We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE PARKING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hughenden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Queen St, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woollahra
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE PARKING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I think the general tenor of all the reviews on tripadvisor pretty much hit the mark. We booked two rooms for just one night. I had last stayed at this hotel in 2003 and it was good then and still is in terms of friendly and good service, adequate and interesting guest rooms, great public areas (you could spend hours "reading the walls") and very satisfactory breakfast and dining service, all at a good price.
Our friends from Brisbane arrived very early due to unexpected transport changes, and were delighted with the efforts made to cater to their needs until a room was ready late morning.
We were upgraded from a Victoria room to a family suite on the first floor. The room was on the upstairs south western corner of the hotel (18) and although very satisfactory was a bit noisier than we are used to, due to proximity to a busy intersection. Next time we will ask for something a bit more remote from the traffic. Our friends were downstairs towards the rear of the hotel and slept in total silence.
The parking (or lack of) was something that caused concern. Immediately after making the reservation, I did receive a call from the hotel telling me all of their limited spots were booked but I was on "a waiting list". On the morning prior to our arrival I enquired and was told I was "number 1 on the waiting list". On arrival there was no parking and initially I had trouble finding a "2 Hour" spot within cooee of the hotel. At checkin one of the most helpfull staff advised she was going off duty in a couple of hours, was parked in an unrestricted spot (very rare in this area) and offered to hold it for me when she left. This meant some inconvenience waiting for her spot to become available, but we filled in the time over lunch in the restaurant.
I couldn't fault the caring and helpfull attitudes of the staff but just be warned that it may be an issue if you intend staying at this hotel with a car. I did find it strange and somewhat surprising to observe from our room, which overlooked the carpark, that 4 or more spots remained vacant all that night. Obviously the "wait list" system has some deficiencies.
However, I'll be back, access to the SCG is excellent. I'll just make sure I book really well in advance and ensure I have guaranteed parking before I confirm.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear GKS Wanderlust,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on trip advisor. It is with pleasure I enjoy hearing positive comments about our friendly staff, good service and interesting rooms and public areas. We take great pride in trying to showcase the different facets of the hotel, and to share the interesting history with everyone.

I am sorry to hear that you found your room noisy. Room 18 is one our most popular rooms and this is the first time I have received a noise complaint from this room. When you return to us, please make a request for a quiet room at the back. The property is quite large, and some of the rooms located in the upper back corner near our sun deck would be ideal. Try asking for room 25 - it is a Deluxe Room and again a favourite amongst our guests.

I can understand your frustration with the parking too and I will continue to train my staff with managing the situation. As you are aware, finding parking in Queen Street is difficult, and as we have only 10 carspaces for 45 rooms - we fill quite quickly. It was only about a year ago the parking restrictions were placed in Queen St - a continuing challenge for us. We have 24 hour reception at the hotel, so if you ever notice an empty space in the middle of the night, please come and see us. We may have had a last minute cancellation.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hughenden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
23
92
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

we booked into the Hughenden, as it was close to a wedding that we were lucky enough to attend. we were impressed by the location (very close to Oxford Street & Centennial Park) & the ease of being able to park on the property.
hearing piano music as we checked in, and wandering through the rambling corridors to find our room which was right at the back - we loved the authentic atmosphere.
we were once again pleasantly surprised by our room, which was compact but had everything we needed including a small indoor / outdoor area where we could sit outside and read / watch the world go by, over the car park: yes - but we still had a good view of the street.
great that they accept pets including kangaroos it seems, I'd love to return and bring my canine companion one day.
we liked that this hotel has a character of it's own, and isn't a generic hotel.
breakfast was tasty and sufficient, all the staff were pleasant and cheerful.
staying at the Hughenden was part of a wonderful Sydney experience for us.

Room Tip: we stayed in #36 which would might be good for someone with a pet as it had an enclosed tiled outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Vivienne

Thank for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is one of our best selling points. Being close to Centennial Park is great for guests with pets too. Please do come back with your canine companion. Room 16 is similar to room 36, perhaps a little larger and I imagine you would love this too.

We have a few new pianists to join the team here - Bronte is brilliant! New to the team and drawing great crowds in the restaurant. We try very hard to offer guests a bed and breakfast type style, a real manor house atmosphere where you can relax easily.

Thanks again for all your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon. And if you do bring your pet, please bring a photo too, we would love to put it on our pet photo board and on our website too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have been regulars at the Hughenden for well over 10 years and until the past year or so have absolutely loved the place: great atmosphere; friendly, long-term staff; resident pianist/greeter/"Jeeves"; cooked-to-order breakfasts; on-site complementary parking. So what if the rooms were small and a little tired. Like your favourite old aunt, you could forgive her shortcomings.
But that was then!
With the introduction of a number of short-lived managers, the place has been "improved".
Now we have: business-like staff; basic self-serve breakfast with scrambled eggs sitting in a bain marie (weekends only, no such 'treat' if you're there on weekdays); no napkins available at breakfast time, "sorry,we ran out"; the offer to BUY 2nd hand books that have been left behind by previous guests; $20/night parking. And to add insult to injury, the prices have gone up more than 25%!
We will keep visiting the Hughenden because we still love our time there, it's just that it has lost it's way and forgotten what made it a GREAT place in the past.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Greg,

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at The Hughenen recently. I appreciate you taking the time to inform me of some areas that need improvement and looking into.

