We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freeman on Ford B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beechworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freeman on Ford B&B
Save
You added Freeman on Ford B&B to your Saves list
97 Ford Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AUD25 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 15 Beechworth B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Thank you for the most wonderful stay at your beautiful place last Thursday! Your hospitality was beyond compare, what a wonderful way to be spoilt when you need a break. Your place is an absolute treasure and you both work so hard to strive for excellence. The rooms we stayed in were as good as anything around the World. It was an absolute treat to experience such a wonderful time with you both. Thank you so very much Heidi and Jim.
Barb S.
20 February 2012

Room Tip: The two first floor rooms - were an absolute dream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
207
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We went to Beechworth to rest and sleep, and we stumbled across 'Freeman on Ford' by chance. What a beautiful little gem in the heart of town. With it's suburb decor and luxurious rooms (that were quiet enough to get a great nights rest) we were then more impressed each day we stayed by the staff, food and pool. I would recommend this to anyone who loves to feel like they really have been pampered.
Claire and Jeremy

Room Tip: South rooms for a good 8 hours sleep :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay in Beechworth. We are very, very fussy and Freeman on Ford Exceeded our expectations and we will be back.
From the first phone call to check out, the service, the restoration and facilities were simply first class.

Thank You Heidi & Jim.

We will be back and try the new rooms overlooking the pool.

George & Dina

Room Tip: The 2 new rooms overlooking the pool would be the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Freeman on Ford is the perfect place to stay as hosts Heidi and Jim (without being intrusive in any way) work very hard to ensure you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay and that you feel comfortable and welcome to share in their beautiful piece of paradise. The rooms and grounds are amazing, you can decide between a quiet place to read a book while overlooking their exquisite garden, have a swim or just relax in your tastfully decorated and well appointed room. For foodies: Heidi and Jim serve a wonderful afternoon tea and breakfast and you will have the added benefit of being across the road from one of the best restaurants we have eaten in for a very long time, taking into account those in Sydney and Melbourne, "Provenance". Freeman on Ford and Provenance, the perfect short break.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the property are the least expensive but they have a sense of history, are wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

So beautifully restored and presented. Full credit to both Heidi & Jim, who made our stay at Freeman on Ford so memorable. From the moment we arrived, there was an amazing sense of warmth and hospitality capturing the essence of a country weekend away in beautiful Beechworth. The attention to detail was staggering.... such beautiful ambience, from the furniture to the sheets & towels.. All breathtaking! The breakfasts were also so sumptuous & pleasing! A wonderful start to the day. We fully recommend this establishment, as truly 5 Star International standard accomodation, with total devotion to the comfort and care of the guest. Thankyou Freeman on Ford!
Marguerite & David Wallace

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Authentically restored to turn of the century charm, this residence is simply stunning in its detail. The very friendly hostess will cater to your every need. We stayed upstairs in one of the beautifully restored period rooms, which is both comfortable and elegantly appointed. If we were going to be in our room for longer, we would have upgraded to one of the deluxe suites. We were taken on a tour of one of the deluxe suites and I was simply blown away by its luxuriousness and opulence, the ensuite bathroom is bigger than a bedroom and I have never seen anything like it, all marble and tastefully outfitted. The Beechworth town itself is also a charmer and my partner and I look forward very much to revisitting this little heaven on earth. Nice combination of the old and the new, such as historic buildings, yet also fine wining and dining. Everyone had said you must visit the Beechworth bakery and it did not disappoint! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are spacious and lovely, more authentically from a bygone era (with all the mod cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We loved staying at Freeman on Ford over 19 and 20 January. We have stayed at motels and hotels in Beechworth several times in the past, but this was a new experience, enhanced by the fact that Freeman's is right in the centre of everything - but very quiet. It gave us a completely new outlook on the town. We thought the choice of antique furniture was inspired, fitting in so well with the ambience of the architecture. A large breakfast catering for all dietary needs was served in the beautiful dining room, where you can read the paper or talk with other guests if you wish. And then there was afternoon tea, with superb brownie cake - the best ever - served with artistry in the well appointed lounge overlooking a lovely landscaped back garden and pool area. Our room (with three adults in occupation) was spacious, very well appointed, and comfortable, The hosts, Heidi and Jim, were thoughtfully attentive, full of useful information, but never intrusive. Altogether the hospitality could not be bettered - and we could not wish for better accommodation.

Room Tip: Any room would fulfil expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freeman on Ford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman on Ford B&B

Address: 97 Ford Street, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Beechworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the top B&B in Australia in TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2013 awards, Freeman on Ford is Beechworth's only 5 Star accredited B&B - and it has held this accreditation since 2005. Freeman on Ford has also won national HMAA awards for Excellence in 2010 and 2011 and is Eco Friendly Accredited. Here you can choose from two options in luxury accommodation - Victorian era rooms upstairs or 1930's style rooms overlooking the private swimming pool downstairs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freeman on Ford B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.