We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and satisfaction on Monteagle Mountain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Monteagle
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and satisfaction on Monteagle Mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After visiting Jim Olivers's Smokehouse and Lodge many times over the last 25 years I am writing my first review. Essentially this is a very fun place to visit in so many ways. First, the Lodge has very competitive room rates with excellent comfortable accommodations and the free standing cabins are especially delightful. The restaurant has an excellent menu of country style food with a fantastic all-you-can-eat buffet. In addition they have a very large gift shop with so many interesting gifts. If staying for a day or several days, they have many recreational opportunities for the entire family. On Friday and Saturday night they have a fun filled evening hosting country music performers. You cannot go wrong with this multi-faceted resort complex as a fun filled destination. I give it a superb rating.

Room Tip: Try the cabins with hot tubs and fireplaces for the most fun and pleasurable experience as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you, Thank You, Thank You . . . for your comments and your review. Come back and see us every Friday and Saturday nights for our _MusicOnTheMountain _Live _Music, featuring the best of _Nashville _SongWriters and Music Artist. Stay in one of our 21 _Getaway _Cabins featuring Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, front porches, and lots of privacy. We have been in business here since 1960, our dad was 21 years old when he started this business in a little drive in called "The Bee Hive". My sister Betsy is now responsible for keeping all our generation of _Family recipies together and true to measure; and she does a wonderful job managing all that. _SmokigManMike Bradford is our smoker man, keeping all the _Ribs, _Brisket, _SmokedChicken all up to speed and wonderfully tasty. We enjoy serving customers our food and seeing them in again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    58
    39
    25
    28
See reviews for
69
76
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I have passed through Monteagle several times, on our way to Nashville. We always wondered what else was there so we decided to play a 2-night stay and find out. We stayed in the hotel portion instead of one of the cabins. It was a large room with comfortable beds. The first night, after supper, we sat on the back deck that overlooked the pool and the cabins. It was so peaceful and relaxing. Very friendly staff, clean room, and good service. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you, Thank You, Thank You . . . for your comments and your review. We have been in business here since 1960, our dad was 21 years old when he started this business in a little drive in called "The Bee Hive". My sister Betsy is now responsible for keeping all our generation of _Family recipies together and true to measure; and she does a wonderful job managing all that. _SmokigManMike Bradford is our smoker man, keeping all the _Ribs, _Brisket, _SmokedChicken all up to speed and wonderfully tasty. We enjoy serving customers our food and seeing them in again and again. Come back and see us every Friday and Saturday nights for our _MusicOnTheMountain _Live _Music, featuring the best of _Nashville _SongWriters and Music Artist. Stay in one of our 21 _Getaway _Cabins featuring Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, front porches, and lots of privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My Kids And I Had To Stop Because We Were Too Tired. I Must Say I Am Thankful We Did. We Will Most Definitely Be Back Our Next Trip. The Young Lady At The Front Desk Was Awesome.Cynthia I Believe. She Made Me Feel At Home. She Even Offered To Help Carry My Small Children To My Room Since It Was So Late And They Were Sleeping. Very Welcoming Staff And Our Room Was Great, Cozy Beds And Very Clean. We Were Well Rested When We Left. Also The Early Staff Were Helpful And So Nice With Direction. Keep It Up Because You All Are Wonderful !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the Great comments about the staff, we will pass this on to them. Please come back and see us anytime you are passing over Monteagle Mountain. On your next visit you might want to upgrade to a _family _cabin featuring kitchen, front porches, jacuzzi tubs, and 2 bed rooms, we even have a 6 bed room cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at motel, just an average room with wood floors. Bathroom sink is not in bathroom if that does not bother you. Did not go to breakfast there so i can't help you on that.
I made reservations over the phone and the woman was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival the desk help was again the same way which was definite plus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and comments. Glad you liked the new wood floors, we are updating all the rooms with fresh new clean wood floors, and everybody loves them. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff were great. We were initially put up in a cabin but it was old and smelly so we asked to be put into a king room and it was great. There were newer cabins that were really nice, they just need to update the older cabins. The food at the wedding was delish.

Room Tip: Check out the cabin first before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing _thesmokehouse for your wedding stay, we heard alot of great comments from the wedding party about their stay here. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was quite impressed with my second stay at the Jim Oliver's Best Western. We stayed in a room on the back side, nearest the pond. The room was the cleanest hotel room I've been in for quite awhile. I loved the fact that there was "hard wood" laminate-very practical! The beds were comfy and the linens felt and smelled clean. All surfaces appeared to have been wiped down/clean and the bathroom and toilet area were also sanitized. The only drawback were the crazy birds at 4:30AM! Way to go Best Western for taking care of an older yet updated hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and comments; we appreciate your business. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had to stop late in the evening And had to take what we could get. Dirty and smelled musty and had trouble getting the door to lock. Wouldn't "choose" to stay there again. It's convenient, but could use upgrades. Staff was very nice and cooperative. Breakfast is not included, just a discount at their restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are updating our whole property and have not addressed each and every room, but working on it dilligently. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.