We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, yes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Ah, yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Always leave wishing we had more time to spend here. The grounds are lovely, the room, while older, has been painstakingly maintained. A/C worked great and had it's own remote. Speaking of which, they have "clean remotes" for the TV :-). The beds were comfortable with fluffy pillows and nice linens; shower had plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Wifi signal was adequate to check the weather but not to stream netflix. The rooms with fridge and micro were not available at the late hour of our check in and they haven't upgraded to flat screen tvs yet. But it's such a pretty site that it's not the kind of place you want to spend in your room watching television anyway! Comes with 10% discount for the restaurant next door which serves great food.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views are on the back side but if you want to park in front of your room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    78
    51
    39
    39
See reviews for
95
100
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Perfect getaway for a few nights, down home atmosphere when you need a break, staff pleasant and able to help with needs, not a new hotel, however the location, customer service, and atmosphere made my experience. Pleasant compared to the normal almost robotic service seen in the central Florida area. Nice getaway option.

Room Tip: You have the choice of a hotel room or a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was excellent - everything was fresh and pleasant - the beds were very comfortable and cozy - it is so nice to stay in a nicely remodeled room with cozy beds and wonderful "rain" shower heads..........i was also so happy that the coffee for the room was organic and yummy!

The breakfeast was wonderful - i ordered off the menu - they had the best sausage and bacon this side of the Mississippi- the jelly was wondermous and i was impressed that the jellies and barbeque sauce were for sale - taste tests available. Yum!

This is a great place with a wonderful family atmosphere- i will definately be back again, again, and again..................................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We ended up with a last minute stay here due to bad weather. The first room we were given had a very powerful chemical odor - strong enough to make my eyes water, and I'm not particularly sensitive to smell. My guess at the time was that it was either an insecticide or an attempt to cover a worse odor. I requested a change, and was given a room on the second floor that was distinctly musty, but tolerable, especially compared to the first room. Apart from the smells, the rooms were okay. The desk clerk didn't seem surprised or concerned by my complaint about the odor in the first room. Today I checked the Bedbug Registry and found a recent report on bedbugs in the first room, so I suspect the odor was insecticide. While I realize that every hotel has to treat for bedbugs sometimes, they shouldn't be renting out the rooms until the fumes clear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We sincerely apologize for this inconvience, the room may have had the carpet cleaned earlier in the day, and still had odor from that cleaning. We are currently replacing the carpets in the rooms with wood floors, and this problem is eliminated as we complete this installation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The motel area of the SmokeHouse is really run down. The metal stairway by the office is rusted out and dangerous, the desk clerk was aware. We came to the SmokeHhouse in 1989-93 when our daughter was at Sewanee,so I expected that this visit would be more pleasant with Best Western taking it on.
We had to change rooms (no questions asked) as the lights over the vanity were out. A small fridge and microwave would have been nice after driving all the way from Charleston, SC.
Desk clerk Portia seemed inexperienced and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Missouri . Very quite stayed on the back side by pool. Everything was clean air conditioner very cold. The restraunt wasn't that good but they did give you 10% off, there is no other around

Room Tip: Stay on the back side as this hotel sits right off highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stone mountain ga.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There aren't many choices in Monteagle but The Smokehouse rates our" most improved " vote. The thin towels and concrete block supporting the beds are gone and in their place are nicely remodeled bath sinks and nicely done beds with comfy mattresses. We even had prompt wakeup calls!
We will visit again, although we found $107.00 per night a bit high for a simple king room with no refrigerator or microwave in Monteagle Tn!

Room Tip: Choose something o the first floor on the back of the motel, but make a reservation and hope they ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.