We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathryn's on Queen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woollahra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kathryn's on Queen
Save
You added Kathryn's on Queen to your Saves list
20 Queen St. | Sydney Inner East, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Woollahra B&B and Inns
newport ri
1 review
“The perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

While we only stayed at Kathryn's one night, it was the most memorable of all. Kathryn herself is a wonderful woman and offers her guests the most delicious breakfast. Her suggestions of what to do in Woollhahra and elsewhere in Sydney were perfect. A must-do if you're visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
50
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

What can I add that hasn't already been said? Kathryn is indeed the discreet and perfect host, and her breakfasts are the icing on the cake. The rooms are stylish and comfortable, especially the large one (although you may have to share a bathroom if you take this). The other attic room in French rococo style, where we stayed, has a miniscule ensuite but it is perfectly serviceable. The b&b is in one of Sydney's poshest areas with many stylish shops and galleries, and several good restaurants. Street parking could be a problem but we didn't find it so.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We have stayed with Kathryn three times and cannot recommend highly enough her lovely boutique B and B. Kathryns on Queen is an elegant but very comfortable home (especially the beds ! ) in an excellent location. giving easy access to the city centre and harbour, Oxford Street, the Sydney Cricket Ground etc. The breakfasts Kathryn serves are legendary and Kathryn herself is a charming and welcoming hostess.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Lewis and Pam from UK write:- Small is beautiful but this property grows on you. We spent two weeks in this delightful boutique B & B. Kathryn is a perfect hostess, anticipating her guests every need and providing copious breakfasts every day. Sadly it was not warm enough for us to have breakfast in the charming patio area but the ambience of the dining room more than made up for this slight disappointment. The three bedrooms are very comfortable and every day there were new fluffy towels and fresh bedlinen.
Yes, we have done the five star hotels in many countries but the B & B culture where you are a name instead of just a key number conquers all.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

This was my first trip to Sydney with my girlfriend who used to live in the area for a number of years. Intending to stay in Woollahra at Kathryn's B&B gave us the opportunity of a private place and truly feel at home. Host Kathryn provided all to make our stay hugely enjoyable: the breakfasts are indeed amazing (freshly poached fruit, varying warm delicious treats, amazing fruit, rhubarb and yoghurt), the rooms are spacious, their Victorian inspired interior is delightful. We had the chance to stay in several of her rooms. I suggest the attic for a romantic stay and the grand room facing the street with its lovely balcony for summer nights. Kathryn's second premises are being sold these days, we also found those in immaculate order. All together an excellent place beyond comparison in this particular area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Kathryn's on Queen is exquisite boutique accommodation in the character-filled leafy Woolahara. We spent an idyllic few days exploring the fantastic shops, restaurants and bars all within walking distance. Our host Kathryn is warm and gracious, nothing is too much trouble. Kathryn whipped up the most amazing breakfasts (you wouldn't find better anywhere) all served in her gorgeous alfresco courtyard. The beautifully decorated terrace house was a delight to stay in - extremely quiet considering Queen Street is a very busy road. We met a lovely couple to converse with over breakfast and even though we were staying at Kathryn's at the same time the house was extremely quiet and there was no noise transfer. Kathryn's has that Wow factor and we highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

We stayed at Kathryn's on Queen in June of 2005, for one night, and I would not hesitate to recommend it for people looking for a B & B in Sydney.

The host Kathryn is lovely, so lovely to deal with in organising the stay etc. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful, she made us feel so comfortable and relaxed and my partner ate so much he was very satisfied!

She was also very good at getting breakfast table conversation started, and we ended up having a great laugh with all the other guests for most of breakfast.

The rooms are very nicely fitted out, and the share bathroom was immaculate.

We are from Sydney, and this B & B is in Wollahra, not far off Oxford St. Not right in the heart of the city, but I don't think you'll find any B&B's in the heart of the CBD. It would only take you about 30-40 minutes to walk to the city, or else the buses on Oxford St take you straight into the city, you can usually get one every 10 minutes or so, and it would only take you a short ride in. Taxi's also go down Oxford St frequently due to all the pubs and bars along Oxford St.

When we arrived at the B & B after a late dinner we dropped our things off and went for a stroll down Oxford St past all the pubs of Paddington finally deciding on going in one for a drink. It really is only a 5 minute walk to Oxford St with all the shops, bars, cafes and restaurants this area is famous for at your disposal. Centennial Park is also very close to here. The room we had wasn't noisy though, as it was at the back of the terrace.

I'd def recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathryn's on Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathryn's on Queen

Address: 20 Queen St. | Sydney Inner East, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woollahra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathryn's On Queen is an exclusive traditional bed and breakfast. This boutique, luxury accommodation has just two rooms rooms available and is located in a heritage listed 1800s Sydney terrace house. The guest areas are spacious, exquisitely furnished with many antique and period pieces. Guest bedrooms are upstairs - One with private balcony, fireplace and private bathroom close by, the other is at the top of the house with its own en-suite bathroom and roof top views over the Sydney cityscape. Be pampered by your friendly host with delicious breakfasts served either in the lounge or the Tuscan style outdoor terrace. Luxury linen, fabulous toiletries and many extra touches. Step out the door to explore the stylish art galleries, fashion and designer shops along Queen Street Woollahra and around the corner in Oxford Street Paddington. Visit iconic Paddy's market, Centennial Park and dine in highly recommended restaurants and cafes - all with in walking distance. Walk mere metres to the bus stop and you will arrive in the Sydney City or Bondi Beach in 10mins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathryn`s On Queen Hotel Woollahra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathryn's on Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.