We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch Australian Wilderness just off the Great Ocean Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cimarron

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aireys Inlet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cimarron
Save
You added Cimarron to your Saves list
105 Gilbert St., Aireys Inlet, Victoria 3231 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aireys Inlet B&B and Inns
Costa Mesa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A touch Australian Wilderness just off the Great Ocean Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Quiet and Peacefull and a great place to relax after driving the Great Ocean Road.
Beautiful Gardens and birds abound. We had breakfast on the patio with a beautiful
view of the the Southern Ocean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous! This was our first stop on our Great Ocean Road drive and it was perfect. A beautiful cosy cottage tucked away in the bush with a lovely view, wished we had stayed for longer! Wade, one of the owners, was delightful and put on a lovely breakfast in the fantastic living room/ library accompanied with a great conversation! Thank you so much for letting us stay in you lovely home! Comfy bed, beautiful house, great host - a must visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Gorgeous, fabulous, what a view, what a house, lots of wildlife - especially parrots and cockatoos, even the moon cooperated and came out full reflected white in the sea, bliss, bliss, bliss. Thanks to Wade and Paul for sharing this sacred place, truly paradise.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in Eagle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My partner and I much enjoyed our stay at Cimarron. We were stationed in the Cloister room which was quite lovely and had a private entrance and exit.
The early morning views from the front porch were quite breathtaking. Also very delightful were the pretty birds whom owners Wade and Paul regularly feed. One ate bird seed right out of my hand!
Cimarron may not be the most luxurious accomodation I've ever stayed, but was certainly amongst the most tranquil and homey. The continental breakfast was more than adequate with lovely artesian breads.
I shall return if I go to Australia again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrockvilleON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We wanted mainly a place to relax, enjoy the scenery, and left mainly to do "our thing". This was the ideal location place to do it, we found. The rooms were large and comfortable, and had commanding views of the ocean. The owners were helpful and knowledgeable when we asked for recommendations (for restaurants, directions, sight-seeing venues, etc.), but were unobtrusive otherwise. I found nothing to complain about and much to praise. I particularly liked the free wireless internet access and the great book collection guests had access to. Breakfasts were excellent and ample--with the charming added touch of being served on funky Fiesta-ware. Altogether, staying at Cimarron was an enjoyable and memorable experience which I hope to repeat someday.

Room Tip: The two upper rooms had exceptional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nine_bear, Owner at Cimarron, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
We enjoyed having you and hope to see you back at Cimarron some day. Thanks for mentioning the Fiesta Ware, one of my secret pleasures. Maybe I will put a picture of it on the website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were married at Cimarron in January of 2010 and it was quite honestly the best time we have ever had. We booked out the entire house for a weekend and Wade & Paul went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay memorable. And that wasn't easy when we were taking over the place with marquees, tables, a band and 120 guests.

The location was perfect, of course. We were married with the ocean in the background, and our guests were blown away by the view. Particularly those who had come overseas - they remember it as one of the most fabulous locations they've ever been to.

But the most amazing thing was that even though we'd turned the place upside down for the weekend, Wade & Paul still somehow found the time to make the rooms as immaculate and romantic as we could have hoped for. Even though the property was transformed outside, our room was a beautiful sanctuary from the festivities. It was clean, quiet, and with a view that frankly has to be seen to be believed.

We stayed in Eagle, our favourite room (we've stayed here many times), and the day after our wedding watched the sun come up over the ocean before going down to a (late) breakfast magnificently prepared by Paul.

There's no B&B like Cimarron anywhere else. A beautiful house with gorgeous rooms, kind and welcoming hosts, and a location that's as uniquely and beautifully Australian as any you will find.

Room Tip: Ask for Eagle and set the alarm for sunrise. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nine_bear, Owner at Cimarron, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thanks for the fulsome praise. It is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit. Wade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

What can i say other than don't spend your money here........ Thought we would treat ourselves to somewhere nice and what we got was

- Suspect white stains on the donna cover and couch.
- Dirty/Used tissues in a pot plant outside the door.
- Fly screens that dont cover the windows properly so you get bugs and mosquitos in the room.
- No access to the videos or library (as advertised) as the owners now live in the area that use to be used as the bed and breakfast where all those items are..
- Oil and greese all over the kitchen area including tea cups and tea bags.
- No artisian breads, instead we were given homemade musli and cumpets.

Basically this is a few things and what they advertise is not what you get. all the reviews on there website are from years ago are seem to be well out of date..... If you are after a dirty place then this is the place for you......

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uaspaul, Manager at Cimarron, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I'm sorry to learn that this guest was unhappy with her stay. In our 14 years of operation we always strive to provide an enjoyable and relaxing experience. We have professional cleaners who maintain high standards of cleanliness.We were present at our B&B during the stay, and all of the issues she raises would have been corrected immediately had we been made aware of them. We have many repeat guests who come back year after year.

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cimarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron

Address: 105 Gilbert St., Aireys Inlet, Victoria 3231 , Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Aireys Inlet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aireys Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cimarron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.