We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avoca Motel

Avoca Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avoca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avoca Motel
Save
You added Avoca Motel to your Saves list
159 High Street, Avoca, Victoria 3467, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avoca
Upwey, Vic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our hosts John and Suzanne were like family, welcoming us with warm and friendly handshakes. We were on the return journey from Mildura to Melbourne on motorbikes. This motel can definitely be added to the motorbike friendly list as John offered to park the bikes in the shed if we wished. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable, including reverse cycle A/C, large flatscreen TV with DVD player. Outside the rooms is a large, relaxing open garden area where our K9 host "digger" entertained us with his personality.We arrived late in town and wanted a bottle of wine, and were delighted to learn that John and Suzanne also hold a wine liquor licence and promote a range of local wines at cellar door prices. Should you wish to cook for yourself, there is an IGA and butcher in town within walking distance and the motel features a fully set up barbecue area - if not the Avoca Hotel was highly recommended by John and Suzanne and they did not disappoint! The meals and service were fantastic and very reasonably priced. For breakfast John and Suzanne's second recommendation was also a fantastic one! The Olive and Lavender Store. We had the most delicious breakfast, including "city quality" coffee and hot chocolate whilst relaxing in the lavender and olive garden - definitely check this place out, even if you are just travelling through. Overall the Avoca Motel is our choice for an overnight or longer stay in Avoca.

Room Tip: Just ask Suzanne and John! We were shown both options and allowed to decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We wanted to spend the Easter away from the big city, hopefully doing a bit of winetasting and experiencing some Aussie country life. Avoca was the place we chose, a lovely, historic country town, surrounded by wineries and farmland. When we investigated accommodation options, we came across the Avoca Motel. We were looking for somewhere friendly and quiet, but still in walking distance from pub food, local stores etc., and somewhere where we could feel comfortable with the champagne we were taking to celebrate recent happy events. Reviews seemed great so we booked a Deluxe Spa room.

I can assure you, everything was just as we had hoped! Nay... more than we had hoped! John and Suzanne are truly wonderful hosts, who I know would have been very upset, had we been uncomfortable in any way, at any time! We arrived somewhat late on Good Friday evening, and I wouldn't have blamed John if he'd been a little grumpy at our late arrival on such a day!, but intead he was sincerely happy to meet us! And everything just got better from there!

Lengthy chats in the sunny courtyard between guests and hosts were common all during the weekend!, with conversations ranging from the best spa cleaning products and really helpful local advice, to how good the food is at the pub and which wineries we visited! Many Aussie 'motels' (by definition, I guess) are a bit formulaic and can be lacking in character. I would never put the Avoca Motel in that category! With John and Suzanne at the helm, and the picturesque courtyard and general setting, the experience you'll have will be something to write home about!

Some specific notes: The rooms were exceptionally clean, nicely decorated and professionally finished. The walls between the rooms were solid brick, and so we heard nothing from the neighbours! The bed, ours was a king, was on the comfortable side of firm, and to any European folk reading this, it was one whole bed rather than two joined together! Not all rooms have a spa, but ours did! Suzanne supplied us with some champagne flutes, and I can tell you, a bottle of Champagne in the spa with your loved one is a great way to end the day!

We usually treat accommodation as somewhere to be when the activities of the day are done. But on the Sunday we bought a newspaper and sat, as several other guests in the courtyard were doing, enjoying a relaxing drink and a good read. Something I never expected to do at a motel! It was good.

Thanks John and Suzanne! You'll be seeing us again, and our friends once we've spread the word!

Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The rooms are spacious and if you compare the prices with motels in the surrounding district it’s worth your while to drive a little bit further and go to the Avoca motel.
Coffee and tea in your room, BBQ to be used outside. The spa is thoroughly cleaned every day. splitlevel aico in every room.
The motel is situated in the heart of the Pyrenees. The place to make a stopover or spend a couple of days to roam the neighbourhood with its vineyards and beautifull nature.
We will definitely go back there, for us its a “must”.
Albert & Han

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

hey nice place we had a basic room and took our port-a-cot- the rooms are a good size and the shower was great! The hosts were lovely and told us of nice walks we could do with our son.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,388 reviews 1,388 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 378 cities Reviews in 378 cities
3,147 helpful votes 3,147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

The proprietors were most hospitable.

After an enjoyable two night paid stay had almost concluded, the male owner offered us another, free, night whichg we gratefuly accepted.

Of course do not come here with that expectation, but we made the time to chat to the owners and maybe they liked us as people. All fittings and fixtures worked and the motel itself was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avoca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Motel

Address: 159 High Street, Avoca, Victoria 3467, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Avoca
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Avoca Motel Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avoca Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.