We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urban St Leonards

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Urban St Leonards to your Saves list
Hotel Urban St Leonards
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Pacific Highway, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Forbes, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I enjoyed my overnight stay at this Boutique Hotel. For me the location was very close to Mater Hospital where my husband was being treated. I enjoyed the extra little things like bath robes , slippers and make up mirror. Staff were very helpful at check in and organised a cab to take me to Hospital. My room was on the first floor facing street. I was not bothered by the traffic noise Hotel is also very close to Royal North Shore Hospital so is very convenient for visitors or carers to patients in both these Hospitals. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and spa not reviewed as I didn't see them could not delete first dot in rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Dorothy W,

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

It’s so nice when guests love the little extras that we put in place at our hotel. It’s those little finishing touches that make us Urban, and we’re so pleased you enjoyed your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again soon!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    88
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
30
47
19
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

It's currently my 2nd night staying at Hotel Urban and I have to say, it's been a pretty disappointing stay so far. My room is on the 1st level, so road noises and the music from the restaurant/bar on Friday night were a big issue for trying to sleep. Bathroom is extremely tiny. Room is ok standard but definitely not 4 star quality. TV remote isn't working and I've called reception, but it's been over 20min and no one has come to fix it, plus the receptionist sounded like I was putting them out with my request for it to be fixed. I've ordered room service and they wanted to charge $10 room service charge to bring up the main meal and dessert separately, which is a ridiculous cost for someone to carry up food in the lift. Finally, the wifi charges are a rip off - this should be free. On the positive points - the bed is really comfortable and the restaurant does great coffees. But overall, it's been an average stay so far.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Emsy82,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Sorry to hear you weren’t pleased with the room service and WiFi charges. If you’re interested in WiFi packages, we have some great deals available.

I'm so glad you enjoyed our signature Urban Snorer beds and tried the delicious coffee available at Sure Café.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I like this boutique hotel. It's different. Little things make the experience different. It's a bit small and is in the middle of no where but it's cute. If are thinking to stay at this hotel, it's the best to have a car or take cab from the train station. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Patty831,

Thank you so much for your comments.

We 100% agree that it's the little things that make the experience different. We pride ourselves on being different and not your typical hotel, so it's great to see you enjoyed the Urban perks.

Hopefully see you next time you visit Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had cause to stay for three nights recently. We booked through an agency and got a remarkable rate for the three nights not to mention a bottle of bubbly upon arrival...and believe it or not...wide beaming smiles. The room was adequate in size with all the required facilities, nicely appointed with muted grey and olive tones.
We breakfasted at the in house eatery dubiously named 'SURE'...lovely, simple, exquisitely prepared fare. Damn sure good is what I say!!!
The staff were attentive to our needs and nothing was a problem. The days and nights were steaming hot...no drama the A/C unit worked a treat. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Rom B,

There's nothing better than a bottle of bubbly on arrival, especially when it's presented with a smile! So glad to hear you enjoyed your welcome at our hotel.

Love your catchy comments about Sure Café – our Marketing team will love them too!

Thank you for your positive review and hopefully we will be welcoming you at our hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We initially booked to stay at Urban St Leonard's for 5 nights and due to the comfort, cleanliness and friendly staff we booked to stay an extra 2 nights.
The room was facing the Pacific Highway but noise was minimal, walking distance to the train station is about 10-15 mins where there is also a number of cafe's, a Coles supermarket and banks on route
In the event we returned to Sydney, Urban St Leonard's would be our first choice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Emma M,

We're so proud to be your first choice next time you visit Sydney – thank you!

Our number one priority is to make our guests as comfortable and happy as possible, so it's lovely to see you stayed an extra two nights as a result of your experience at our hotel.

I really appreciate you taking the time to leave such positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here due to the location and price. Rooms are a good size although the bathroom is small it does the job.
Breakfast is reasonable from the cafe.
Staff were nice and prompt.
I stayed on the road side. It wasn't noisy really at all.

Towels were changed everyday which is a bit of a waste as I had hung it up prepared to use it again.

Mini bar is an okay price not too high.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Amelia S,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel.

It's great to hear you tried the breakfast at Sure Cafe and had some Little Fridge treats in the peace and quiet of your room.

We hope to see you at our hotel again one day!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel over the weekend for two nights and I found it really good value for money. The rooms are reasonably sized, the bathroom is a bit small but it serves the purpose. Staff are prompt and courteous. I had parking included in the price and it was available in the underground garage when I arrived. I advised staff that there was a broken bottle in the garage and they cleaned it up straight away and thanked me for telling them.

What I found very appealing is that I had slippers in the room that say SLOW DOWN and I thought this was a really good way of reminding the hotel guests to chillax.

Coffee and food are good in the hotel restaurant and even though this hotel is on the Pacific Highway, the setting is nice and nature like (mind you, you still hear the cars).

St Leondards train station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and so is Coles, restaurants, and coffee shops.

All in all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one that is not facing the Pacific Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel U, General Manager at Hotel Urban St Leonards, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Happy M,

What a lovely review!

Reading over your comments about staff, food, location, room and all the Urban perks (we love those slippers too!)… It sounds like we ticked quite a few boxes with you which is so nice for us. I'll make sure I pass your comments on to the various departments who contributed to making your stay so enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,

Amanda Cottome
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Urban St Leonards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urban St Leonards

Address: 194 Pacific Highway, St Leonards, North Sydney, New South Wales 2065, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > St Leonards
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Urban St Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urban St Leonards. More than a hotel…Not your typical Sydney hotel – experience so much more than just a good night’s sleep! More comfort, more indulgence, more taste and more inspiration. Hotel Urban St Leonards is a special place with a focus on chic relaxation. At Urban we’re serious about helping you unwind, so we’ve designed a hotel space dedicated to your relaxation and gorgeous guest rooms which offer comfort so luxurious, it’s the next best thing to sleeping at home. Set on the abundantly leafy North Shore you’ll start to understand what defines Urban when you step into this inviting space, which is as relaxed and cosy as it is modern and effortlessly stylish. You’ll enjoy 100 ultra-comfy designer guest rooms, welcoming lobby and alluring Sure Café, professional putting green for golfing enthusiasts, and beautiful conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Urban St Leonards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards North Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urban St Leonards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.