I find it very strange that breakfast however was not satisfactory during the week for you. Whilst we offer a buffet breakfast, we change the items daily to include ham and cheese crossiants, frittata, tomato, baked beans, bacon, eggs etc. We try to rotate during the week and then on weekends, we have a full a-la-carte menu available. We also have juices, pastries, muesli, fruit and yoghurt everyday of the week

I also would like to apologise for any confusion regarding the sale of books. The second hand books in our Reading Room are for guests to take and swap and enjoy. The books for sale are autographed by books, by all the authors and illustrators that stay here with all proceeds being donated to Room to Read - a charity bring literature to developing countries and children all over the world.

We hope that you will give us another change. We have spent quite some time over the past 6 months renovating rooms and bathrooms. Once guest yesterday commented that the bathrooms were the best she had ever seen. Unfortunately, as the rooms improve and more services become available, the price has increased a little. We feel however that a room with private ensuite and breakfast for less than $200 a night in this area, is very good value for money. Parking whilst $20 a night, is some of the cheapest you will find. On Oxford St, parking can be up to $4 an hour, $7an hour at Bondi Junction and sometimes even $45 a night in the city. Please keep an eye out for our specials that include parking.

We would be happy to welcome you back to experience the charm of The Hughenden and remind you that it still is a great place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed over the week-end and found the hotel a bit ragged, but clean. Room was nothing special, but everything worked fine. The quirkiness of the hotel is appealing, with old posters, library, lots of daily newspapers, lounge and very helpful staff. Breakfast was very healthy and kept us going all day. We had a meal one evening - small menu, but great food and well priced too. Ordered a plate of hot chips, which was enormous. All other tables then followed our lead. 100m from Centennial Park, heaps of buses at the corner to the City / Bondi & lots of local shops in Paddington / Woollahra. All-in-all a decent place to stay,

Room Tip: I think there are cheaper, small COSY rooms available, if you are travelling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for your time in posting this review. You have given us a very fair review and we appeciate it. We understand that the rooms needs some work, and have spent the last 6 months doing a lot of renovations. We have a 12 month renovation plan in place, and things are going very well. If you are town again, please ask for a renovated room - I believe you will be pleasantly surprised!

Thanks also for the lovely comments regarding the restaurant. We try to make sure guests do not leave hungry and that meals are value for money. It is a cafe style of restaurant, with live piano music and some very friendly staff. We are becoming increasingly popular - especially as a pet friendly cafe and so close to Centennial Park as you mentioned.

Thanks for the tip to other travellers for the cosy room. These are small double rooms with a private ensuite, - yes, quite small, but with a sale you can get a room for about $120 with breakfast - top value for this area!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

An accommodation shortage in the CBD saw me try The Hughenden after a 13 year absence. She is looking tired and tatty, with rooms lacking any character. The traffic noise kept us awake at might and we suspected the bed had either fleas or bugs. Try the bed and breakfast next dor instead.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My mother and I had organised a first ever weekend away together in Sydney. We booked about 3 months prior to arrival, thinking that the Hughenden looked quite lovely online.

On arrival we were so disappointed to discover our room around the side of the hotel with the front door of our room facing onto the the hotel carpark.....needless to say we were shattered. We asked if we could change rooms, however the hotel was booked out. We tried countless other hotels in the area to no avail. We were stuck.

Woollhara is a beautiful part of Sydney, but this hotel we will NEVER re-visit. Tiled floor with a rug, crack in basin, tiny, tiny bathroom, very substandard closet space. Regional motel rooms in the middle of the countryside have more to offer than this.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEQUESTA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

hotel that has been "remodeled" from many incarnations into a boutique hotel. We booked a Victorian Queen and it was sooo small we couldn't stay in it. We were traveling from the States and had 4 pieces of luggage and there wasn't even a closet in the room. They were very gracious and found us another room for our next night and upon return for our final 3 days they put us across the street in another building they have purchased.

It was much larger with a kitchen and seperate sitting room, but right on the corner of Oxford and Queen so was very noisey and being on the first floor we couldn't open the blinds because the bedroom was by the sidewalk.

This is a victorian residence with stables made into a hotel. The lovely sitting room off the main lobby serves a wonderful and delicious breakfast included each morning. It is very conveniently located to Queen Street/Oxford shopping with nice little pubs around.

When booking, the best thing to do is contact them to discuss your space needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hughenden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Queen St, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woollahra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hughenden Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hughenden (circa 1870) is a gracious historic hotel at the gateway to the antiques and art galleries of Woollahra, in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs. Associated with Australia's first philosopher, The Hughenden experienced many changes from grand residence to Masonic Hall to Ladies College. In 1993, The Hughenden commenced a programme of extensive restoration, redeveloping it into a beautiful boutique hotel.Today, The Hughenden, known as Sydney's premier Art and Literary Hotel, features marble fireplaces, the original grand staircase, Victorian dining rooms, art exhibitions and literary events.Visitors are welcome to experience the warmth, charm and personal service offered by The Hughenden. With 36 Heritage Rooms, 8 self contained Terrace Suites, Pet Friendly Accommodation, Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Meeting, Event and Wedding facilities, The Hughenden has unique offerings for all to experience and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hughenden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hughenden Boutique
Hughenden Boutique Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hughenden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.