We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beds and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Parramatta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Parramatta to your Saves list
Rydges Parramatta
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Beds and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have stayed here many times it has become my regular stop on my travels through Sydney. It has great free parking although make sure you don't leave valuables in your car as it is open air and can be accessed from the street. The rooms are clean the beds are very comfortable. The air conditioners can be a little unreliable in summer although they will get a repair crew in promptly if they break down. The highlight is the restaurant, although I have not eaten in the restaurant itself, during restaurant hours the meals from it are available on room service and after a long day on the road being able to have these five star meals brought up to your room is magic. They cook the best steaks in Sydney.

Room Tip: Before you go make sure you join the Rydges reward program it gets you better prices and if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Traveler_Tim_Melbourne,

Thanks for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay. We really appreciate our Senior Contributers taking the time to let us know how we are travelling.

It's great to hear that you love our rooms, but even better to hear that you LOVE our restaurants, even though you haven't been into them yet! It's great to hear that our 5 star room service menu and "the best steaks in Sydney" are able to satisfy you after a long day of travelling. Whatever suits our guests suits us just fine.

You're also spot in with the Priority Guest rewards program. Well worth it for seasoned travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and hopefully next time we can get you into our restaurants!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    129
    67
    27
    13
See reviews for
57
68
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a very quick stay booking in after midnight and checking out at 8:30am the next day. The late night check-in was seamless and we upgraded to a twin room from a single queen room upon request. The underground secure carparking at $10 a night is also well worthwhile. The rooms are large and the beds etc were very comfortable. My only disappointment was that both me and my son were both woken up in the early morning darkness by a crying child and bathroom noises. This is not a critism of the child but rather an observation of the poor sound insulation properties of the room. All in all a good choice if you need to stay in the Parramatta area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Ian L,

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It was great to hear that your stay, whilst short, was sweet.

With someone on the reception desk 24 hours a day, it's great to hear we were able to accommodate you and your requests after midnight. At that time, we do appreciate that our guests are keen to jump straight in to bed, so we always try and make check-in as smooth as possible. It was unfortunate you were woken by external noises, particularly seeing as you were only there for a short while. The other benefit to having 24 hour reception is the ability to assist our guests at any time of day. Whilst we would have gladly offered to assist you with a room move, unfortunately due to the short period you were here for, we understand that it might not have been as beneficial to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully for a longer period as well!

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I want to preface this review by saying the duty manager was absolutely lovely. My four daughters and I stayed at Rydges Parramatta the night before they were participating in a sporting competition. We had to wake at four am. We had virtually zero sleep :(

Our first room was on the fifth floor. The room was lovely, had a bed for all five of us and gorgeous views. Unfortunately the toilet was broken. There is a sign that you have to hold down the flush button for approx 5 seconds which we did three times over and we had to call reception three times over when it didn't work. On the third time we were moved to the first floor which I didn't care about. Until that time, I wasn't even aware that there was a bar with live bands in the hotel. The duty manager did inform us that the room may be a little noisy but the bar would close at 9pm. Caught between a rock and a hard place - no toilet or a very noisy room... with four children clearly I chose the latter. WRONG CHOICE. We tried valiantly to sleep in preparation for our competition, but even once the band stopped the road noise was unbelievably bad. Fighting men, emergency services sirens, traffic, screaming drunks....
My problem ultimately lay in the fact that if you book a room with four children, surely someone can advise you that the hotel has a live band on Saturday nights and may not be suitable for children. OR... put me in a room that has a working toilet and is far away from the noise. We often come to Sydney for sporting and social purposes and I have to say that although the duty manager was nice, I highly doubt I will EVER book at Rydges again.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Jennifer H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We do appreciate the time you've taken to let us know how your stay was.

It's always great to hear that our staff are trying to assist our guests wherever possible in whatever way possible. It's a shame that the toilet ruined what should have been an exciting weekend for yourself and your daughters. We are currently finalising the planning to replace all of the toilet cisterns in the hotel. Generally if there is an issue that we cannot resolve, we always try to accommodate a guest with a room move, which we have in this case, but unfortunately due to the room type you required, we were unable to offer a number of alternative options.

