We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Garden Inn to your Saves list
The Garden Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1400 Bee Rock Road, Monterey, TN 38574   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Monterey B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
1 review
“EXCEPTIONAL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

The Garden Inn is breathtaking! I was absolutely speechless the moment I pulled into the driveway. The house is gorgeous! Mike and his staff are an absolute pleasure! My biggest concern is cleanliness and it was spotless!! I am an extremely picky eater, while my husband isn't - yet they managed to please us both with an absolutely delicious breakfast! I can't think of anything I would want them to change because it was P-E-R-F-E-C-T! If you are in the area, I strongly recommend staying at The Garden Inn! I could go on and on but see for yourself!

  • Liked — The room was immaculate and Mike and his staff were an absolute pleasure!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

I found The Garden Inn on the internet. We were amazed at how beautiful the Inn was. We had planned a trip to see a play at the Cumberland Playhouse and wanted to make a weekend out of the trip. We enjoyed our stay immensley. The room was immaculate, the view fantastic and the hosts were so sweet and accommodating.The breakfast was ok, it consisted of fresh fruit , apple cinnamon quiche, cheesy hashbrowns and two sausage links. They serve dessert in the evening which was delicious. Coffee , tea, and a refrigerator of soft drinks , water and snacks are available anytime. My only regret is we didn't get to stay 2 nites. The property is picture perfect. When we left there we went to the Mennoite community of Muddy Pond. It has little shops and is really quaint. We will be back to The Garden Inn hopefully in the fall. It is a great get away that is not that far away.The dates we stayed were July 25,2008

  • Liked — THE CLEANLINESS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

The Garden Inn is one of the most modern B&B's I've stayed in. It was extremely clean, not a speck of dust anywhere. Lovely beds with super pillows. Fresh, downy towels and plenty of them. The breakfast was excellent. Sometimes, B&B's seem to shirk on the breakfast when that is supposed to be one of the delights of the B&B experience. The breakfast servers were extremely attentive to our every need, maybe TOO attentive! We could hardly take a bite for them asking 10 times if we wanted more coffee.
The room was on the small side. The views are nice. I think that perhaps the room rates are stretching it a little for what you get. I usually don't pay more than $100 for a room in a B&B and have had lovely rooms.
The inn is very restful and quiet. It would be nice to have more to do here. There is a large room downstairs with a big screen TV but uncomfortable little wicker chairs to sit in. Not very inviting. No board games. A ping-pong table or pool table would fit there nicely and give more options for guests.
All in all, very nice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, food.
  • Disliked — Room size, price.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I stayed here for two nights June 27 and loved it. I am extremely particular and this property is immaculate. The view from the back deck is incredible and the food is wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and exceptionally clean. The service and hospitality is wonderful.
I am so happy to have found this place so I never have to stay in a motel in Crossville or Cookville again as I need to visit this area a couple of times every summer. If you want caviar and pure linen sheets, keep driving, I'm sure you will find that eventually for about $500.00 a night somewhere. I'll be at the Garden Inn where the price is right!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no awning over the back deck
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodlettsville,TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

Our visit to The Garden Inn in Monterey, Tennessee was one we truely enjoyed. The Inn in beautifully located overlooking a mountain ridge of trees and lovely rock formations. The view is visible from many rooms. The Inn was very clean and this the standard they maintain daily. The breakfast was above the normal B&B standards. The chef really knows how to combine good ingredients to make a meal worth remembering. We really enjoyed the Apple-Cinnamon Quiche for breakfast. The Cherry-Blackberry Pie served for dessert, was a big hit with us, but we were offered a choice of 3 desserts each evening, all sounded wonderful.
The Inn is beautiful and well decorated, all rooms having lovely cherry or walnut furniture.
The staff was very nice and pleasant, making for a wonderful chance to chat and find out more about the area.
Can't say enough about a possitive experience for us on this trip. We will come back to take a break from the stress of daily life. The Inn Keeper Mike and Mirtha were a delight to get to know.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Inn

Address: 1400 Bee Rock Road, Monterey, TN 38574
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of a Cumberland Plateau bluff, enjoy a romantic stay with a fantastic view of the valley below. Relax on 15 magnificent mountain acres with hiking trails & picturesque foliage. Our guests tell us they wish their home was as clean as our Inn. We specialize in corporate, church & family retreats and Traditional & Destination Style Weddings. Let us host your exclusive use event! Just five minutes off I-40 BUT a whole world away... At The Garden Inn, breakfast IS the second half of our name! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your The Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.