We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much noise for eating or sleeping...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel
1 Military Road, Watsons Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2030, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watsons Bay
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Too much noise for eating or sleeping...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The volume at this beer garden is deafening. Makes it difficult to enjoy the spectacular location when eating in the beer garden....you can hear it from 1 km away as we found when we took a walk to avoid the thumping beat-. It was impossible to sleep which is a pity cos the rooms were quite nice. Cosmetically the hotel looks a lot better but the overall experience is not very relaxing and the food has a long way to go. All style over substance....and turn it down!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    22
    17
    20
See reviews for
27
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Came here on a sunday afternoon to have a late lunch with friends

Parking is few and far between so either catch a cab or circle around for a while until you are lucky enough to find a park. There is a small carpark across the road also, but it is usually very full.

It was horrendous weather so i was not lucky enough to enjoy the spectacular view. Imagine it would be very pretty on a nice day.

We sat inside downstairs due to the weather and enjoyed our late lunch. We shared several meals as a group which was very substantial. You need to order at the bar and then they give you a buzzer. Remember to pick up the food yourself. The prawns were great.

Overall, a little noisy inside but im sure sitting outside near the umbrellas would be lovely. It was incredibly busy on a sunday afternoon and you can see why.

lovely venue. I would come back. Hopefully next time i can actually be able to see the amazing view!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Watson Bay hotel and boutique pub, is set right on the water gorgeous location, right next to Doyle's fish restaurant. Very Hip young crowd, excellent food, young families with children, locals all mix in together. Best way to get there is Ferry or Bus as parking very difficult at weekends. Just been re furnished looks great. Prices about right for location and staff very professional. Popular for weddings. Oh a great fish and Chips

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Firstly, some observations about the location. Hotels on the harbour are both rare and expensive in Sydney. We booked because we were going to a function at Watsons Bay and did not wish to drive home. . Also, Watsons Bay pub is a busy location on the weekend, and there will usually be live music, so this could be the reason for some issues with noise. The location is lovely though, with the views across to the city really spectacular. If you are from overseas, this would be a great base for a day or two, as there are ferry's to both Manly and Circular Quay, 1 minute walk away, and the views of the harbour, the ocean (on the other side) and yachts are wonderful. The last ferry to the city is around 4pm, on a week day, and you may want to keep this in mind. Watsons Bay has fish and chips from cheap to very up-market (at Doyles), and the pub has a good food and drink option, so something for everyone. Lots of spectacular walking trails and lovely beaches within walking distance.

The large hotel room was on the second floor, downstairs was a king bed, lovely bathroom with bath and separate shower, and upstairs room for 2 more people. We had a view of the park, plenty of pillows, and shutters on the windows. We found it quiet as we were there on a week night. The reception desk is not 24 hours, and that could be an issue, also there was no bottled water in our room which was disappointing. Our air-conditioning was not working, and with no desk there was no-one to tell when we went back quite late at night.

Breakfast is basic, but you can order bacon and eggs etc. separately.

The furnishings were very modern and I enjoyed our short stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms overlook the park, 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved visiting this area, and the hotel was just right for us. Low key, friendly and relaxed. We had a room on the right hand side of the building (facing the bay) which unfortunately looked over the service area for the restaurants downstairs. This was noisy, especially with bottle disposal although the times refuse was dealt with was reasonable.
Our room was spacious and airy, reasonably well appointed.
The bed was made of 2 singles pushed together which resulted in quite a divide down the middle. A cover to reduce the feeling would be good.
Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Continental breakfast included with the room rate was excellent.
We enjoyed the breezy bay atmosphere of the bar downstairs.
We would stay again but choose a room on the other side.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

As many others have remarked, this is essentially a pub. We just turned up without a booking, asked what was available and got a good room on the first floor with a beautiful view over the bay looking straight towards the city. Wonderful, providing you were deaf. Unfortunately, as a pub, the bay side seating area has loud music pumping until at least 10pm even on a Sunday and you either need a stern constitution or ear defenders to sleep before then. That said, the bed was comfy and once the music had stopped, we could leave our balcony doors open all night to sleep with delicious fresh seaside air. Breakfast next morning was a basic continental buffet, a bit less than I'd have expected for the expensive price of the room, but tasty pastries nevertheless. All told, the experience was perfectly fine, but for the price. If they reduced this by between $50-100, I wouldn't think twice about coming again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the side or on the second floor if you're worried about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here as one of the bridesmaids of a wedding party that took place at Dunbar House (across the road). The family had booked at least 8 of the 32 rooms. For the price paid (not to mention that it was a special occasion), the service and other amenities were pretty poor, and had the bride over-stressed and in unnecessary tears on a few occasions.

Service
- Was not the service expected at a boutique hotel. Unhelpful staff, no assistance with bags, no help in solving challenges. For the price paid, it was quite unfortunate to have this experience.

Food
- continental breakfast was pretty poor, with cheap sugary ski yoghurts and pre-packed cereal boxes. A small selection of cut fruit and the bread was the highlight. Fine for a pub hotel but not adequate for a "boutique" hotel.

Loud music
- We struggled to sleep because of the music from the pub below (this should be expected due to location, so not the fault of the hotel - just something to be aware of).

The actual rooms were fine, lacking character but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 1 Military Road, Watsons Bay, Woollahra, New South Wales 2030, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra > Watsons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watsons Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With luxury suites, a wonderful beer garden and a variety of great dining options, the Watsons Bay Hotel is one of Sydney's most enticing destinationsNestled on the water’s edge combining stunning harbor views; with an upbeat and welcoming ambience.Incorporating fresh produce into the menus with a fun and contemporary list of wines, beers and cocktails. Something for everyoneYou may even like to book your next conference here, or organize a special function to celebrate a memorable occasion. So whether you stay the night, enjoy a bite or simply drop in for a drink, you're guaranteed to have a fantastic time.Located on the water's edge, it's only 12 kilometers from the city centre but a million miles from care. Simply take a picturesque ferry ride from Circular Quay or a bus can bring you straight to the door. It's also an easy taxi ride, and if you're driving, overnight guests can park on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Watsons Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.