on the trails further around the area as well. Some noise from the street for rooms at the front.
The owners were very helpful with information about the area.
Our rate included breakfast supplies which we prepared ourselves which was handy. Wifi included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want less noise though the street facing rooms upstairs have a nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

You could ask for a much better location. Right next to the Hotel Nicholas (a GREAT place for an affordable, delicious meal) and right on one of Beechworth's main streets. We were here for the Easter festival, and were right in the middle of the action.
Walk out into the carpark, and cute little stone steps take you down to grassy parklands, and a lovely walk along the creek.
Things must have changed since some of the other reviews, as we were not charged for wifi access, and told it was included in our room price.
Our hosts were more than accommodating, and our rooms perfectly neat and clean.
The only thing that stops it getting 5/5 - two people felt the pillows were inadequate, and there were no spares in the cupboard. Also, while the wifi was fast and free, it expired every 5 hours, meaning multiple trips down to reception for a new code.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armour Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armour Motor Inn

Address: 1 Camp Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Armour Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armour Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.