We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, relaxing and nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urban St Leonards

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Urban St Leonards to your Saves list
Hotel Urban St Leonards
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Pacific Highway, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cobar, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, relaxing and nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed for a week at the Hotel Urban. The staff were very obliging and the room was a good size and clean. I like that the rooms have safes in them. Restaurant food was good. We didn't have views because we chose a room with an outside balcony on the ground level. Beds were comfortable and surprisingly very little traffic noise. Robes and slippers supplied. Walking distance to the train providing you didn't want to shop and carry too much. Was a good place for a conference and to unwind but maybe a bit out of the way if you wanted to do stuff in the city each day. Overall a good stay though

Room Tip: No view from ground floor but fresh air if you like sitting outside and it's not too noisy. Down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello LnG270,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback.

Our Terrace rooms are perfect for a longer stay and it's great to hear that you took advantage of them. We love that you can sit outside, enjoy the fresh air and feel like you are worlds away.

Have a lovely day and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    105
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
53
23
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The moment we walked in the door, the staff were very polite and friendly greeting me and my partner in the wonderfully air conditioned lobby (which was beyond perfect on a hot summer day).

The room had such a relaxing feel about it, the moment you walk in the door you just can't help but take in the relaxing view (partial city view, but mostly residential). It doesn't take long before you find yourself crashing into the comfortable king sized bed which overlooks the entire room and balcony. The only things we were disappointed at was the speed (or lack of) of the elevators and the positioning of the tap for the spa in our room; right middle of the spa and in the perfect position for you to accidentally bump into it when exiting.

Room service, comfort and relaxation factor and TV size were all perfect. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wishing for a short escape from reality.

Room Tip: King Spa room has the best balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello SimonIsk,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! I am so pleased to hear that you loved our little oasis here on the leafy North Shore. We are close enough to the City and yet far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle.

I apologise for the slowness of the lifts. We find that our guests like to move at the same time of the day putting extra pressure on the lifts.

Thanks again for your lovely review & I hope to welcome you back soon.



Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Now this is a hotel I would definitely recommend ! So close to the city, good value and good looking rooms and decent size as well. The staff very polite and friendly and he food was very nice, except for the breakfast when I had eggs Benedict and the hollandaise sauce was awful and couldn't eat it. But I'm sure that won't put anyone off !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Popa A,

It's music to our ears hearing how much you enjoyed your stay in our little Hotel & that you still found us amazing despite your less than perfect hollandaise.

We love getting the detail right & I am devestated to hear that your eggs bene was less than perfect. We pride ourselves on offering the best breakfast in the Hotel business so will ensure that this is immediately resolved.

Enjoy your day!

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Solo overnight trip, king room on the Main road side, have had the western side with balcony previously which was nice but te traffic noise was not really an issue. It's not that noisy and if you want the other room, just ask for one on that side. Staff are friendly and warm greeting and helpful. Setting is clean, modern and very comfortable.
Will be back and have stayed in most room types over the last few years, they are all great!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Brad C,

Thanks so much for writing a review & for becoming a regular Hotel Urban guest.

It's lovely to hear your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice hotel in St Leonards.

Very friendly and efficient service.

Clean, simple and comfortable room.

Only slight downside is that the hotel is right on a main road so room was a little noisy during the day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hello timdog_42,

Thanks for leaving a Tripadvisor review & i'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

When you are staying with us next time, ask for a room off the Pacific Hwy. We can make a note on your profile too to ensure that you get the right room every time.

Have a lovely day & we hope to welcome you back soon.

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed on a Sunday night and was pleased to be provided with a quiet room as per my booking request. Room was small, but well appointed. I was particularly delighted to find that we had a Tivoli radio and the reception for fm stations was excellent. Given the hotel is not centrally located, the parking was expensive and the spaces were cramped, but access to the carpark was easy and there were lots of vacant spaces. The bed was excellent, but the pillows were very hard. The water pressure in the shower was poor, but made up for by good size shower and nice large towels. Finally we tried the alle carte breakfast and liked the choices, enjoyed our choices and thought the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello StephenR285,

Thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback.

It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you do happen to be staying in St Leonards again please let us know & we'll arrange for a softer pillow for you.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a nice hotel, nothing special just a good clean, basic hotel, the cafe is really good and the coffee is fantastic. The location is ant great and its on a very busy road and taxis were hard to get

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello herf76,

Thanks for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you loved our little Cafe & the coffee too.

Taxis can be difficult to get in Sydney particularly around the high demand periods of February & November, I hope that you weren't waiting too long.

As an aside, your dog is way too cute (great profile pic).

Enjoy your day!
Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Urban St Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Leonards

Address: 194 Pacific Highway, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > St Leonards
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Urban St Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Leonards. More than a hotel…Not your typical Sydney hotel – experience so much more than just a good night’s sleep! More comfort, more indulgence, more taste and more inspiration. Hotel Urban St Leonards is a special place with a focus on chic relaxation. At Urban we’re serious about helping you unwind, so we’ve designed a hotel space dedicated to your relaxation and gorgeous guest rooms which offer comfort so luxurious, it’s the next best thing to sleeping at home. Set on the abundantly leafy North Shore you’ll start to understand what defines Urban when you step into this inviting space, which is as relaxed and cosy as it is modern and effortlessly stylish. You’ll enjoy 100 ultra-comfy designer guest rooms, welcoming lobby and alluring Sure Café, professional putting green for golfing enthusiasts, and beautiful conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Urban St Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards North Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urban St Leonards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.