We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Accommodation - Excellent Facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonelea Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stonelea Country Estate to your Saves list
Stonelea Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18 Connelly's Creek Road | Acheron, Alexandra, Victoria VIC 3714, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alexandra
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing Accommodation - Excellent Facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Stonelea for 2 nights using a voucher we were gifted. We upgraded to a "luxury" cottage. The word luxury is very misleading here.... This has to be the MOST dated accommodation I have ever stayed in. No TV, original carpet which must have been at least 30 years old, the room had that 'old' smell to it. The cupboard where our mini bar fridge was smelt of mould... and the bathroom had rust/mould too. Real let down in this regard. Would definately say its 2 start accommodation. HOWEVER, having said that, the grounds are excellent! Well kept and simply beautiful! We had a huge variety of activities available to us, which meant we didn't have to leave the grounds at all. There are tennis and badmington courts, a gold course, indoor and outdoor pool (which idn't look very appealing), beauty centre, fishing, bicyles... and I think I covered everything. The food was outstanding! Breakfast was good which good variety! And dinner - all i will say is the best slow cooked lamb I have ever had, and AMAZING deserts!
What is disappoing is that they have allot of facilities that due to lack of maintenance are unuseable. The swimming pools, steam room (which had mushrooms growing in it) and sauna room and not maintained. Very sad as these would be great selling points.
Overall i rate this place 3 stars, as although there were a number of let downs, we had a great time playing tennis, badmington, golf, dinning and enjoying wine.
And the staff were lovely! :)

Would visit again when they spend some money on upgrading the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    54
    30
    15
    18
See reviews for
14
75
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is swish-looking country club type accommodation. And certainly the grounds were lovely - rose garden, tennis court and an 18 hole golf course. Lots of kangaroos in the grounds in the morning.
However, as an overnight stop while we were touring Victoria, the accommodation itself was very average. The room was very big, with high ceilings and was nicely decorated and clean. There was a utility alcove with tea making facilities and an adequate bathroom.
On the minus side, the blind cord was short, making it difficult to drop the blind to cover the bottom of the window. The toilet seat was loose and slid around. The vinyl floor in the bathroom was sticky. There was no TV. The connecting door to the adjoining room wasn’t locked on our side and the room key didn’t fit it. The very small fridge had a freezer section that was completely iced up and unusable.
It gave the impression that not enough is being spent on maintenance. For couples driving the two hours from Melbourne for an 'escape' weekend (which I assume is its target target clientele), it could prove to be a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There is no doubt the setting of Stonelea Country Estate is magical. Deciduous trees line gravel paths. Formal rose gardens close to the main building sweep down to a series of lakes and an eighteen-holes golf course that is framed by mature native trees. In the late afternoons/ early evenings, herds of kangaroos come in to graze, and excite attention as they hop from one area to another. Bird-life includes tiny wrens that dart cheekily close to one's feet, ducks and waterfowl, as well as cockatoos and several kinds of parrots.

The dining and sitting rooms are also lovely. They have been kept elegant and attractive. Food in the restaurant was really good. We found the prices for dinner to be reasonable for the quality. Breakfast was excellent, too.

Less impressive are the rooms. Stonelea promotes itself as 'luxury accommodation'. I guess the image of 'luxury' varies from person to person. I'd call the accommodation comfortable, rather than 'luxury'.

We were impressed by staff. I'd booked a cottage and had requested twin beds. On finding the cottage made up with just one queen-size bed, we returned to reception. I explained that my partner's snoring was an issue and that I liked to be a bit away from the noise. The manager kindly allocated us a family cottage with two bedrooms, a living area and kitchen. We were pleased to find this cottage was in a similar position to the first one: close to one of the lakes. Lovely.

Perhaps because Stonelea is on the market, the family cottage had not been maintained beyond a fairly basic standard. It needed to be repainted and re-carpeted. But everything was clean and we were happy to have the extra space - particularly the separate bedrooms. We also made use of the kitchen the second evening.

