We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had to stop late in the evening And had to take what we could get. Dirty and smelled musty and had trouble getting the door to lock. Wouldn't "choose" to stay there again. It's convenient, but could use upgrades. Staff was very nice and cooperative. Breakfast is not included, just a discount at their restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are updating our whole property and have not addressed each and every room, but working on it dilligently. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    62
    41
    29
    36
See reviews for
77
81
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rustic log cabins are a great getaway.They are fully equipped with full kitchens, great king sized beds. large Jacuzzi, leather sofas, wireless internet ( for those who can't live without it), and stone fireplaces with a stock of wood.Most have screened porches with rockers and a small charcoal grill.If you don't want to cook there is a good southern style food restaurant which is only a call away and they deliver.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin not a room when reserving.I prefer the older cabins to the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Glad you were able to stay in one of our _Mountain Cabins. Hope to see you on your next visit to the mountain. On your next trip Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped on our way back from Talledega Race in Alabama and seen Best Western sign so we pulled off exit and was pleasanlt suprised. Very quiet and rustic. Ate at Smoke House Restaurant and the food was great. My husband and friend were greeted by the ownwer who was passing out ribs with special rub and sauce...WOW I'm not meat eater but it was fantastic. It had a trading post for shopping with discount on meals for staying at lodge and when checking out sample of homemade fudge.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Everybody _Happy _Happy _Happy! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon. On your next trip Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I work in construction and needed a quiet place to stay during the week. After spending a dreadful week at the Days Inn at the next exit, we were advised to check this place out. Boy what a difference. We stay in a cabin and its nice to have room to move and a full size kitchen!!( fast food gets old fast) The cabin is like home away from home. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. The owner is the best. The cabin we are in is quiet,clean, and very functional. Air/heat work great and quiet, water pressure is good also. The cabins are furnished and supplied with all your kitchen dishes. So glad to have found this place. Would be a great place to bring the whole family. Like I said, clean, quiet, and home away from home. Just want to say, many thanks to the entire staff!!! Mike Olden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Great, Thank you for your expression and comments. Hope you will visit us again very soon. On your next trip check out our _Monteagle _Cabins featuring jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, full kitchens, front porches and plenty of privacy. Catch our _Live _Music show every Friday and Saturday night, family friendly and No cover charge, food and beverages are served during the show. This is a special surprise for our lodging guest, especially at no charge; featuring real _Nashville _Singers and _Songwriters, legends and up & coming artist. We've been told that the Smoke House music show is way better than all the songwirter shows in Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here with our voucher for a free room. They upgraded us to a cabin with a hot tub. What a pleasant surprise. It was very clean, quaint, and quiet. We then ate dinner at the Smokehouse Restaurant. Smokin "Man Mike" gave us free samples of his bbq sauce and jams along with samples of this ribs. They were delicious, fall off the bone. His rubs are delicious. He has sauces from mild all the way to super hot and they were great. If you need a place to stay, Monteagle, Tennessee Best Western is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Smokin Man Mike sez to say Hi to ya'll!
Thank you for your great comments about our soon to be famous _Monteagle _Cabins at _TheSmokeHouse in Monteagle. We are looking foward to your return soon. Come see us again. Next time we'll give you a tour of our _Moonshine Exhibit area in the _TradingPost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fiance and I were pleased to find such a cute little property. (Not to mention very pleased to see it was owned and run by a local family. BIG plus!) After working 56 hour weeks for almost a month, we were in need of a short vacation to just relax, and the Smokehouse Lodge did just that for us when we got one of their cozy cabins for two days.

We were there to visit Lookout Mountain and Chattanooga, so the hotel was kind of a drive out (about 45 miles), but you just can't beat the view while driving the hills and mountains of Tennessee. The hotel is right off the exit on I-24, so you can get back on the road very quickly.

The cabins may look small from the outside, but be rest assured that the open floor plan really makes the lodge quite comfortable. I was surprised in how quiet the cabin was (I barely heard a large storm that hit the area our first night there). The internet was kind of spotty with strength, but we kind of expected that being out in the cabin area. Besides, we were there to relax & get away from all that kind of stuff. Though we didn't engage much with the staff, what times we did spend in the main hotel were pleasant and inviting.

The facade of main hotel may not look "modern", but the room did not lack in amenities: flat screen TV, nice little kitchen, well working A/C heater wall unit, furniture in good shape, clean linens, etc. Not to mention, the look kept up with the fact that it is a small cozy hotel up in the mountains. I wouldn't hope for any different.

The hotel also has a cute mom & pop version of Cracker Barrel right next door if you want some tasty country cooking during your stay. There is a cute little winery right across the street that is open to visitors. Also, it is also conveniently located next to a grocery and Fred's stores if you are in need of anything you might have forgotten at home or suddenly need.

If you're looking for couples or family getaway in the Chattanooga, Tennessee area, I strongly suggest this property and even emphasize to pay the extra money and get the cabin. You won't regret it! We are already making plans to come back ourselves in the future!

Room Tip: The cabins are well worth the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our _Mountain _Cabins here at _TheSmokeHouse in _Monteagle _Tennessee. We appreciate your comments and will pass them on to our staff. The _BestWestern _SmokeHouseLodge is proud to please our customers. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was fine until we were woken up at 1:30am by the people upstairs and it went on for 2-3 hours. Called the front desk to get them to stop the noise but it continued. We had to get the staff to give us another room at 3:30 in the morning. With our long driving ahead this stay was terrible. The woman at the desk didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. I had to ask them to compensate us and she said see would tell her manager. When we booked out in the morning the new staff didn't know anything about our problem but did say this would be taken care of immediately. She apologized several times.
The late night staff needs to have better training for these types of issues.

I did receive an email from the owner asking if there was anything he could do but this was from my Best Western feedback letter.

Room Tip: Stay in the top floor and at he back if you stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
So sorry for your unplesant stay, I am following up on this and will give you a credit to your credit card. We don't expect guest to have to pay for this. We will follow up on the 3rd shift staff and do more training. At this time, we do not give cash refunds, but we will certainly refund your card as soon as possible. This is not the norm for a stay at the Smoke House, and hope you will come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.