In terms of the race day being a concern, we do let our guests arriving with children know that our bigger race days are on, but during winter they are much quieter and we have a number of options for families for dining etc that don't overlap too much with the race day crowd. As it was, if we had been able to fix your toilet, we would like to hope that the further issues with noise and guests would have not had as much of an impact on your stay as it did. Unfortunately, this was not the case. The room on level 1 that we moved you to is closer to the footpath, so the noise you heard was from James Ruse Drive.

We do hope the you daughters managed to perform in their competition, and we're glad we were able to get in contact with you to discuss your stay further.

Thank you again for your feedback, and hopefully we may see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on a business conference at Rosehill Racecourse (just over the road)
As expected reception, friendly and efficient. Was recommended to select a room on the opposite side to the road which I did and didn't hear a thing.
Room good, bed and pillows very comfortable. No complaints at all, met friends in the very convivial bar.......however all
Went to pieces when we went into their better restaurant .
Our table of six waited twenty minutes to be even offered a drink....another twenty minutes until they arrived...drink by drink.
In the meantime we asked for water a couple of times, even offered to go and get it for ourselves.
Dinner finally arrived after another request.
My duck was excellent I must say, however the steaks were overcooked.
All our party very disappointed with the general view that the staff were either new, or disinterested.
My suggestion is they all need retraining!
After trying Hooters down the road for the next night (yuk...another mistake) I dined alone at the ridges buffet ,which was nice food.....pity the waitress left all my plates from all my selections on my table until I left....needs training as she wasn't too busy.
A good hotel stay but won't eat there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Trouter1,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It was great to hear your welcome was warm and your experience in the room was comfortable. The beds are extremely comfortable and well worth looking into getting one at home!

It was, however, very disappointing to hear about your experience in the restaurants. We are quite a large hotel in respect to food and beverage and we pride ourselves on our bars and restaurants, and it's unfortunate that your experience was not that of so many others that have been with us previously.

It was great to contact you, and as discussed out Restaurants Manager will be in touch to discuss your concerns further.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for a week due to a work training course.
The room was good and the bed very comfortable.

We did not eat at the Hotel but another person at our training course did and said the food was excellent.
Public transport is right at the door and fast food outlets a short walk away.
Also a slightly further walk is a group of Indian Restaurants which we dined at one night.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi mrfreezetas,

Thankyou for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It's great to be getting such positive feedback from the seasoned travellers, and we're glad you enjoyed your experience.

It's a shame that you missed out on the opportunity to dine in our restaurants, and we would recommend you take a look at our menus next time you're in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

5 stars for its cleanliness and very comfortable bed but the rest is rather 3* - only one power socket and quite far from the bed, my room was on the first floor facing the main street which was quite noisy from early morning till late night (not only cars but also birds :)), breakfast buffet with standard choices but I was missing some fresh vegetables.

Very nice and helpful staff at the reception.

Although 130 Euro / night was the best price we got in comparison with other hotels in Parramatta, at this price point I would still expect either internet or breakfast included. (which is not only a problem of Rydges but all hotels in the area have similar pricing)

Overall you cannot make mistake with this hotel, especially if on a short business trip when you expect comfortable sleep and really clean room / bathroom.

Note if you plan to visit the downtown: 5 minutes walk is Rohesill train station. You need coins to buy the ticket but cannot purchase day pass there. That can be purchased on Clyde station where you need to get anyway to change to train heading to the city center.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor facing the main street can get quite noisy if you are sensitive to it (I pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParramattaManager, Manager at Rydges Parramatta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Tomas B,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. It's great to hear we're 5 stars in terms of cleanliness and it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed our Dream beds. They are very comfy.

It's unfortunate you didn't fully enjoy the Rise breakfast, as we would have loved to have organised some veggies for you. Our staff can make up vegetable shots for you on the spot, so next time you're in, get them to make up your favourite concoction!

We are glad that you did enjoy your stay as a business traveller, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regards,
The Rydges Parramatta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Parramatta

Address: 116 James Ruse Dr, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Parramatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Parramatta Rosehill
Rydges Parramatta Hotel Rosehill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Parramatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.