We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of a la grecque

a la grecque
60 Great Ocean Road, Aireys Inlet, Victoria 3231, Australia
(03) 5289 6922
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 restaurants in Aireys Inlet
Price range: $33 - $33
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“A very good brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The breakfast menu is terrific. In addition to the usual choices, there are a number of different dishes worth trying. The ricotta hotcakes with berry compote and lemon curd was a great success, as was my Greek baked beans with pork and leek loukaniko and feta. Clean, attractive toilets are appreciated when travelling. The coffee is very good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    12
    31
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The pancakes I had were not cooked properly. Nice location but I would not go back as there are plenty of other places to choose from.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the Great ocean Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Every time hubby and I visit the Coast we look forward to eating here and it never disappoints. It's not cheap.Dinner is much better value than lunch, where you pay a lot for a little. For example a succulent plate of lightly floured, pan fried calamari usually comes with something like roasted peppers and a taramasalata dip at dinner. At lunch you get the squid but nothing else.

Service is always friendly and knowledgeable. The young girls who work there know the menu well and always greet you with a smile. There are so many delicious things to choose from so Hubby and I sometimes order a few plates to share. Some of our favourites are:

- The calamari as mentioned above. Yum!
- Salt cod fritters with a homemade aioli. Four perfect oval shaped fritters lightly fried and melt in your mouth. The cod flavour is well balanced and not too overpowering as they can often be.
- It's an indulgence but we never go past the saganaki served with a quince paste.
- The chicken cooked slowly in a tagine is to die for.
- There's usually two incredibly fresh fish dishes cooked simly with something like a homemade aioli and a cucumber salad.
- If you're a pork lover, try the pork belly. It's divine.

Unfortunately dessert recently disappointed. I ordered a rum and raisin icecream that was sandwiched between to florentine biscuits. It was so rich I couldn't eat it. The ice cream was in fact plain chocolate with a few raisins (supposedly soaked in rum) scattered around the plate. The florentines were really just big thick discs of dark chocolate that were impossible to crack. The dish lacked acidity to cut through the chocolate. From now on I'll stick to the cream brulee.

A La Grecque is owned by husband and wife team Pam and Kosta Talimanidis. Pam is the chef and she lets her ingredients shine. You won't find anything too fussy on the menu. Unfortunately the most annoying thing about this place is Costa. He's the host but honestly he hangs about like a shag on a rock. He's loud, showy and a bit too familiar. We duck our heads when he comes our way and he gets the message that we're there for the food, not him. Some people enjoy his theatrics, and that's fine, but for us the real star is Pam and her wonderful Greek inspired food. That's what keeps us coming back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I visited a la grecque for lunch on a very hot day after a visit to the beach. We sat outside on the terrace in the shade of the trees which was a beautiful and relaxing setting. The service was excellent, not too fussy but there when you needed it. And the food, was really good, well cooked and presented and with wonderful flavours.

In terms of value it was quite expensive but I don't resent paying if the quality is there. My wife and I both left very happy and we will definitely return. I would probably only go occasionally due to the price, but for a special treat every now and then I would say that a la grecque is up there with the best in the stretch from Torquay through to Aireys.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I have eaten several times at a la grecque and always enjoyed it. The dishes are high quality, tasty and well arranged. The taste is clean and original. The wines are varied and leave a range of choices. The service is attentive and tries to accommodate the guest. For example on occasion they made a special breakfast dish for my small daughter. The restaurant is on the pricey side and people looking for a cheap dish should not go there. It is better to go there for a special occasion and enjoy it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a la grecque also viewed

Aireys Inlet, Victoria
Aireys Inlet, Victoria
 
Aireys Inlet, Victoria
Aireys Inlet, Victoria
 

Been to a la grecque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage a la grecque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.