We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to choose from.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Repubblica

La Repubblica
51 The Esplanade, Balmoral, Victoria 2080, Australia
02 99601344
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Balmoral
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not much to choose from.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Not many choices. Three main courses. Two were fish, one a burger. We went for lunch. Don't trust the menu on the website as it's different to what was actually provided. The coffee was great though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This Balmoral restaurant outshines most along the Balmoral strip for its absolutely wonderful, and friendly service.
I have dined here on many occasions and enjoyed a wonderful selection of well cooked fresh meals from the very generous serve of calamari, wagu beef burgers and seasonal fish. What this restaurant does well is offer a great staple menu but seasonal daily specials like the chargrilled fig salad yesterday.
And did I mention the view!!! The service is professional with the owner Anthony checking that we were enjoying our dining experience - yes we were! and our waiter had a fabulous sense of humour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“(Restaurant is in NSW not VIC) Fabulous place for lunch. Great service & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Having lived in this area for several years we have eaten at most restaurants along Balmoral Beach however on a recent visit we discovered a new restaurant had moved in (well not so new but we hadn't been there for a couple years!)
I highly recommend La Repubblica for lunch (or dinner) but we had lunch and to sit looking out over the beach during the daylight hours was just the beginning of the ambience of our lunch. The staff are excellent and if you could be forgiven for thinking you were sitting in a cafe in Europe as they all seemed to be from Italy and were extremely friendly and gave excellent service. The food was also very good and to top it off there was a fabulous guitarist sitting in the window sill playing music. Not to loud to interfere with conversation but enough to realise he was there and everything he played was excellent....
Very rustic seating and settings but suits the restaurant and makes it a very relaxed dining experience. Windows open out on to the street and you look directly across to the beach and Rotunda area. There is also seating outside on the footpath and around the side street.
They also have a take away section around the side so you could buy yourself lunch and go sit on the lawn near the beach as an option
Positives: Restaurant itself is excellent so make it a date
Negatives: Parking can be an issue (Particularly on weekends on a nice day) however if you don't live near there make it a full day outing and catch a ferry then the bus from the Zoo ferry terminal and get off at the last bus stop. Walk towards bathers pavillion (It is the big old building on the esplanade - just ask anyone and they will know it) and the restaurant is on your LHS almost opposite the Rotunda.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, beautiful breakfast, fantastic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to go and have breakfast and coffee with some friends on a beautiful day. The coffee was very nice and roasted on premises. My baked eggs was delicious and my friends both enjoyed their pancakes and poached eggs on toast. The service was slow to start but at no stage did we feel this was a negative as we were happily lapping up the sun. Being a weekday there were few staff but the staff on made a great day even better. I'm sure it's packed out on a weekend but I'd wait just to have that coffee again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay away.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had breakfast on Sunday morning with the family, great location and views, but that's it.
I had egg and bacon...some of the bacon was burnt and some was hardly cooked. My wife had corn fritters, there were pockets of flour in the fritters and we told the waitress, she went off...and started seating other patrons, she did not come back. We told another waiter and he took the meal back to the kitchen, my wife changed the order to bacon and eggs, the original plate came back minus the fritters and just one egg. When the bill came we were still charged for the fritters, my wife did not want a confrontation, but had had enough. We told the manager who didn't really care and told us how many great reviews they get. My wife asked not to be charged for her meal which I thought was fair. He would not budge and therefore is receiving this review.
How hard is it to cook bacon and eggs properly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Repubblica also viewed

 
Balmoral, Grampians
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 

Been to La Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Repubblica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.