We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Save Saved
You added Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
204 West Main Street, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Montevallo, AL
1 review
“A wonderful choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Highly recommended! Best option in the area, and an exceptional experience. The rooms are charming, and the breakfast is really wonderful. Make sure to enjoy the gardens and the walking trails in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I recently had a staff/pastors retreat at Monteagle Inn. The Staff - The Conference Room - The Food - The Facilities could not have been better. The Perfect Place for any staff retreat!
Over the years I have partnered with several other (similar) Bed & Breakfast type facilities. Monteagle Inn is the only one we have returned to for a second retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Monteagle Inn was a wonderful experience. The Inn offered comfort, CLEANLINESS!!!(way beyond clean~to pristine) and hospitality beyond expectations. The setting was beautiful, from walking in the gardens to the wonderful front porch that we enjoyed using. We relaxed ~ Okay ~ actually napped~in the hammocks (3) under a nice shade tree on the property. The breakfast was the best meal we ate while in the area~and we looked forward to what might be offered each morning. They use vegetables, fruits and herbs from their garden, and it was always delicious!
The owners and staff were friendly and ready to accommodate. It was great having Patty make us breakfast and always there with a smile. We were surprised to find Jim in the kitchen one morning to make us whatever we wanted. He didn't disappoint~YUM!
Relaxed in the living room and played games, watched TV and just enjoyed the setting. There was always treats and refreshments available to the guests.
We felt like we were the only ones in the place most of the time, but were pleasantly surprised to find other guests in the dining room each morning.
The interior is amazing. We enjoyed all the little extra touches put into our stay.
We sat on our private balcony periodically to read or just to look at the gardens and gazebo.
The Inn also offers a cottage...Will check into that when we are in the area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jump Off Room. It is smaller than most (all?) of the others, but has 2 reclining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were going to be arriving late-perhaps after 11 PM-Jim arranged for a key to be available for me-we showed up for a cozy room at a beautiful inn. Breakfast in the morning was served earlier than usual to accomodate our pressured schedule. major regret that we could not stay longer and truly enjoy the ambience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place is a dream! We recently visited Monteagle for a two night stay at the Monteagle Inn. We went especially for the French Cuisine Dinner and Wine celebration. Just an incredible meal! This is a lovely escape....the rooms, the staff, the gardens, all make for such a special stay. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Monteagle Inn was a perfect place to stay after a long day visiting Sewanee. It was so clean and so comfortable! Great glass of wine in the evening followed by an absolutely delicious breakfast in the morning. Most important of all, the staff and the owners were incredibly nice and very welcoming. As a very picky person, this was truly a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for being at our Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your mountain gourmet breakfast. It became so popular, we have open our breakfast up to the community, not just our guest. Please come by for a glass of wine any time you are in the area! Warm Regards, Lee and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway one weekend in March. I didn't expect much. I had bought a groupon awhile back and when it came up on the calendar, we packed up without remembering the details of what I'd signed us up for.

When we arrived, they asked if we would prefer our fruit, cheese and wine plate or our strawberries and champagne. Not thinking much about it, we ordered the cheese plate which they promptly brought to our room. Let me tell you...it was the best fruit and cheese I have ever had in my life. My husband and I still have fruit and cheese dates at home trying to relive that awesome spread. Sooo delicious.

The rooms are modest, but cozy. However, downstairs there are some great rooms to lounge with more space. They have a great large community room where there are TVs (my husband had to get his college basketball in) and a nice fireplace.

Also, there are always tea and coffee available. And sometimes some delicious cookies.

In the morning, the breakfast is outstanding. The staff is so kind and generous. They make it their pleasure to serve you, which feels really nice and puts your mind and spirit at ease, especially if you need a break from life's stressors.

Definitely stay here. It's worth the price. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful experience. Hopefully your travels will find you back in Monteagle again. Our guest are very important to us and we appreciate the feedback we receive. Hope to see you again soon. Lee and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Address: 204 West Main Street, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center provides the perfect escape you need. Relax and discover the peace you had nearly forgotten. Surround yourself in our luxury and hospitality. Mediterranean atmosphere, paintings & colors envelope you. Sit in a rocker on the front porch with a hot cup of specialty coffee or a glass of wine or maybe relax in one of our restful hammocks. Expansive flower, herb and vegetable gardens beckon you to wander and enjoy the kaleidoscope of colors and fragrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Inn And Retreat Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.