We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Mountain Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Mountain Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My fiance and I were pleased to find such a cute little property. (Not to mention very pleased to see it was owned and run by a local family. BIG plus!) After working 56 hour weeks for almost a month, we were in need of a short vacation to just relax, and the Smokehouse Lodge did just that for us when we got one of their cozy cabins for two days.

We were there to visit Lookout Mountain and Chattanooga, so the hotel was kind of a drive out (about 45 miles), but you just can't beat the view while driving the hills and mountains of Tennessee. The hotel is right off the exit on I-24, so you can get back on the road very quickly.

The cabins may look small from the outside, but be rest assured that the open floor plan really makes the lodge quite comfortable. I was surprised in how quiet the cabin was (I barely heard a large storm that hit the area our first night there). The internet was kind of spotty with strength, but we kind of expected that being out in the cabin area. Besides, we were there to relax & get away from all that kind of stuff. Though we didn't engage much with the staff, what times we did spend in the main hotel were pleasant and inviting.

The facade of main hotel may not look "modern", but the room did not lack in amenities: flat screen TV, nice little kitchen, well working A/C heater wall unit, furniture in good shape, clean linens, etc. Not to mention, the look kept up with the fact that it is a small cozy hotel up in the mountains. I wouldn't hope for any different.

The hotel also has a cute mom & pop version of Cracker Barrel right next door if you want some tasty country cooking during your stay. There is a cute little winery right across the street that is open to visitors. Also, it is also conveniently located next to a grocery and Fred's stores if you are in need of anything you might have forgotten at home or suddenly need.

If you're looking for couples or family getaway in the Chattanooga, Tennessee area, I strongly suggest this property and even emphasize to pay the extra money and get the cabin. You won't regret it! We are already making plans to come back ourselves in the future!

Room Tip: The cabins are well worth the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our _Mountain _Cabins here at _TheSmokeHouse in _Monteagle _Tennessee. We appreciate your comments and will pass them on to our staff. The _BestWestern _SmokeHouseLodge is proud to please our customers. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    64
    41
    30
    36
See reviews for
78
82
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was fine until we were woken up at 1:30am by the people upstairs and it went on for 2-3 hours. Called the front desk to get them to stop the noise but it continued. We had to get the staff to give us another room at 3:30 in the morning. With our long driving ahead this stay was terrible. The woman at the desk didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. I had to ask them to compensate us and she said see would tell her manager. When we booked out in the morning the new staff didn't know anything about our problem but did say this would be taken care of immediately. She apologized several times.
The late night staff needs to have better training for these types of issues.

I did receive an email from the owner asking if there was anything he could do but this was from my Best Western feedback letter.

Room Tip: Stay in the top floor and at he back if you stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
So sorry for your unplesant stay, I am following up on this and will give you a credit to your credit card. We don't expect guest to have to pay for this. We will follow up on the 3rd shift staff and do more training. At this time, we do not give cash refunds, but we will certainly refund your card as soon as possible. This is not the norm for a stay at the Smoke House, and hope you will come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Chattanooga
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Smokehouse Lodge in Monteagle TN. We stayed in one of the cabins on the property and thouroughly enjoyed our visit.

The cabin was well furnished, a Queen sized bed, sofa, small kitchen, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, fire place and a jacuzzi tub in addition to the bathroom. Everything in the room was in good shape, although some of the higher areas could have used a little more dusting. The property has a pool (shaped like a ham) tennis court, basketball court, shuffleboard and a pond. The staff were very friendly, and seemed genuinely happy that we were there.

The weather was gorgeous, and we took advantage by hiking a little in nearby Sewanee and enjoying the beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and looking foward to you coming back up for another fun weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Heater cut on and off every 2 minutes, door card failed to work 90% of time, and in general this place is past needing an overhaul. Just old and failed to be kept up as it should. Clerk was awear of our complaints and said we should recieve a refund of part of our bill---that never happened. This place had a great pass--poor present, but needs much repair. Once, shame on you--twice, never happen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
This is an unusual compliant for our property. We apologize for the problems encountered by the guest, but the language used to describe our facility is overly dramatic. We are in the process of upgrading our facility, and all rooms, but overall all, the comments and reviews we recieve are very complimentary about our property. Once and a while we do not measere up to someone's expectations, can't please everyone. Sometimes people make up excuses about compliants when really they are upset about the price, or being on the 2nd floor. The Smoke House is not everyone's cup of tea, but those who like it, love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Be careful staying here! Upon arrival we were given a room that connected to one that was in the process of being renovated. Needless to say the smell from the paint and the workers smoking next door with the connecting doors OPEN was not a very welcoming sign. When I tried to close and lock the connecting room door there was no way to lock the door from my side of the room, the door
in the other room had a deadbolt on the inside that would keep me from getting into that room but any could have access to our room. The outside door to the room under construction did not lock so anyone could gain access to our room. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk they told me I did not know how to lock the door. Finally a "maintenance" man showed up and finally realized that I was correct and offered to get a lock from the hardware store and install it. Later He proceeded to turn the door handle around which simply put a kept the knob from turning. After return from dinner we got back to our room and found both connecting doors open! As far as we could determine nothing was taken but the front desk did not really seem to care and/or understand the problem. After being away for the entire day no inside lock, as promised was ever installed. When I mentioned this at checkout they apologized, but blamed it on somebody else. Also, the bathrooms were tiny, the shower head is about 5 feet high with low pressure. Uncomfortable beds and unreliable TV's made for a poor stay. The noise early in the morning (5am) of the staff moving equipment and shouting as if it were the middle of the day was to say the least annoying. With my son perhaps attending Sewanee for the next 4 years I will stay at the other hotels in the area and will relay this story to all of the other parents who are looking for a place to stay near the Univerity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back maybe quieter as they do not face the road. All heat/AC units seemed to be new bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and feedback about _Best Western _Smokehouse _JimOliverSmokehouse. We have been doing alot of upgrades on the property and in the rooms and they are looking really nice. Next time you come by try one of our _Monteagle _Cabins, all have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, front porches, kitchens great for _SpringBreak _Family _Getaways, and _Family _Reunions. You can order our porducts on line _TheSmokeHouseStore _OldGeneralStore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The room I had was quite nice and large. I got a call from the front desk after I had been there for a couple hours to check and make sure everything in my room was ok. The room was clean along with the common areas that I saw including the grounds. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and feedback about _Best Western _Smokehouse _JimOliverSmokehouse. We have been doing alot of upgrades on the property and in the rooms and they are looking really nice. Next time you come by try one of our _Monteagle _Cabins, all have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, front porches, kitchens great for _SpringBreak _Family _Getaways, and _Family _Reunions. You can order our porducts on line _TheSmokeHouseStore _OldGeneralStore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here on a return trip from Florida. The main reception area is charming with its giant fireplace and coffee. We were presented with a mini welcome basket upon check-in, which we totally did not expect. There are not many hotel options in this area, and I would not hesitate to stay here again. The rooms were a bit dated, but they were very clean. Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our _Best Western Smoke House Lodge in _Monteagle TN. Hope you will come back and try one of our 21 _Monteagle Cabins. _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant is a great example of pure _Tennessee Southern Cooking. Recipes from generations of _Oliver family members are sure to please most appetites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.