We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Cabin's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge
850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Secluded Cabin's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Me and my husband just celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary and came back to stay where we stayed when we got married. Except this time we stayed in one of the new cabins that they have built. We were told they have built 7 new cabins. Oh me, the cabin was AWESOME!!! Open floor plan with wood burning fireplace, king size bed, jacuzzi tub, rocking chair front porch and the decor was matched perfect with the rustic cabin feel. We ordered room service from the restaurant that is located on the property, Jim Oliver Smokehouse Restaurant and the BBQ ribs and pork sandwiches that we had were smoked just right. Then when we added the BBQ sauce, and they have over 20 flavors to choose from, just made the meal perfect. So we walked up to the gift shop and got some Homemade fudge and homemade fried pies. And if you have never tried these, you do not know what you are missing. We will be back next year on our 10th anniversary for sure.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    64
    41
    30
    36
See reviews for
78
82
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Horrible experience with the staff, front desk was rude, housekeeping did as little as possible to clean room. We had two rooms, they treated the young adults in the second room with no respect,
Staff disrespectful towards guests. Rooms were old.Beds had bed bugs, uncomfortable. old. carpet old. odd smell. do not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We apologize for the problem you encountered with bugs. This is a serious claim, and we very much take it seriously; actions have been taken to respond to your review.

After your report of the incident, the room was shut down, and housekeeping immediately inspected the room for the problems you mentioned in your compliant. Bedding was stripped, carpet inspected, creavices explored, no bugs were found.

We also have had a certified professional pest control company inspect the room and certify that it is clean, no bugs found.

Due to the recent histeria in the media about bed bugs, our staff has been trained in the search and treatment of bed bugs and all our housekeeping have training certification from Best Western for this type compliant and issues. We have no history of bed bugs and cannot find any problem with the room you were assigned. We inspect for this possible issue everytime we clean a room.

This was Bonnaroo Weekend, Chattanooga Riverbend, and Country Music Fan Fair, did you happen to come from a music festival? Maybe you encountered bugs there and did not realize it till later? Could it be poison ivy or sumac? Some of these ailments don't show up until a few days after contact with the skin. Chigger bites don't usually show up until a day or two later, and this also sounds very much like what you described; it is very possible if you sat or laid in the grass or on the ground.

We work very hard to uphold our reputation for a clean comfortable Lodge, and this type of review does not reflect our facility in a favorable light.

Problems you stated about the front desk staff and housekeeping are very rare, we have not had these type of complinats. At any rate, the staff has been fully informed about your incident and your issues have been covered with them.

You will recieve a 100% refund.
We apologize for your problems, and hope you can resolve your issues in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monteagle hotels

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our room was generous-sized, with ample furniture, advertised high-speed Internet (we did not use), friendly check-in and check-out. Beds were comfortable. Flat-screen TV had not yet found its way to our room, but there were numerous channels to watch.
Towels were clean but well-used, and the carpet in our room was so dirty that the washcloths we used to scrub our feet turned black. Eek!
The hotel is right on a local highway, but although we were in the front, truthfully we were not bothered by the frequent daytime traffic. A/C ran well and was remote-controlled.
Pretty pool and green area in the back, and part of the complex has a pub, restaurant and store. Good country-style food. The store is large and well-stocked with food and other items, that as far as we could tell were all made in Tennessee.
We'll try this place one more time, because we really enjoyed it, but if the carpets are still so dirty the next time, we will just have to drive there to eat, and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: If you come during Bonnaroo (Manchester, but all rooms get filled in the area) in early June, make y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Because I don't see any other posts about bed bugs, I will assume that they're a recent addition to the Smokehouse Lodge. I spent one miserable night there last week and woke up covered with bed bug bites (in classic bed bug patterns, all over my body, even my face). The girls I shared a room with were also affected, and are now afraid that they have brought them into their homes.

The staff was friendly, the food was fine, but I have to say that a hotel with bed bugs is pretty much the worst thing ever. I called reception to report the problem on the day I checked out and they apologized; when I registered the complaint with their corporate office, they were very apologetic as well. Unfortunately, that doesn't help much.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamper1960, Owner at BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We apologize for the problem you encountered with bug bites. This is a serious claim, and we very much take it seriously.

After your report of the incident, housekeeping immediately inspected the room for bugs, and found none. Bedding was stripped, carpet inspected, creavices explored, no bugs were found.

