We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good value unfortunately” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kazbah Top Ryde

Kazbah Top Ryde
La Piazza, Top Ryde City Shopping Centre | Cnr Devlin St & Blaxland Rd, Ryde, New South Wales 2112, Australia
+61 2 9555 7067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 146 Restaurants in Ryde
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Kazbah Top Ryde is the third edition of the Kazbah Group chain of restaurants. The other Kazbah venues are located at Darling Harbour and Top Ryde. Kazbahs little sister cafes Mezbah are located at the Adina hotel in Sydney Central and Lime Street. Kazbah is Sydney's leader in Middle Eastern cuisine. Established since 1998 by chef and owner Zahi Azzi, Kazbah has been delivering Sydneysiders with the most innovative and flavoursome blend of the old and new - Levantine and Modern Australian food in authentic, stylish surrounds. Be transported to Morocco, Iran, Lebanon, Israel, Syria and Turkey with a French/Mediterranean flare. Kazbah puts the hospitality back into the hospitality industry.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not very good value unfortunately”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend and I had the 12 hour slow cooked lamb tagine after reading another Trip Advisor review by a diner recommending. Whilst the lamb was tender, it was very bland tasting. Expected a few more flavours in the jus/gravy and it just tasted like stock, kind of reminded me of a basic Irish stew. Had to smother harissa over the dish to try and get some flavour happening. The wait staff were very attentive which initially was appreciated but then became a bit overwhelming at times. The shisha seemed very weak compared to other places we have had it. We found the food and wine a bit on the expensive side. $80 each for one course, a shared bottle of wine and some shisha. The restaurant had a nice ambiance though, loved the Moroccan light shades. Positives: Wait staff and ambiance, Negatives: pricey, bland and just not value for money

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Dined with a group of 14 using a set menu--$45 per head. We started with a couple of standard dips, followed by some nicely flavoured grilled octopus, chorizo, and a very tasty sausage. The main course consisted of shish kebob chicken and also a spicy sausage--both were very tasty. They were accompanied by a good salad & chips. I think the waiters saw they were all polished off pretty quickly (we were hungry) so without prompting they brought more--a nice touch, meaning we all had more than enough. The drinks service was fine, other than the beer spilt on one of our group. The open air setting onto the Top Ryde Piazza is nice--plenty of buzz. All up, good value & enjoyable-not fine dining, but a good option for groups of friends to have a fun and reasonably priced get together

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Remember when waitstaff were warm and welcoming, they knew the menu, and could make recommendations you could count on? Remember when you would reach for your glass and it would be full, and you didn't even notice how that happened? Well, it's all still happening at Kazbah in Top Ryde. We went with our four sons, and the service was impeccable, the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was surprisingly special given we were in a shopping centre. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and after a six day holiday in Sydney, our kids still rate our meal there on the first night as their highlight of the trip. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,578 reviews 2,578 reviews
1,455 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 342 cities Reviews in 342 cities
1,150 helpful votes 1,150 helpful votes
“Good value and quality lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Excellent value Moroccan style food - also suitable for taking staff for an enjoyable lunch without breaking the bank. My only hesitation is the atmosphere - I love the Balmain location which has similar food but Top Ryde feels more like a part of a food court.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“delicious moroccan food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent Moroccan food! Their breakfast menu offers great variety that includes western breakfast options as well as delicious Moroccan offerings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazbah Top Ryde also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Ryde, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Kazbah Top Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazbah Top Ryde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.