We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Sydney Parramatta

Save Saved
You added Mercure Sydney Parramatta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney Parramatta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Hassall Street, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rosehill
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had to visit sydney for a wedding, stayed for 2 nights, rooms were clean and a good size. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to main shopping precinct, has supermarket & restaurants across the road. Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, Assistant Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Topcat2455,

Thank you for reviewing the Mercure Sydney Parramatta on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful service, and found our rooms clean and well sized.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Fiona McLoughlin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    302
    81
    19
    8
See reviews for
156
180
79
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Arrived at night, quick check-in, staff ok. Room was mostly clean (bath/shower could use some bleach) and slightly dilapidated. I had to disconnect the minibar fridge as it was disrupting sleep. Bed was comfortable. Room had a view over an industrial estate but wasn't expecting much due to location. The buffet breakfast in morning was quite poor and not worth $27 at all - I'd recommend you walk across the road for breakfast (MacDonalds, KFC etc.). Room rate for the night was $149, similar price to others in the area. I would only stay here again if I had to for business (best rate in area) or attending the races.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, Assistant Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Corey001,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Sydney Parramatta on TripAdisor. I am saddened that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Fiona McLoughlin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booking, check in etc was as easy as you would expect (although a 20min walk from Paramatta station). Queen room was basic/average in size and price. Very clean throughout, and the Pillow menu in the room was a fantastic addition. Unfortunately the pool was filthy for the entire weekend (oct 5-7), and the spa was being painted. WiFi is incredibly expensive per hour, although you can use 30min on your own device in the lobby free once per day.The hotel was very quiet, and we weren't hassled to check out in any sort of hurry.

The restaurant looked nice and the staff very friendly. How ever it is very over priced and the food is simply revolting. Ling fish, half the fillet was the consistency of cooked chicken, the other half jellow. The chips were microwaved left overs from lunch (Deep fryer malfunctioning apparently) and the salad was so drenched in oil we weren't sure if it was spinach or rocket.

The spaghetti that was almost sauceless and dry, sprinkled with fetta crumbs and 2 cold stale croutons. At $35-$40 a meal we were shocked and felt ill not long after.
We were offered a coffee and an apology. I had hoped to get a happy hour priced cocktail as well, we only missed out by 15-20min but that was refused.

All in all, we would not recommend this hotel unless you have important business in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Level 5 had almost no outside noise. The view was of the dirty swimming pool and large industrial tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, Assistant Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Awsam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Sydney Parramatta. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Your feedback regarding the restaurant has been forwarded to the Executive Chef for urgent attention.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Fiona McLoughlin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

checked in quite late at night, however the receptionist was still smiling and very politrte and efficient
only needed a bed for the night so cannot comment on the breakfast. parking available on site and complimentary.
comfortable bed, plenty of room in the suite and tidy bathroom - very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, Assistant Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear soccertragic,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Sydney Parramatta on TripAdisor.

At Mercure we pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and I am so pleased you were able to experience this. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the Mercure team.

Warm Regards,

Fiona McLoughlin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spent a weekend in September. I was extremely comfortable here. The rooms were clean and well presented. Fortunately my room over looked the pool and not the road. Thank you to the reception staff that listened to my request for a quiet room. I can't comment on what the rooms facing the other way would be like.
All the staff were delightful. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and friendly and the reception staff were very accommodating.
I was looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing and this fulfilled it. I don't know what it would be like on race day, but wouldn't have picked this option then anyway.
The bus to Parramatta was so easy even on a weekend. It stops directly across the road and returns directly to the outside steps. Its only about a 4 minute trip. Easy to walk if you wanted to.
The walk along the riverfront is very easy to get to and was lovely on a sunny Sunday morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerParramatta, Assistant Manager at Mercure Sydney Parramatta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sheryl_nostrebor,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback about the Mercure Sydney Parramatta on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you were able to experience our friendly and welcoming staff. We are more than happy to try and for fill any guest requests and I am glad to hear that your room suited your needs.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us, I'll be sure to pass this onto the rest of the Mercure team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Fiona McLoughlin
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Sydney Parramatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney Parramatta

Address: 106 Hassall Street, Rosehill, Parramatta, New South Wales 2142, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Parramatta > Rosehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rosehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney Parramatta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney Parramatta offers spacious and contemporary 4 star accommodation on the fringe of Parramatta CBD. Attending an event? We are in prime position opposite Rosehill Gardens, a 10 minute drive from Sydney Olympic Park and only a short distance to Parramatta City Raceway and Eastern Creek. Mercure Parramatta is the perfect place to relax with our welcoming M Restaurant and Bar open 7 days. With suites and interconnecting rooms why not bring the kids along they will love the use of our Pool, spa and tennis courts on site. So what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Sydney Parramatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Parramatta Hotel Rosehill
Mercure Hotel Sydney Parramatta
Mercure Hotel Rosehill
Mercure Sydney Parramatta Rosehill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Sydney Parramatta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.