Due to the recent histeria in the media about bed bugs, our staff has been trained in the search and treatment of bed bugs and all our housekeeping have training certification from Best Western for this type compliant and issues. We have no history of bed bugs and cannot find any problem with the room you were assigned. We inspect for this possible issue everytime we clean a room.

This was Bonnaroo Weekend, did you happen to come from the music festival? Maybe you encountered bugs there and did not realize it till later? Could it be poison ivy or sumac? Some of these ailments don't show up until a few days after contact with the skin. Chigger bites don't usually show up until a day or two later, and this also sounds very much like what you described; it is very possible if you sat or laid in the grass or on the ground.

We work very hard to uphold our reputation for a clean comfortable Lodge, and this type of review does not reflect our facility in a favorable light.

You will recieve a 100% refund.
We apologize for your problems, and hope you can resolve your issues in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We frequent the Best Western Smokehouse Lodge in Monteagle as a close getaway, specifically the cabins, and to be honest, we've never stayed at the hotel proper, always booking a cabin for our stay. The cabins are fairly close to one another, but the construction of the cabins affords plenty of quiet, even during a weekend when children are out and about. Each cabin that we have stayed in has had a fireplace and spa for us to use. The kitchen is complete, however if you are staying for a week, pack your favorite cookware, glasses and utensils. Yes, you can use theirs, but if you bring what you need (e.g. pots, frying pan, etc.) you are prepared to cook what you bring. If you don't want to cook, the restaurant and store (and the Piggly Wiggly) are a short walk away. If you are staying through the weekend, book your stay as early as possible, because the cabins are apparently very, very popular during weekends.

The staff is always more than happy to be as involved or as "hands off" as you would like them to be during your stay. We prefer our quiet and the staff is more than happy to exchange linen on request. We are absolutely thrilled that they are a pet friendly place, and we do take advantage of this option. The cost ($10.00 per day) is fair, and we are very appreciative of this option.

Now, if you are the type of traveler that expects perfection in everything, let me say this. These cabins are heavily used, and if you are looking for faults you will certainly find them but, if you value peace and quiet, a relaxing mini-vacation, or a place to use as a base while you explore some of the sights around Monteagle, this is most definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I love this place! The scenery, the food, the people, the affordability, and just the general peaceful mountain feel the whole weekend I was there. Saturday night enjoying the live music while eating dinner was a complete delight. Sunday morning we took the quick 2 mile jaunt to the Memorial Cross for a breathtaking view from the top of the mountain and were back in time for a tasty country breakfast at the Smokehouse. I hated to see that weekend come to and end....but was more than rested and replenished after a fantastic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I want to take the time to write an extremely positive review of Jim Oliver's place at Monteagle. I stayed there last month for a weekend. Not only were the rooms clean and comfortable, but the staff and management were probably the most friendly I have ever encountered. Positive, helpful, and outgoing, every single person I encountered there was just the best. The motel itself is easy to access from the Interstate, and is located where it is convenient to get out and about to see the beautiful plateau region, including Sewanne and the University of the South, Tracy City, Monteagle Mountain, the Sequatchie Valley, and the Tennessee River/Nickajack Lake. Next door is the Smoke House Restaurant, if you choose to walk to a place to eat, which is simply a delightful place to eat a meal and on weekend listen to music! Otherwise, there are some standard chain restaurants (McDonald's, Subway, etc,) within a very short drive...or a long walk LOL. I highly recommend this place for families on vacation, traveling business people, and couples! Great place! So glad I was able to stay and get the chance to know I will be back again and again with my wife and family! My ancestors are from the Sequatchie Valley and Tracy City areas and I am into genealogy research.

Room Tip: If yu can, get a second floor room, as the cars are parked literally three feet from your door. Tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 976, Monteagle, TN 37356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Monteagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smoke House invites everyone to experience Southern Hospitality at the Restaurant, shop the Old General Store, stay in Rustic Log Cabins & the Mountain Lodge, and experience every Friday & Saturday Night Live Nashville Music. Southern cookin’ offering three generations of family recipes on the menu and the daily buffet;Homemade everyday! The Old General Store's old fashioned candies, antiques, homemade fudge, Moonshine Museum, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. Lodging features Log Cabins w/Jacuzzi tubs & fireplaces, and Queen and King rooms with big back decks overlooking the serene and beautiful 20 acre campus, & fishing lake./Tennessee Lodging/Monteagle/Chattanooga/Winchester/Tullahoma/South Pittsburg/Sewannee/Manchester/Jasper/Cowan/Live Music/Bonnaroo/River Bend Festival/Corn Bread Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.