We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel that ticks most dots” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urban St Leonards

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Urban St Leonards to your Saves list
Hotel Urban St Leonards
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Pacific Highway, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Business hotel that ticks most dots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Simple business hotel with clean, tidy but small rooms. It's on Pacific Highway in a pretty poor location with little to no restaurants or bars within walking distance. Due to the location, the value is actually quite good. If you had a car and were to use this spot for a vacation, it wouldn't be too bad.

It's perfect for a 1 night business stay over, especially if the meetings will be on the North side of Sydney (North Sydney, St. Leonards).

It's about a 7 to 10 minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be the same. Don't think anything has a view. Maybe try to stay away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Markmenz,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review.

For next time: our sweet urban rooms offer 180 degrees views out over the Lane Cove Waterways. They also have a spa bath, coffee maker and are more spacious than our Urban King rooms.

Thanks again.

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    86
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
30
46
18
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Mixed feelings about this place. The staff is nice and the room was in good working condition. The style of the room is a little too modern for my taste. Most disappointing is that my room faced a building right behind the hotel. And I mean right behind not across the street so that's all I could see. Didn't want to have the shades open as a result. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was fairly quiet.

A pet peeve of mine these days is paying for wifi which you have to do here.

The location was convenient for work and about a 15 minute walk to the train. There are not a lot of food options nearby other than the restaurant hotel. There are also no attractions within walking distance so I would never choose to stay here other than for work.

The hotel restaurant was fine but nothing special and like most food options in Sydney was no bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello MdKirkpatrick,

Thanks for leaving a review.

I'm sorry that you felt that you couldn't open your curtains & didn't like the modern design of the rooms. I have placed a note on your profile to ensure that you are allocated a room on the other side of the Hotel on your next stay with us.

Have a lovely day!

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed one night for work. Perfectly decent room on noisier highway side of building; am a light sleeper but slept well.
When i arrived the room next door had someone very noisy in it and reception immediately and courteously moved me to another room. Takeaway food is a five to ten minute walk away, and pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Romanygrrl,

Thanks for leaving a review!

I'm sorry to hear that you had noisy neighbours when first arrived but am happy to learn that the Front Desk team sorted it out straight away for you.

Have a lovely day & we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel. The second time was much more economical due to a Groupon voucher. The hotel is conveniently located if you want to be near the Pacific Highway. If you plan to take the train to the city to explore, it is a little hike to the station but quite level. If you have a car, be careful parking on the streets are time zones are marked and the time during the day is limited. We saw a traffic monitor checking the cars. If you park in front of the hotel, be careful of the flowers that fall from the tree as they are sticky, mark the car paint and can be difficult to remove. The staff are efficient; the cafe has wonderful coffee. I love the plentiful supply of papers to read and the fact that the paper is delivered to your door. The rooms are clean with firm beds. The shower area is very small and I wonder how some people would cope with this confined space. The shower cubicle is "tight". I found it strange that the tea/coffee supplies are located in a drawer at floor level. Like another reviewer I too was asked to pay for a chocolate from the mini bar which I did not take. It was quickly credited. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello my53,

How great is your profile pic? That is one of my favourite pieces at the MCA at the moment.

Thanks so much for taking the time out to leave your feedback and i'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We didn't know about the sticky flowers out the front of the Hotel so thanks for letting us know.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I had a peaceful stay but was a little surprised I was issued to pay for two items I had not purchased from their mini bar. Eventually I did not have to pay but I felt offended when the receptionist mention to her colleague that I denied purchase when I was certain I had not consumed their overpriced chocolate. I stayed alone. Apart from that I had a pleasant stay. It's located conveniently close to private and public hospital.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Jimmy2026,

Thanks for leaving some feedback for us.

I'm sorry that you felt offended regarding the denying the mini bar charge on your account. As explained in the email that I sent to you, the administration of the mini bar system can be incredibly challenging. We work on an honesty system so if you say you haven't had it the item we take it off. I understand that this has been removed for you.

Otherwise, it's great to know that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Working in St Leonards for a 1 night stay it was a very quick visit and this hotel suited perfectly. Very convenient location to hospital, St Leonards train station Very clean and fresh, reception open at night, room service and staff quick to respond when I couldn't get the heater to work. The entire hotel had a nice feel and the coffee (available from 6.30am) in the cafe in the foyer was excellent. It's not a room you would want to spend your day in and the view was of a highway but the entire hotel generally had a lovely feel to it and would definitely stay again for work and definitely recommend to colleagues. Would have given an Excellent rating only thought it was a little over-priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello biztraveller2012,

Thanks for leaving us a highly recommended and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

When we originally designed the Cafe, our brief was to provide a casual and relaxed atmosphere - it's great that you picked up on that and appreciated it.

It's music to my ears to hear that the team were quick to respond when you had a problem too!

Thanks biztraveller2012 - we hope to see you again soon.

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Kind regards,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobar, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed for a week at the Hotel Urban. The staff were very obliging and the room was a good size and clean. I like that the rooms have safes in them. Restaurant food was good. We didn't have views because we chose a room with an outside balcony on the ground level. Beds were comfortable and surprisingly very little traffic noise. Robes and slippers supplied. Walking distance to the train providing you didn't want to shop and carry too much. Was a good place for a conference and to unwind but maybe a bit out of the way if you wanted to do stuff in the city each day. Overall a good stay though

Room Tip: No view from ground floor but fresh air if you like sitting outside and it's not too noisy. Down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello LnG270,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback.

Our Terrace rooms are perfect for a longer stay and it's great to hear that you took advantage of them. We love that you can sit outside, enjoy the fresh air and feel like you are worlds away.

Have a lovely day and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Urban St Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Leonards

Address: 194 Pacific Highway, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > St Leonards
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Urban St Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Leonards. More than a hotel…Not your typical Sydney hotel – experience so much more than just a good night’s sleep! More comfort, more indulgence, more taste and more inspiration. Hotel Urban St Leonards is a special place with a focus on chic relaxation. At Urban we’re serious about helping you unwind, so we’ve designed a hotel space dedicated to your relaxation and gorgeous guest rooms which offer comfort so luxurious, it’s the next best thing to sleeping at home. Set on the abundantly leafy North Shore you’ll start to understand what defines Urban when you step into this inviting space, which is as relaxed and cosy as it is modern and effortlessly stylish. You’ll enjoy 100 ultra-comfy designer guest rooms, welcoming lobby and alluring Sure Café, professional putting green for golfing enthusiasts, and beautiful conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Urban St Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards North Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urban St Leonards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.