We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, old-fashioned Inn with a proprietor who goes the extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgeworth Inn

The Edgeworth Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgeworth Inn to your Saves list
The Edgeworth Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Wilkins Avenue / PO Box 340, Historic Monteagle Chautauqua, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Monteagle B&B and Inns
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, old-fashioned Inn with a proprietor who goes the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I travel frequently on business and usually do not stay in B&B's but found the Edgeworth Inn while visiting Sewanee with my son. This is an old-fashioned rooming house situated in a resort community of vintage cottages about 1/4 mile from the highway exit and light-years away from the highway hotel experience. The Inn is a designated historic structure with limitations that are to be expected: The rooms are not uniform -- some have bathrooms en suite and some do not. The plumbing and HVAC are old. There is no elevator. On the other hand, the beds are ridiculously comfortable, the food is great and the proprietor goes the extra mile to accomodate her guests. As it happened, my son enrolled at Sewanee and I've returned 4 times since our initial visit. Call well in advance on college weekends.

Room Tip: Call ahead and aske for Dede.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Edgeworth Inn for my daughter's graduation from Sewanee. My oldest graduated 2 years ago and we stayed that time as well. I love the convenience, quaint atmosphere, good coffee in the morning, and my daughters love the beautiful breakfasts. As noted in the other reviews, this is an old Inn with outdated decor and old (though servicable) bathrooms. The Monteagle Assembly where the Inn is located is charming. It is expensive but lodging during Sewanee's events is hard to come by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Edgeworth 3 nights for the Sewanee Graduation of our niece. We had a delighful time- whether it was the outstanding breakfasts (Meg served farm fresh eggs-I mean that morning from her chickens), unexpectedly wonderful dinners, the friendly and accomodating service from DiDi and her staff, sitting on the porch with our relatives and new friends eating cheese and crackers with some wine, great bed, good WiFI in the room, or Allison singing "At Last" for us at dinner Saturday night-it was a memorable stay. Now other reviewers make some valid points. This is not a Ritz Carlton. It is an old B&B, and you have to evaluate it in that context. There are no room phones, flat screens, or spacious bathrooms. And if you need that then look elsewhere, But if you appreciate the occassional stay in a historic inn, sloping floors and all, in a beautiful and peaceful setting, then I suggest you pay the Edgeworth Inn a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed there during orientation for Sewanee. I thought it was really expensive for the condition of the inn. The staff was very friendly but our room was pitiful. There was a wrench under the sink to turn on the hot water because it leaked if you didn't turn it off when not in use. The entire bathroom was also very grungy. Our room looked like it had last been updated in the 1980's in a Laura Ashley style floral. The only seating besides the bed (even though it was a suite) was a small stained love seat.The pictures of this inn are very misleading. We would have stayed anywhere else if there had been an option. Looks like the owners are out of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We travel a good bit and have come to appreciate fine food, great beds, quiet sleep, and intelligent conversation with other guests. Hard to beat Edgeworth on all counts--we have stayed there more than a dozen times in the last five years. The staff from Cynthia's at Edgeworth (its restaurant) serve varied meals that are a delight, prepared and supervised by a highly trained chef whose specialty dinner events draw diners other than guests, from many miles away. One of the last Chautauquas; secure grounds offering good walks through cottaqe neighborhoods and over footbridges spanning grassy ravines, and plenty of tennis courts. Fireplace, books everywhere, iron stove heating cider in the winter--a delight in all seasons. If you book during the eight-week summer season there is a gate fee giving you access to nightly movies, lectures, classes, and other interesting events on the grounds.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter than the ground level rooms adjoining the center hall where people gather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place takes rustic and out of date to a new low level. No TV in room, not even a clock. No WIFI in our room. Could only get WIFI occasionally if stood by the kitchen. Temp control for our room was in adjoining guest room. If that room had been occupied we would have had no control over temp.Room was small/cramped as was bathroom.

Find someplace else to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Found property on internet. Web-page looks MUCH nicer than facility. Old, shabby, run down and musty. They are located within a retreat, for which we were going to be charged $16 each just to enter the gate, in addition to the room rate of $211 per night. The retreat is called "the Assembly." It may be a wonderful experience, but for travelers wishing overnight facilities for a family visit to Sewanee, it would be very nice to know of the "gate fee" when booking the room. We were informed only on arrival of the fee since "assembly is in session." Owner was actually a pleasant lady, who tried to negotiate to pay half, then all of the gate fee, but when we saw our room we decided to take our chances elsewhere. I have been promised a refund check in the mail. If you are looking for a retreat with facilities similar to a rustic church camp, then this is the place for you. Price point should come in significantly below current rates, perhaps $45 to 60 per night.
Just across street is a very nice facility called Monteagle Inn. Stay there instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
5.1 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Monteagle
Super 8 Monteagle
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgeworth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgeworth Inn

Address: 19 Wilkins Avenue / PO Box 340, Historic Monteagle Chautauqua, Monteagle, TN 37356
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgeworth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Edgeworth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgeworth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.