We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Save Saved
You added Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center
204 West Main Street, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I can't say enough great things! The Inn was beautiful, the room was perfect, the staff were all kind and there to help with anything you may need. Breakfast was delicious. We loved everything about our trip, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary with us. Thanks to guest like you we continue to be able to offer the best of services to those visiting Monteagle, TN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Inn last week when we were in the Nashville area for vacation. It's about a 90 minute drive from Nashville, and we chose Monteagle because we wanted to do some hiking in the area. We had a wonderful time! The Inn and grounds are very nice, and the staff really went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. They could not have been more accommodating. Everything about our stay was above and beyond our expectations, from the property to the breakfast. After spending the rest of the week in a sub-par hotel in Nashville, we wished we had spent more time at Monteagle! Definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Inn is very well maintained, clean, & beautifully appointed. Jim, Lee, and all of their staff were hospitable and willing to do whatever they could to enhance our visit. You will not be disappointed. Oh, the breakfast was exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Inn for one weeknight in April while on a "vacation" visiting prospective colleges. Although not every school we saw was ideal, the Monteagle Inn did not disappoint! We arrived late on a Tuesday evening, and had contacted the proprietors to let them know we were running late. They typically close up shop at 8, and so left us our key, complete instructions, and a friendly welcome (including Lindt truffles in our room!). We really had no check-in process; our reservation had been taken over the phone some time ago. We took advantage of a AAA discount that they offer. As we settled in, we found our room to be delightful. Since this is used as a retreat center, our room was not extravagantly appointed, but it had that lovely level of comfort where everything is "just right". The bathroom in our suite was large and immaculately clean, and even my teenage son noticed and commented on how soft and luxurious the sheets on our beds were. The Monteagle area seems very quiet at night, and it was easy to get a restful night's sleep. The next morning I had some work to do online, and opted to use the computer (and printer) in one of the large Gathering Spaces on the first floor. Internet service was quick, and Lee (one of the owners) was very helpful in directing me to the desk, etc. Afterwards, we were led to the breakfast area. Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated and sunny room, with an array of baked goods, and a nice fruit presentation available immediately. A made-to-order hot breakfast was also part of our fare: we had praline french toast, eggs, bacon, and home fried potatoes. Delicious, and particularly well-prepared and presented. I should also mention that the Inn's coffee was unusually good. After breakfast, we enjoyed the artwork hanging throughout the downstairs of the property, and then left for our visit to Sewanee (The University of the South). Though we were not in Monteagle long enough to take advantage of any local attractions, we found our night at the In to be a restful and rejuvenating treat as part of a rather tiring week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Such a glowing and detailed review. We appreciate so much you taking the time to do so. Next time hopefully you can visit some of the parks and hiking trails in the area! Absolutely beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a quick trip to visit my daughter at Sewanee. She was compting and we both needed a quite place to unwind. Monteagle Inn could not have been more perfect. The room was absolutely lovely and the staff was extremely helpful. I had to leave rather early the next morning for a 10 hours road trip home. They without hesitation left a wonderful breakfast for my road trip in the quest refrig. The fruit was fresh and the pastries delicious. My daughter and I will never forget our quite time together and Monteagle Inn is a big part for that.

Room Tip: All are great I'm sure. We stayed in #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to the area. The kind words are much appreciated. See you soon. Lee and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I don't really understand the glowing reviews here as we were quite disappointed when we pulled up to the Inn, which sits right off the main drag in Monteagle, across from a car wash and adjacent to a rundown convenience store and corrugated metal warehouse building which houses a tanning salon. I expected it to be set back a bit more from the road and on a much larger lot. Not a lot of curb appeal here and honestly, the place does not feel very historic.

However, the Inn-keepers were very nice and the inside of the Inn was well appointed and the breakfast quite good. We just couldn't get over what felt like a bit of a "bait and switch" from the photographs. I would feel quite trapped here if it would have been warm outside and I wanted to walk the grounds, as they are very small and right off a main road with quite a bit of traffic.

Of course, the location is not entirely Inn's fault, I would just be aware of my expectations if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonteagleInnAdvisor, Owner at Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are disappointed that you were unhappy with the inn grounds during your visit this month. It is truly surprising as our guests usually brag about our grounds which cover the entire city block and especially the enclosed garden and gazebo and patio off of the Living room and dining room. Another favorite is three hammocks on the edge of the west lawn where many play Bocce between the expansive flower and vegetable gardens.
Had you wanted to enjoy a wonderful walk, we would have recommended the Monteagle Sunday School Assembly directly across the street with its village of 175 Victorian homes and over 400 acres with numerous hiking trails. and gazebo on the bluff overlooking the valley below.
Many guests enjoy walking down Winston Avenue which is between us and historic and beautiful Morton Memorial Church next door. It is their church bells which chime during the day and make people smile.
Many of our guests enjoy hiking the many trails in the 23,000 acre South Cumberland State Park and the 22 mile Perimeter Trail on the University of the South's 13,000 acres, both within a few miles of the inn. Both feature beautiful waterfalls, bluff views and a variety of wildlife.
We invite you to come back and take the time to explore this beautiful and bountiful area. You will find that the convenience store across the side street is being remodeled and a new metal roof is being installed this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a "TOP" of the line facility. This was our first visit and was a gift from our son. It is true that the best gifts are experiences! We loved the Inn and could not think of anything they could do better. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the common areas so inviting. We enjoyed wine ( from the Inn's extensive wine cellar) and cheese by the roaring fire as the snow blanketed the ground. Just beautiful! The breakfast was to die for, with fresh fruits, homemade pastries plus a bounty of kitchen prepared comfort foods. The surrounding communities offer antiques, fine craftsman, five star dining as well as wonderful Tennessee history on every turn. We cannot wait to return to continue our exploration and enjoy the Inn when the gorgeous gardens are in bloom.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a room on the first floor. We were on the second floor whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center

Address: 204 West Main Street, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center provides the perfect escape you need. Relax and discover the peace you had nearly forgotten. Surround yourself in our luxury and hospitality. Mediterranean atmosphere, paintings & colors envelope you. Sit in a rocker on the front porch with a hot cup of specialty coffee or a glass of wine or maybe relax in one of our restful hammocks. Expansive flower, herb and vegetable gardens beckon you to wander and enjoy the kaleidoscope of colors and fragrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteagle Inn & Retreat Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Inn And Retreat Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteagle Inn & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.