I'd recommend Stonelea as a rural retreat, and a means to commune with nature while relaxing. We did not use the pools (too cold for the outdoor one) or amenities other than the restaurant, but golfers told us they enjoyed the course. Just don't expect 'luxury'. Expect beautiful surroundings and comfort.

Also expect to be in the Yarra Ranges, close to Alexandra - not in the actual the Yarra Valley.

TIP 1: The climate in this part of Victoria can be really cold the mornings and evenings. Take layers of clothes to cope with changes in temperature during the day.

TIP 2 : Wineries in the Yarra Valley are not very close and involve a drive back through the Black Spur, which is beautiful but slow. Visit the Yarra Valley on your way, and consider driving north to the King Valley to try their wines.

Room Tip: The cottages face the lakes. Each has a small dack and pleasant outlook. Veranda rooms in the main b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were given a deals.com.au package and were really looking forward to our stay here. Unfortunately, it was not what we expected. Our 'luxury' cottage was tired and grubby, the cleaning was just not up to scratch. The bed was comfortable though, and the lamps are screwed to the tables -odd. The cottage had broken Venetian blinds so that the sun shone through in the morning and you never really felt completely private. The handmade chocs were fabulous, as was breakfast, but the free bottle of wine had a strange looking coating on the inside of the bottle - we didn't drink it. The view over the dam was lovely. The grounds have lovely gardens, but both pools look particularly dirty with broken tiles around them - please clean the pool!! I was really looking forward to a swim with bubs but one look at them and there was no way we were going in there. The sunlounges were broken and I overheard others using the golf course saying that the greens were unfinished and muddy. Oh well, we'll watch some tv in our room we thought - except there isn't one. There is a communal room however if you'd like to watch tv with everyone else.
The property is over 20 years old and the owner has placed a letter in the rooms stating the property is for sale. Clearly that means not a cent is being spent on the upkeep of the place, it needs some serious TLC. Some people may be happy with what was mentioned above, but you shouldn't market your property as something that it isn't.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just come home from a very enjoyable stay in a lakeside cottage at stonelea . The grounds and country estate were lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. This is truly a great value location ($99 for one night). My husband woke early and went fly fishing on the lake as I watched him from the comfort of our cosy bed. The grounds and gardens (rose, vineyard, pottager, herb, and native) and activities on offer (indoor and outdoor pools, spa, sauna, tennis court, lake fishing, golf, croquet, volleyball, badminton, billiards, reading room, day spa, etc) are superb. The estate is at least 10 years old, and has a lived in, unpretentious, country charm, with clean and adequately equipped rooms. For those desperate for a TV, there is a television lounge in the homestead. Fabulous coffee in the restaurant bar. The pricey dinner menu meant we ate in Alexandra instead, this was a mistake and proved to be false economy as we spent $80 on drinks and a very ordinary dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and my wife stayed there and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. Excellent view and a tranquil atmosphere. Food was great but a bit pricey. Definitely will go back. A microwave oven and a TV would have made it a five star experience. Definitely would recommend it. Give it a go.

Room Tip: choose cottage 26 or 27 facing the little lake. privacy and excellent view guaranteed. DON'T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warburton, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Quiet location just out of Alexander in Acheron, Rooms a little tired but clean, staff could not have been more helpfull, restaurant to die for check out the pork belly with caramal sauce.Would rate meal and waite staff as up there with the best, prices hi but worth it. If your into golf you'll be happy, tennis courts ,outdoor swimming pool. Day spa has a heated pool with a range of treatments available , had a top quility massage, pool nice and warm, small lake to walk around, Overall a really great place to stay and chillout. They also have convention centre. Acre of garden and land to walk around kangaroos grazing late evenning and early morning. will be back.

Room Tip: No TV in room what a blessing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonelea Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonelea Country Estate

Address: 18 Connelly's Creek Road | Acheron, Alexandra, Victoria VIC 3714, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Alexandra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alexandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonelea Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonelea Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonelea Country Estate Alexandra, Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonelea Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.