We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, friendly and quick staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kazbah Top Ryde

Kazbah Top Ryde
La Piazza, Top Ryde City Shopping Centre | Cnr Devlin St & Blaxland Rd, Ryde, New South Wales 2112, Australia
+61 2 9555 7067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 156 Restaurants in Ryde
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Fusion, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kazbah Top Ryde is the third edition of the Kazbah Group chain of restaurants. The other Kazbah venues are located at Darling Harbour and Top Ryde. Kazbahs little sister cafes Mezbah are located at the Adina hotel in Sydney Central and Lime Street. Kazbah is Sydney's leader in Middle Eastern cuisine. Established since 1998 by chef and owner Zahi Azzi, Kazbah has been delivering Sydneysiders with the most innovative and flavoursome blend of the old and new - Levantine and Modern Australian food in authentic, stylish surrounds. Be transported to Morocco, Iran, Lebanon, Israel, Syria and Turkey with a French/Mediterranean flare. Kazbah puts the hospitality back into the hospitality industry.
Umina Beach, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good food, friendly and quick staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

For lunch. Nice atmosphere and decor. Very good Lebanese food, high quality and delicious. The staff were friendly and quick. Good Turkish coffee and good desserts.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite before movies at Ryde Event Cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Last week-end was the 3rd time i visited here for dinner before catching a movie at Event Cinema at Top Ryde. Each time, the food and service was very good. We asked to hurry up the meal as we had under an hour before the start of the movie. They obliged and our comes sensational tasting food, like previous times. Service was courteous and friendly. Ambience was average, there is outdoor seating available, good for summer time, but its ok even now during winter, as there are those vertical heaters. The only drawback is the expense, yes it is not cheap, i paid about $75 for 2 main courses, and a glass of red wine. Dont forget to order the couscous with your meal - yum.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Expected better, and hidden costs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just had a sunday lunch here which was ok. We choose the spicy lamb borek, which if anyone has had 1 from a place in mebourne queen vic markets, it was nothing close. Flavours ok, but was tiny and deep fried like a spring roll.
Lamb tagine and Lamb kofta were ok, but meats were a bit dry and could have been much better.

BE WEARY! There was a sunday 10% surcharge and then another added charge for credit card payment. NOT Once were we made aware of this. If we were told probably would have went elsewhere.

With other choices close by I would not come here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,828 reviews 2,828 reviews
1,615 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 364 cities Reviews in 364 cities
1,340 helpful votes 1,340 helpful votes
“What happened to breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Generally love the food here although occasional challenges. Came for lunch yesterday but in the past, breakfast had always been available till 3pm.
That gave "meat eaters" a chance to enjoy the many options of skewers etc. but others a varied menu and one of my favourites is the Moroccan style lamb mince - a great dish.
Breakfast has now disappeared on week days and is only available on weekends - pity as some of the options were wonderful

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,828 reviews 2,828 reviews
1,615 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 364 cities Reviews in 364 cities
1,340 helpful votes 1,340 helpful votes
“Credit card slug”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Have been many times and enjoyed their breakfasts - love the spicy Moroccan style lamb mince. Did get a shock though when I was charged 2.5% for a MasterCard - way in excess of any real costs. Teach me to check the charges in future. Service was ordinary - we were the only ones there yet it still took 30 minutes for breakfast to arrive.

.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazbah Top Ryde also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Kazbah Top Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazbah Top Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.