We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much needed rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“much needed rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

spent two days and nights with much needed rest for my wife and me. first time we were able to have peace and quite in along timewith 3 grandsons at home plus our daughter. the cabin was great perfect for our time alone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    84
    54
    41
    41
See reviews for
106
107
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyed spending the night in one of the newer cabins. Very private and comfortable. Wish we'd had more time to spend there and perhaps chosen a weekend when it didn't rain so much. We would have enjoyed walking the grounds a bit. There was live music (free) at the Smokehouse (on property) Saturday night. The cabin was clean and neat. Dishes, pots, pans, linen all provided. The fireplace was very nice (it got a little smoky in the room - might have needed some adjustment - and be sure to take some paper, etc. to light the fire - wood provided but nothing to get it started). Indoor hot tub for two! Yay! The employee who took my reservation over the phone was very sweet, fast and professional. Check in/out went very well too. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Check online and look at all the cabin choices. We preferred the newer style cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. For all of you who rent a cabin, we have FIRE STARTERS availiable at the front desk.

We appreciate your business, come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was a quick overnight getaway for us. It was closer than Gatlinburg and Atlanta. Just 45 min from Chattanooga. We stayed in a older cabin. The staff was friendly when we checked in. The cabin itself was one of the older cabins but it was clean and acceptable. Firewood was provided. We had to Fred's across the street to buy a firestarter log and lighter. The wood was green and didnt burn well, so the firestarter log really helped. Pet friendly. We went to the Smokehouse Restaurant for dinner. There was pleasant live music and a nice environment. The service was horrible. We had a difficult getting the server to bring drinks and refills or take our order. She tried to give us 2 other tables food. However, we weren't in a huge hurry and didn't complain. My husband ordered a rack of ribs which had a good flavor. I ordered a stuffed baked potatoe. The plate was made up of 2 small potatoes to look like one big one. Both potatoes were not fresh but it was edible. The restaurant was convenient ,everyone was friendly and the gift shop was interesting to look around. Even with the poor service and mediocre food, the visit was pleasant and we would go back again for the laid back environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, TN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic Very Clean Room in a convenient location. Pet friendly. Stayed upstairs facing road. No issues with noise. Very comfortable bed.
The Smokehouse Resturant was interesting to visit. We only had sausage and biscuits for breakfast. They were nothing special. We did enjoy looking around the store and purchased a few pints of jam to take home. We purchased a bag of mild pork skins and they didn't make it home. They were very tasty!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a clean, safe, somewhat dated Best Western. Very nice staff, comfortable beds, clean but older carpets and furnishings. Be aware they have "cabins" and rooms, with the rooms being pretty basic. No refrig, no breakfast, rooms have outside doors. That means when your neighbors leave they go back and forth to their car right outside your door, so not particularly quiet, kind of hit and miss. The restaurant is attached to the motel, pretty good food with emphasis on regional fare. Oddly you can get bottled beer and pre-mixed cocktails there, but no wine.

When I travel I am looking for safe and clean first of all, and this was fine. Just nothing special, and a little on the expensive side for what you get.

Room Tip: The rooms are walk out to the parking lot right outside your door, If you don't mind the climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments, glad you had a good experience and that you will stop in again on your next visit over Monteagle Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Not the cleanest or fanciest, but very nice for the money. I would stay again for sure.


I wish for water pressure was better, but again for for money no big deal. And if all I can complain about its water pressure, then you know its a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jim Oliver's Smoke House and _Best Western _Smokehouse Lodge has 21 cabins for rest and relaxation. Most cabins have jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Great food at _Jim Oliver's Smoke House Restaurant, featuring family recipies from 4 generations. Perfect for family _Spring Breaks, _Easter Getaways. _Live Music every Friday and Sautrday night. _Monteagle Cabins. _Old General Store _LouvinBrothersMuseum _MoonshineStill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Monteagle
Super 8 Monteagle
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
5.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 19 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging features Rooms & Cabins. 20 acre campus with 21 Beautiful Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, Kitchens. 80 rooms with new Queen and King beds, whole room upgraded in 2015 with all new furniture, flooring, beds, bath, TV, doors & Locks, heat a/c units. Big decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre forested campus & fishing lake. Experience Great Southern Hospitality at the on site Restaurant, shop the Trading Post Old General Store, and experience Live Nashville Music every Friday & Saturday night, No Cover Charge, Family Friendly, full menu & beverages during the show, no smoking room. Southern cookin' offering three generations of homemade family recipes on the menu and the daily all you can eat buffet, Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge & Fried Pies, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum is a great place to spend some time. Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival/Cumberland Caverns/Bluegrass Underground/George Dickle Distillery/Jack Daniels Distillery/Lynchburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.